We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They know how to get it right”

Kings Coffee and Books
Ranked #2 of 4 Dessert in Dumfries
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $13
Cuisines: Scottish, Contemporary, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating
Description: Coffee shop and Christian bookshop.
Gourdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“They know how to get it right”
Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

What a great find, right in the heart on the town. I really enjoyed my flat white and pastrami toasted ciabatta. I even returned in the afternoon for some of the alcohol free cocktails. Top of my list for coffee and a lunchtime snack in Dumfries ( :

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank john A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    36
    13
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Castle Douglas, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Lovely coffee house!”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

I came in here for a quick lunch with a friend and was curious to see what it was like as I hadn't been in for a long time.
I had a lovely soup and toastie for £5, which is a decent lunch deal and I also had a great milkshake.
I was pleased to see the decor has been improved since my last visit, it is now very modern and cosy and I love that the cafe is also a book shop.
I will hopefully be back soon!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Foodaholic01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Friendly central coffee house”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We called in here for a reccie as we were going later that evening to watch some live music. I loved the place straight away. It is really homely. The coffee was fantastic with a really good selection of different teas. You can just wander around looking at all the books and other things for sale. I bought a little Japanese tea cup, During the three days were were in Dumfries we visited three times. On the second occasion I had a really lovely pot of tea - blue lady. We didnt eat there as we were never hungry.
Our last visit there was on the Sunday and I was a little disappointed with the coffee, but not enough to go and complain about it.
A nice touch was jugs of tapwater and glasses - not often you see that! Staff nice and friendly.
If this place was moved to where I live, I could see myself spending all my time there. Great little place.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PortiaLancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Brilliant coffee and scones!”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

I really enjoyed my visit to Kings. The atmosphere was friendly and relaxed, and I wish it was closer to home and I could go more often. Try the scones - I had apple and cinnamon and it was absolutely gorgeous. Nice surroundings too, with books to buy and great wall displays. I'll definitely be back the next time I'm in Dumfries.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cal23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good Coffee”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Really good coffee, atmosphere very peaceful, friendly place. Baked goods especially the scones need to be fresh, if they get that right, it would be a great place.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank alix23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kings Coffee and Books also viewed

Dumfries, Dumfries and Galloway
Dumfries, Dumfries and Galloway
 
Dumfries, Dumfries and Galloway
Dumfries, Dumfries and Galloway
 
New Galloway, Dumfries and Galloway
Dumfries, Dumfries and Galloway
 

Been to Kings Coffee and Books? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing