We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from Home........”
Review of Hetland Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hetland Hall Hotel
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Dumfries
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Home from Home........”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

My husband & i have just returned from the Hetland Hall Hotel.

It was just a short break for a couple of days to get away and relax.

Arriving at the hotel was very impressive, with the driveway to the hotel.

Entering the hotel took my breath away, the entrance hall with the most amazing staircase,was just so welcoming in itself! The coal fire was always blazing at night, which made it even more cosy looking.

On arrival we were greeted by Victoria, who was so welcoming & friendly. We were checked in without any problems, offered to assist us with our bags, which was a very nice gesture. We were staying B&B, But realising we could order form the menu for dinner we did eat in 2 of the nights, and we were very pleased with the quality & quantity of the meals we had.

The breakfast in the morning was delish !! Not a big breakfast person !!! ..... you can order what you want, meaning you dont have to take the full breakfast, as it's too good to waste! There's various cereal's, fruit, yoghurt, croissant's, fruit juice's. And that's before you decide what to order from the hot food menu. As much tea & coffee as you want. You also get plenty of toast, which you can have however you like it, they also have portions of jam or marmalade on the table.

We were in room 2A, which had a massive comfy bed, a spare room with 2 single beds, a walk in shower in the en-suite bathroom, flat screen TV, and a couch. The room was always cosy, and we were able to control the additional heating from the heater which had been put in the room.

The bar downstair is very reasonably priced so we made sure we sampled a few drams in there... bar staff were very attentive aswell, Trudi was always on hand to serve us our drinks. We also had our bar meals in there. The food was always warm & plenty of it!!

All the staff were very helpful with anything we requested, main thing being ice.... helps the drinks taste better !! Although the ice was also getting used for my husband to make ice packs, as he had to apply ice packs to his leg, following an operation a few weeks ago....

The hotel also does package deals for £99 for 2 nights DB&B and you get the 3rd night free, so we will no doubt take them up on that offer the next time.

Our overall impression is......
Welcoming, Cosy, Friendly & Helpful staff, Great value for money, great food !! Cold drinks....where applicable.....!!!!!

The Hetland is set in it's own grounds. Very easy to explore surrounding places of interest.

We hope you enjoy your stay as much as we did.

We will be going back again.

Thanks to all the staff for our very enjoyable stay.

Alison & Charlie.....

Room Tip: Think all rooms have amazing views....
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona K, General Manager at Hetland Hall Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review of Hetland Hall. All the staff you have mentioned have asked me to pass on their thanks and we hope to see you here again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    229
    122
    61
    52
See reviews for
118
379
3
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

I did not stay just called and booked a table for 3, staff were very accommodating as we just wanted somewhere nice for a meal out.
We all had different starters which were absolutely lovely, and our main meals were delicious and piping hot.
All the staff were very polite, and very smart.
I would defiantly recommend Hetland to my friends for a meal, and I will be returning again, with a stay over next time.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Betti1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona K, General Manager at Hetland Hall Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you so much for a lovely review . I have passed your comments on to both Chef and waiting staff.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Hetland Hall Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

On approach the hotel seems very grand. Walking through reception and up tthe sweeping staircase still impressive. Even along the corridor threw the door and then you come to the room and things start to go down hill well apart from the warmth. The bedroom was very drab and needed updating. The bed was nice and comfortable but when you walked into the shower room it was freezing. It definately wasn' t a power shower it was quite old and in the morning it took about 10 mins to heat up. We were leaving early in the morning so the staff kindly said they would organise 2 continental breakfasts to go and that they would be ready for us in the morning. We decided to have the B&B and evening meal offer what a mistake the soup was cold and didn't taste homemade. The main course tasted like it was one of those frozen turkey dinners which had been microwaved. My partner had fish topped with cheese and it tasted like a cheap cheese slice. Puddings were average. In the morning we checked and we found that the breakfast had not been done. We were informed that they didn't do continental breakfast. The staff had been told that we were coming down early for breakfast which we could have done if they had told us so we missed The staff were very nice they made us bacon sandwhiches which were very tasty and the staff on duty were very apologetic.. Unfortunately this made us late and we missed the most of the birds taking off at the WWTwhich was the whole point of our visit. I was really disappointed in our visit as I was really looking forward to the trip.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nichol21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona K, General Manager at Hetland Hall Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you for your reveiw and the complementary things you said about our Hotel and staff, it is appreciated. We take our guest reveiws very seriously and I would like to try and respond to the things you were not so happy about.
There does seem to have been some sort of mix up with your " continental breakfasts to go " and I am really sorry you missed the birds taking off at Caerlaverock ; it is truly an amazing sight. The breakfast staff were under the impression that you wanted an early breakfast and this was in fact prepared and ready for 7.00am . Possibly the confusion was caused by the "continental breakfast to go " - it is tricky to take away cereal.! When you did come down at 8.00am we could of course have given you some fruit , yoghurts and croissants , which would have taken no time at all. ( Unlike many Birdwatchers that stay with us you did not have a flask , but if you had , we would have filled with tea or coffee.) Again , thank you for the nice words about the staff who made you bacon sandwiches - that would have been Eleanor - she takes it as a personal affront if guests have not been fed properly.
Regarding your comments about the evening meal, all I can say is that I am really sorry we appeared not to have lived up to our high standards here ( which I am glad to say the vast majority of our reveiws support ) , but it is so , so difficult to deal with a problem if we do not know about it at the time.

Hopefully you do not mind the lenght of this reply , and I hope it shows we take your comments seriously . I also hope you are able to come and stay with us again and properly see the geese take off. If you do , please make yourself known to me personally and we will try and show you what our kitchen is capable off - with our complements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dumfries hotels

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Stayed for one night. The hotel is set in beautiful grounds and has a lot of the old features. Nice log fire at entrance. Staff friendly.

The room was spacious and clean but quite dark, extra lamps could be added. The bathroom was an awkward shape, difficult to manoeuvre in the shower and grouting needed refreshing. The liquid soap container next to the sink was empty.

It was difficult getting wi-fi; none in the room and patchy elsewhere. When we enquired at the front desk we were told someone would get back to us but no-one did.

Breakfast was speedy and average. There was little choice of fruit and yoghurt but perhaps this isn't so much of an issue to your typical Scottish guest! There was a good choice of fruit juices but no water. We thought that being rationed to half a a potato scone each when we only had part of the full Scottish breakfast a bit stingy.

Overall not bad, nice area, some things could be improved upon.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank westend79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona K, General Manager at Hetland Hall Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Thank you for your review of Hetland Hall Hotel. We are always very grateful for any customer feedback from our Guests.
At the Hotel if any of our Guests have a problem we always try to solve it during their stay.
As we were not made aware of your comments we are of course unable to rectify them , though we do wish something had been said during your stay or on departure.
we find the breakfast review slightly stange as we offer 3 dishes of fruits plus a bowl of various fresh fruits and a selection of yoghurts as well. - Iam sure many Scots plus various other nationalities would be quite happy with this. Again thank you for taking your time to review us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Me and my partner had our wedding reception here on the 28th december 2012 with 35 guests,and all 35 left very happy and satisfied :-)
We had soup for starter, Roast beef dinner for main and Lemon cheesecake for pudding! One word yum!! Beef was so soft and lots of people commented on the gravy! I don't know what you did to it but that was the tastiest gravy I've ever had!!
All the staff at Hetland hall was very helpfull they didn't even mind when a lot of us decided to come down for breakfast in our onesies lol.
If you have ever read a bad review about this place then all I can say is there is some very very fussy people out there, I once had my worries about this place after booking my wedding let me assure you for an old manor house it's lovely!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Culliford81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona K, General Manager at Hetland Hall Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Thank you so much.
Your party were delightful - especially dressed in you onsies!
Look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

My wife and I attended the wedding of Lindsay L and stayed the night. The wedding was excellent and went very smoothly. The staff were very friendly. The wedding meal was superb and the breakfast brilliant. Our room was very comfortable. There were no negatives. And of course Lindsay and Gordon made a handsome couple.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IanStewart1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 13, 2012

We had stayed at the hotel before (4 years ago) and fell in love with it so we decided to have our wedding there. Despite some hiccups along the way (changes of management etc) Our day could not have been more perfect. The staff at the hotel were amazing, Fiona in particular is a miracle worker with the patience of a saint. I have never known a hotel to be so flexible and accomodating. The food was fantastic from breakfast to our wedding meal. Things could not have gone more smoothly!! Thank you so much everyone at the hetland hall for giving us the perfect wedding day.

Room Tip: The rooms in the older part of the hotel are much more comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyndsay L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dumfries
6.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Dumfries
Holiday Inn Dumfries
#3 of 7 in Dumfries
1,032 reviews
13.0 mi away
Friars Carse Country House Hotel
7.6 mi away
Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Best Western Station Hotel
7.5 mi away
Best Western Dryfesdale Country House Hotel
6.9 mi away
Travelodge Dumfries
Travelodge Dumfries
#6 of 7 in Dumfries
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hetland Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hetland Hall Hotel

Property: Hetland Hall Hotel
Address: Carrutherstown, Dumfries DG1 4JX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Dumfries
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Dumfries
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hetland Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hetland Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dumfries
Dumfries Best Western
Hetland Hall Hotel Dumfries, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing