We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable four days !!”
Review of Hetland Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hetland Hall Hotel
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Dumfries
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable four days !!”
Reviewed February 5, 2014

Spent a most enjoyable four days at Hetland House Hotel during end of January. Value for money was unbeatable. Lovely warm room, with great front outlook, very hospitable and pleasant
staff etc. Even our dog was made welcome. Food was excellent with lovely choice. My lovely vegetarian partner was well catered for.
Hope to visit again soon.
Matthew & Grace + Cara
Bearsden
Glasgow

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona K, General Manager at Hetland Hall Hotel, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
It was very kind of you to take the time to post a review on Trip Advisor about your stay with us at Hetland Hall Hotel . I will pass on your comments to all Staff concerned .
We look forward to welcoming you back to Hetland and of course Cara.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

635 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    225
    122
    58
    52
See reviews for
115
375
3
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tamworth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 9, 2014

I visited Hetland Hall Hotel last weekend to attend the wedding of my cousin at Caerlaverock Church, the reception for which was hosted by the Hotel. I could not recommend the establishment more highly. The staff were all highly attentive, very, very hard-working (in particular the barman who was working last Friday Night!) and more than capable. The rooms were inviting and pleasant and the food was simply wonderful! 10 out of 10 for service and hospitality, my only regret is that in my previous visits to Dumfries & Galloway I failed to stay with you! We were resident on the Friday and Saturday night, my brother and I shared a room in the West wing of the Hotel whilst our parents had a room in the East wing. It is a truly wonderful place for such an event and the Breakfast was as good as i've ever had! Thank you all again for a wonderful stay and for making my cousin's wedding a highly enjoyable and happy event. See you soon!

Room Tip: The more modern rooms in the West Wing of the hotel may suit families better, as they were further a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert_Bell_1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona K, General Manager at Hetland Hall Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor. The Wedding Day for your Cousin was really lovely and it was a pleasure to welcome you all to Hetland Hall. I will pass on your kind comments to all staff especially Sean , who was your Barman on Friday night.
We look forward to welcoming you back any time you are in the area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

A beautiful country house in an idyllic setting overlooking stunning views. This place has plenty of period features with gorgeous open fires. The food was plentiful and tasty and every member of staff made us feel extremely welcome and at home. They were all second to none. We cannot fault this place in any way, shape or form. This is our third visit and we will be coming back next year with members of our family. We cannot recommend this place highly enough. As regards for value for money then you cannot ask for anything better. We hope all at Hetland Hall have a very Merry Christmas and a prosperous New Year. Alan & Linda Moore x

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Alanmoore1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona K, General Manager at Hetland Hall Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review. It was great to see you both again and always wonderful to welcome back couples that have got married in the Hotel. i will pass on your thanks to everyone and we wish you both a Merry Christmas and look forward to seeing you again in 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a two night stay in the hotel with my parents. Both our rooms were very nice and in keeping with older house decor. The staff are very friendly and dinner on both nights was very tasty. The open log fires were fabulous to sit and relax by. A great wee break away. We will be back :-).

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 3marie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona K, General Manager at Hetland Hall Hotel, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to pop a review on Trip Advisor. We are all so glad you enjoyed your short break with us and hope to see you all again very so.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

great family and homely hotel. terrific staff. food. rooms and views. lovely place to stay. not like many modern plastic hotels so has great character. breakfast terrific ( hint try the porridge ). bar very cosy even on the cold damp night with big blazing fire. A good bit out of town so a car is important.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank doggydina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona K, General Manager at Hetland Hall Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Thank you so much for your really kind comments.
We are all so glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back again soon.
I will pass on your comments to our Chef regarding her porridge - she will be delighted.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fochabers, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

My son's wedding was held here 8/12/12 many of our friends and family booked for weekend /overnight stays, We had a wonderful time wedding was wonderful, Room was a bit tired but comfortable with en-ensuite, Breakfast was just as we ordered with many choices, delicious. Lots of lovely walks around beautiful countryside setting. Would visit here again the staff were friendly and very helpful. All in all a great weekend..

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank redrosie3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona K, General Manager at Hetland Hall Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Thank you for your review and we are so glad you had a wonderful weekend for the wedding.

We hope to welcome you back again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We stayed here 18/10/2013 to 20/10/13 as we had our wedding reception here and everyone is so friendly they cant do enough to help you we had the pleasure of also meeting the owner who is a dear lovely lady i chose hetland hall plainly from their website as we got married at gretna green and it truly was excellent my room on the night befote my wedding was lovely full of character and very spacious being a twin and the honeymoon suite was absolutley beautiful as was the function room for my wedding reception they even offered to decorate the room for me but i opted to do it myself but i was impressed they offered they also included chair covers which anyone planning a wedding will know was a great help the food portions were big and deliciously homemade the staff were courtious at all times the grounds are beautiful and brilliant for wedding photos they even have a childrens playground i truly cant complement the hotel enough and will definately visit again on our 1year anniversary so thankyou hetland hall from mrs hayter was fletcher xx

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathyhayter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona K, General Manager at Hetland Hall Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Hi to Both of You

Thank you so much for the generous review and I am so glad you enjoyed your wedding day with us.

It has been a pleasure to work with you towards your day and your party were a delight to have in the Hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your 1st Anniversary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dumfries
13.0 mi away
Friars Carse Country House Hotel
6.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Dumfries
Holiday Inn Dumfries
#3 of 7 in Dumfries
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,018 reviews
7.6 mi away
Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Premier Inn Dumfries Hotel
7.6 mi away
Best Western Station Hotel
18.1 mi away
Trigony House Hotel
Trigony House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Closeburn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hetland Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hetland Hall Hotel

Property: Hetland Hall Hotel
Address: Carrutherstown, Dumfries DG1 4JX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Dumfries
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Dumfries
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hetland Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hetland Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dumfries
Dumfries Best Western
Hetland Hall Hotel Dumfries, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing