We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel .”
Review of Hetland Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hetland Hall Hotel
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Dumfries
Reviewed May 5, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed a fantastic stay at this Hotel. Food excellent and great value for money. Staff very friendly and accommodating. Room was amazing with 4poster bed a n jacuzzi. /Breakfast very filling with great choices. Ladies at reception so nice. Was like staying at aDownton Abbey for the night. Was there last night 4thMay and would go back next week .

Room Tip: Ask for room 17 :-))))
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kazza56_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona K, General Manager at Hetland Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2013

Thank you so much for your lovely comments , we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
It is always lovely to have positive comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (675)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

517 - 523 of 675 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2013

Stayed here for a few days for my partners birthday. The downstairs is very warm and welcoming, literally, the log fire a wonderful sight on a chilly day. The staff are very friendly and accommodating, we were particularly pleased at how dog friendly the hotel was, making our 15 year dog feel very spoiled and welcome. Yes the hotel is faded and needs updating in places, it's obviously slowly being returned to its former glory.

Our room was in the 'new block' and disappointly modern in a 70's kind of way. We only had 2 problems with our stay...both room related (excepting the decor), the bed had no headboard and the bed lights where directly on the wall behind the bed at head height, making it impossible to sit up in bed without banging your head on them, secondly the bed itself was not comfortable at all, the mattress gave way completely to the base when sat on (and no I'm not a large person), fortunately we didn't spend much time in our room, and were able to enjoy the rest of the pleasantries the hotel had to offer, the food was lovely, a reasonable choice on offer for a 'set' menu, and the breakfast was tasty and plentiful.

Mollie our old dog enjoyed wandering the grounds at her own pace, then settled for a few comfy hours in the bar whilst we enjoyed a few pints of the local beer. All in all an enjoyable experience, with good food and warm, accommodating staff.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Vicky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona K, General Manager at Hetland Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2013

it was lovely to welcome both of you and Molly to the hotel for your break . We certainly felt Molly enjoyed her time investigating our grounds at her own pace.
Thank so much regarding the comments about both the Staff and the food - everyone was delighted to hear them.
we have now rectified the little problems with your room , thank you for pointing them out.
We will hope to see you all again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Stayed here twice this week. The comment by another reviewer that the hotel is a little faded is true - but most are! The log fire in the hallway so welcoming, just like the staff. Nothing was too much trouble for them - even asking the chef to prepare me an alternative vegetarian option to the risotto. Comfy beds & good location. Very good value for money.
The staff are a real asset.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Jrmeaden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

Booked a 4 night mon - fri break through classic Britain.com which offered us b&b free executive room upgrade & bottle of wine in room for £49 per night. Arrived and was warmly welcomed given our room key card & entering our room is was very small & dark with only 1 small window didnt seem like an executive room to me. I went back down to reception to ask if my booking was correct and they quickly changed our room to a lovely decorated large room very clean and bright although bathroom tiles were cracked especially floor tiles but we were happy enough with our room. The hotel is set slightly back off the main Carlise road so we did here a lot of traffic during the night as the road is busy 24/7. Not a good hotel if anyone doesn't want to or doesn't drive as its 9 mile either way to nearest towns. Breakfast was great but didnt eat in hotel at night as we were always out & about. We had a lovely wee break nice hotel great staff but would prob book nearer town so that we had the option of not driving.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank weecooperess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

A weekend away is always good, especially when the service from the on site team is so good. Yes the hotel may need a little TLC, but that gives it a faded charm and doesn't at all attract from the experience. The food is lovely, good cooked breakfast and plenty of it. The evening food is very good indeed, well presented, tasty and woth every penny.
The thing that really makes this hotel stand out is the service, which is exemplary. Nothing appears to be too much trouble for the house team. It is the little things that mean so much - a smile, a chat, normal milk in a jug for the room if you don't want to use UHT - the team are an asset that the management should be proud of.
This is certainly somewhere where we hope to come back to.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Stayed here Feb 16th this was our fourth stay since we had our wedding reception here 3 years ago.I have to say we enjoy the hotel more every time we visit, the staff are so friendly, the food is excellent the newly decorated rooms blend in nicely with the hotel and its ground. We are just about to book again for New Year and we cant wait.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bibs1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Fantastic staff and food. Some rooms are a bit dated and shabby in the extension part of Hotel ,but the lovely receptionist upgraded us free to a room in main Hotel which was lovely. Nothing is to much effort for staff go out of way to help and please you. Grounds and views are fantastic, location was brilliant and Hotel sits off main road very easy to find.
We had lunch in Hetland Garden Center which was very nice and spent a good hour browsing through the gift shop etc well worth a visit and sits just a few minutes walk from Hotel.
Being with my mum who has a restricted pallet is always a task but there was something for everyone in the Menus and dinner was superb, Breakfast was plentiful and cooked to order so was hot and fresh the chief at this Hotel is fantastic. Would visit again

Room Tip: Ask for room in main Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cazza101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona K, General Manager at Hetland Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2013

Thank you so much for your kind review of Hetland Hall Hotel.
We always try and make sure our Guests are as comfortable as possible and were delighted to be able to up grade you.
Chef would like me to pass on his thanks for your lovely comments regarding his food , he was only too happy to discuss any dietary requirements needed with you.
We all hope that you will visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dumfries
6.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Dumfries
Holiday Inn Dumfries
#3 of 7 in Dumfries
1,078 reviews
13.0 mi away
Friars Carse Country House Hotel
7.6 mi away
Best Western Station Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club
7.5 mi away
Best Western Dryfesdale Country House Hotel
5.6 mi away
Travelodge Dumfries
Travelodge Dumfries
#6 of 7 in Dumfries
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hetland Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hetland Hall Hotel

Address: Carrutherstown, Dumfries DG1 4JX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Dumfries
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Dumfries
Price Range: $103 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hetland Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hetland Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dumfries
Dumfries Best Western
Hetland Hall Hotel Dumfries, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing