We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant stay, good service but..”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Dumfries
England
Level Contributor
87 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay, good service but..”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

We booked a deluxe room but on arrival was told that part of the hotel had a fire alarm problem so the rooms were not available and was given a standard room with a bottle of wine as compensation. It appears there were deluxe rooms available for some, as our friends were in one (we only realised the next morning when leaving).
Dinner was very nice (free wine too), Jordan was great as our waiter.
Drinks in the bar were a little confused when ordering a liquor coffee, it must have been the first time he'd been asked to make it but was ok when it was served.
Very pleasant breakfast and overall service was good.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GordsGuinness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

735 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    275
    130
    59
    40
See reviews for
122
295
20
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Castleford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

Stayed overnighr with work coleagues found room very clean and comfortable with very good shower excelent service from the bar near reception food was very good but a little on the pricey side but location very good

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatthewWallace, General Manager at Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Thank you for takiing the time to post a review following your recent visit to the hotel.
I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed a comfortable stay and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on a future occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunbar, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Booked this hotel as part of a family holiday with my mum, dad and gran. Upon arrival at the hotel the receptionist allocated us a twin room in what appeared to be an extension to the hotel on the ground floor but which could only be accessed via the 1st floor. Although there was a lift available to take guests from the main lobby up to the 1st floor you still had a fair trek of corridor and a flight of stairs to negotiate before you could get to your room. Ok if you’re young but might not be suitable for older visitors.
I would also advise guests booking into this hotel not to stay in the extension part of the hotel as although the public areas of the main hotel were adequately heated, despite there being 3 radiators in our room none of them were on for our 2 day stay and we had to resort to asking the receptionist for a portable heater.
Despite the issue over the cold room which was dealt with speedily by the receptionist providing us with a portable radiator the rest of our stay at the Cairndale Hotel was very good. The rooms were spotless and the food was excellent. Only comment I might make would be to amend the way in which the bills are prepared for guests on an allowance for evening meals, it might be easier if they only showed the actual extras you were being charged for instead of guests receiving a bill for everything, I’m sure the poor restaurant staff must be sick and tired of having to explain how it works time and time again.
Special mention has to go to Kolin Grainger, he was great, he started at 7.30 and sang non-stop till well past 11. With a varied mix of tunes he had the whole restaurant singing along.
If the heating issue was resolved I would not hesitate in coming back to this hotel again.

Room Tip: Not sure if it was a one of or not but if you like heating in your room try getting a room in the ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barrie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012 via mobile

Booked a Spa break for two nights. Had one of the rooms with four poster, lots of space to relax and a lovely bathroom.
Ate both nights in the restaurant and food was stunning, breakfast was buffet style and was good.
Spa facilities were more than adequate, only one downside was did not get both our treatments as girl was not in.
Thoroughly enjoyable mid week break would definitely visit again

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Swavee68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatthewWallace, General Manager at Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post such an excellent review following your recent visit to our hotel.
I was delighted to hear how much you enjoyed the food served in our restaurant and I will make a point of looking into the reasons why you did not receive all of your spa treatments on this occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, ON
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

Came into town without a booking and this was the only one that had space for us. Room was quite strange and very dated. Breakfast food was poor. We stopped at the Aston first and it looked good, so it's probably the best bet in town if you're booking ahead of time.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sheila M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatthewWallace, General Manager at Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
I was sorry to find that these guests were disappointed with their stay.
As there is no information given as to when they stayed or what room they occupied it is difficult to accurately respond.
Our hotel has a total of 91 en suite bedrooms and these are constantly being updated and we are currently in the process of refurbishing 12 bedrooms in the Burnock wing of the hotel. Work here will include the redecoration and refurbishment of bedrooms and en suite bathrooms .
Rooms in the Burnock wing of the hotel have always proved to be popular with our guests and we are only too happy to allocate these rooms on request.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

We have just returned from a 2 night DBB break. The room was spotless & the bed was soooo comfy - didn't want to get out it! Enjoyed the leisure facilities also. Breakfast was lovely! All the staff were very friendly & attentive. The only suggestion I would make to the team to make anyone's stay is even better, is to ensure that all the staff understand what is included in the DBB evening meal - throughout our stay we were given conflicting advice on what was included. At check out time though the member of staff was helpful & ensured we were billed correctly.

I would strongly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hevf_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatthewWallace, General Manager at Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
I was delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your recent visit to our hotel. it certainly sounds like you had a relaxing stay and you will be pleased that we are in the process of trying to simplify the dinner allocation in future so that guests understand what's included.
Thank you also for recommending our hotel to prospective guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

We stayed at the Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club, 2 adults and 2 children 7 & 9 for a one night stay on our way to the Highlands. There was a warm welcome when we arrived. The room was very clean and well furnished. The facilities in the Hotel are great, we all enjoyed the pool and jacuzzi. There's a gym, steam room and sauna too. All facilities very clean. We didn't choose to dine at the hotel in the evening but the restaurant was very popular. The breakfast was superb with lots of choice. Very good value for money and if we were in this area again we wouldn't hesitate to book!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kay985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatthewWallace, General Manager at Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post such an excellent review on our hotel following your recent stay.
I was delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your visit and to find that you were able to take advantage of our leisure facilities.
We look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dumfries
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Dumfries
Holiday Inn Dumfries
#3 of 8 in Dumfries
4.0 of 5 bubbles 996 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Station Hotel
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn Dumfries Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Friars Carse Country House Hotel
7.6 mi away
Hetland Hall Hotel
Hetland Hall Hotel
#7 of 8 in Dumfries
3.5 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
11.9 mi away
Trigony House Hotel
Trigony House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Closeburn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club

Property: Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club
Address: English St., Dumfries DG1 2DF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Dumfries
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Dumfries
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairndale Hotel And Leisure Club
Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club Dumfries, Scotland
Cairndale Dumfries Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing