We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Easter Break” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Dumfries
Alloa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Easter Break”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Booked with Classic Britian and had a most enjoyable weekend break.
We found all staff to be friendly, helpful and provided excellent service.
Room had no view from window and squeeky floorboards but nothing
to moan about. The room was decent size, clean and warm, and bathroom
clean, plently fluffy towels, toiletries and housecoats supplied.
Food very good, had breakfast each day, dined in large dining room first night
and downstairs restaurant next night.
No hesitation in booking again for another visit.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ElaineM667
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatthewWallace, General Manager at Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
I was pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your recent visit to our hotel and your feedback about our staff being friendly and helpful is much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

731 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    275
    129
    59
    40
See reviews for
120
294
20
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Banff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,164 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 345 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

I booked with booking com £290 double room with breakfast for three nights
On arrival wanted to charge me £333 so that was a bad start?
Booked superior room but not sure if that's what I got room 62 if so hate to think what standard rooms like
We had a real poor meal in the downstairs restaurant will review later
So not a good start but breakfast was ok that night on our return we had a drink in the bar and they had two guys playing live music so we had a good night
The rest the stay was good and we enjoyed our stay

Room Tip: Can't really suggest but try get a room in original part the hotel ours no 62 was in the annex a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatthewWallace, General Manager at Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
I was sorry to hear of the problems you experienced over the room charges during your stay and that you managed to sort this out.
I was pleased you enjoyed the entertainment during your stay.
If you're rearranging a return visit at any time please don't hesitate to contact me directly so that I can personally handle your next reservation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

Stayed a few nights during a coach trip to Scotland. We had a very comfortable time in this lovely hotel. The room was warm as was the public areas. Food for evening meals and breakfast was very good. Staff were friendly and service was first class.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank reddevil52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatthewWallace, General Manager at Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post such an excellent review following your recent visit to our hotel. Your feedback is much appreciated!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
89 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

We visited this hotel recently with a group of friends. On arrival we were given four beautiful adjacent rooms. Unfortunately the heating was not working in this part of the hotel. However the staff were more than helpful bringing us heaters and eventually finding us rooms of the same standard which were very warm and comfortable. They could not have been more attentive. The food was very nice and all in all a good hotel, very handy for all attractions, we were able to leave the car at hotel and all Burns places of interest were within walking distance. As this was initially a Burns weekend we had an excellent time. We would certainly return to this hotel and have to say the staff made our stay most enjoyable

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank emma067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatthewWallace, General Manager at Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
I was delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your recent visit to our hotel with a group of friends.
As you know our hotel is situated close to the centre of Dumfries and as you rightly highlighted very handy for all the sites associated with Robert Burns including Burns House, Mausoleum and Visitor Centre.
I was particularly pleased to hear that our staff did everything they could to make your stay an enjoyable one and your feedback is very much appreciated. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

Stayed here for the 2nd time for 4 nights last week. This is a good hotel, clean, decent food and good, friendly staff. Weather was extremely cold during our stay and radiator in room wasn't working. This wouldn't normally bother me but had to report it as it was so cold. Maintenance man was in room within minutes trying to fix but couldn't so gave us electric heater which was adequate. Booked the Diana Ross tribute dinner for the Saturday night and were not disappointed. Good entertainment and decent meal. Haven't used the leisure facilities but look very good. Can't comment on the restaurant as didn't use it but breakfast was good. I think the staff are one of the things that make this hotel good. We had a mishap with our car whilst there and they couldn't do enough to try to help us. Ideally situated for the town, just a short walk away. Would certainly stay again and hopefully next time weather will be better and we can do some fishing which was part of the purpose of our trip but sadly didn't happen due to the weather.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank incompleteangler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatthewWallace, General Manager at Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post such an excellent review following your recent visit to our hotel.
I was particularly pleased to find that our staff were able to respond to your special requests during your stay and to hear that you enjoyed our Diana Ross Tribute Night.
Tribute Nights are particularly popular in the hotel and because of the excellent feedback we have re-booked the Diana Ross tribute act for the 27th of April.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Stewart, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

Three friends and I enjoyed two nights DBB at the Cairndale last week and were very impressed.
We had booked single rooms but were given doubles (possibly because it was early in the year).
It is a well furnished hotel, very comfortable and with good food. It was also exceptional value for money, five minutes walk from the shopping area and the staff was friendly and efficient. I will certainly go back there and can recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank agnes612016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatthewWallace, General Manager at Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
I was delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your recent visit to our hotel with friends.
Your positive feedback about the hotel is very much appreciated and I can only hope that we'll be able to welcome you back to the hotel in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

I stayed at this hotel in February, I was with a big group of people. We are part of the Spice adventure group. The hotel was excellent value for money, food was good and tasty with large portions. My room was clean and the bed was comfortable. What impressed me most was the staff, nothing was too much trouble. They were all extremely hardworking and paid attention to detail. Credit must go to the front of house staff, restaurant managers and waiting staff. We were a large group with a cheeky sense of humour, the waiting staff were young but extremely professional, whilst demonstrating an appropriate sense of humour. I left my pjs in the room, the hotel posted them to me at home. Well done Cairndale.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maxski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatthewWallace, General Manager at Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
I was delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your recent stay in the hotel.
It is always appreciated when people take the time to thank us for a job well done and your comments about the hotel and our staff are very much welcomed by everyone concerned.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dumfries
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Dumfries
Holiday Inn Dumfries
#3 of 8 in Dumfries
4.0 of 5 bubbles 992 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Station Hotel
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Dumfries Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Friars Carse Country House Hotel
12.0 mi away
Trigony House Hotel
Trigony House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Closeburn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
22.0 mi away
Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club

Property: Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club
Address: English St., Dumfries DG1 2DF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Dumfries
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Dumfries
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairndale Hotel And Leisure Club
Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club Dumfries, Scotland
Cairndale Dumfries Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing