We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel...Great Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Dumfries
Reviewed June 25, 2011

Stayed here for a family function. Was impressed with the service and staff, top drawer. The food was nice aswell. All in all, a good hotel!.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rbrar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (792)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

690 - 696 of 792 reviews

Reviewed May 29, 2011

Had the pleasure of staying at this hotel weekend of 28-28 May 2011. We went for a particular function. The staff were great, very helpful. The part we stayed in which was at the far end over the walkway smelled musky and damp. However the room was clean and presenable with tea/coffee making facilities, basic TV and that was about it. Not much else to say really. Would stay again if needs must

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kipper50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2011

We stayed one Saturday night, the hotel was busy and we had a small double room on the front of the building overlooking the main road. I would imagine that this is probably usually a single room. They reduced the price to £75 for the two of us with breakfast.
Interesting art deco stair up to the first floor and the room albeit quite small was clean and tidy. Tea and coffee available with a kettle.
There was a function on and I suspect the smokers were outside so quite a lot of noise as well as the sound of the local boy racers going past on the main road. Hence the three stars for the sleep quality.
The shower was great and the bathroom newly decorated, pity about the cheap toilet seat!
All self service breakfast, everything there and as much as you wanted, very good.
A special mention for the very helpful and pleasant receptionist,

Room Tip: Try to avoid the rooms overlooking the main road .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leobhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2011

Positives - free upgrade when confusion re: twin rooms when ought to be double.
Very efficient staff.
John the restaurant manager was a gem and very friendly and helpful.
Leisure facilities great.
Tablet was lush with coffees.
Very good food.
Very comfy beds. Clean sheets.
Veggie option very good.
Breakfast great.

Negatives -
No outdoor covered smoking area when raining.
Bar downstairs closed too early.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ootnaboot99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2011

I returned to this hotel having stayed there once before a couple of years ago and found that the customer service greatly improved. The staff are friendly and helpful, facilities are top class, food in Sawney Beans restaurant is very tasty.

I would recommend this hotel and will be staying again in the future.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stellaartios1366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2011

We booked a 1 night stay with Dinner, Caberet/tribute show and breakfast for £119.
We arrived around 3 and check in was quick. Our room was in the "Park Hurst" section of the building which is above the function suite.
Room was large enough, nice ,modern and clean with all your usual hotel stuff in it.
Only irritant was the floor boards in the room and main corridor squeeked .
In the basement was the leisure centre.
We used the well equipped gym, sauna, steam room and jacuzzi followed by a swim in the decent size pool. Quite impressed with these facilities.
Snacks and drinks are available from pool side cafe.
On to the Dinner Show/ Cabaret - it was a Michael Buble/Robbie Williams tribute singer.
Im not a great fan of either original artist- the wife is though. Well, this guy was brilliant. Pure entertainer . The audience loved him, especially all the ladies :-)
Tables were arranged according to party size. Food from the Table D'Hote Menu was very good for this kind of function.
Breakfast in the morning was fine- usual buffet fare.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ericom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2011

Had a great stay at the Cairndale. My wife and I along with our 2.5 yr old son really enjoyed our stay.

I had requested a quiet room, and Douglas on reception was very helpful. He organised it over a phone call, and was very friendly as we checked in.

The room was nice and spacious and clean with nice beds and tasteful decor. One minor complaint was our sons bed was a little high for a toddler, and he did roll out on the first night...

Dinner on the first night was at the Sawney Beans restraunt. It was less formal than upstairs, but the food was really tasty. My curry was beautiful!

Breakfast in th e morning was nice, with a good choice, and staff again were friendly and helpful.

We were booked in for the Abba tribute cabaret, and thought we were not going to make it as our son got sleepy, but when he saw the band practice he got a second wind, and loved it.

The meal was of a very high standard for a function catrering meal, and the show was great.
Douglas from reception even arranged a visit for our son to meet the band during their break! mad his weekend, and everyone was so friendly!!

One minor complaint would be that our bedroom was really quite stuffy and warm. We managed to turn off the radiatior, but it was still rather hot.
We never mentioned this to the staff, but Im sure they would have been able to help out almost instantly, ans any queries or requests were dealt with promptly and efficiently.

A very nice location, a lovely hotel, and fantastic staff.

A huge thumbs up from the Gray family!!!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wideboyal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dumfries
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Dumfries
Holiday Inn Dumfries
#3 of 7 in Dumfries
1,073 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Station Hotel
6.3 mi away
Friars Carse Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Travelodge Dumfries
Travelodge Dumfries
#6 of 7 in Dumfries
327 reviews
7.6 mi away
Hetland Hall Hotel
Hetland Hall Hotel
#7 of 7 in Dumfries
665 reviews
10.5 mi away
Best Western Dryfesdale Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club

Address: English St., Dumfries DG1 2DF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Dumfries
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Dumfries
Price Range: $85 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairndale Hotel And Leisure Club
Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club Dumfries, Scotland
Cairndale Dumfries Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing