We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exellent family hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hetland Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hetland Hall Hotel
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Dumfries
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Exellent family hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

Had a two night stay and wedding reception,staff very welcoming and helpfull,rooms large and clean, large comfortable beds .we had seven rooms in total all very nice .the staff were very accomodating with our grandchildren 14yr old girl two six yr old boys and one one yr old who's birthday it was while we were there sheilla the manager bought him a little gift and birthday card .we would recommend this hotel to any family with young children .and we are intending on returning ourselves in the near future ...the picture is of sheila(the manager) and our two boys chatting on the hotel steps..

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    219
    118
    55
    48
See reviews for
112
360
3
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

I will start by saying ignore the bad reviews and don't be put off!! After booking the hetland for our wedding reception and reading some of the reviews I was rather concerned but honestly had no reason to be!

We stayed from 25th-27th July and all together 23 of us including 4 children. Upon arrival reception were friendly and helpful, my nan had a room upstairs and as soon as the receptionist - Victoria realised this wouldn't b good she changed the room to be ground floor.
Most of the rooms were lovely especially the bridal suite, others are in need of a make over but they know this and are currently updating. My best man was I a questionable room so I asked to change it for him, Gail and Victoria were great and upgraded three room (hotel was quiet so we were lucky) bar staff were friendly as were restaurant. Food fantastic and the restaurant great value n very tasty.
Gardens superb especially for the kids.

Anything we asked of the hotel was done and I had no stress on the day what so ever! This hotel and it's staff were fantastic...so much so we intend to go back next year....Thank you for such a great wedding day!

Cara and Stuart Glass

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank caraglass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

We recently stayed at Hetland Hall for two nights for get married at Gretna Green. The hotel and staff were amazing and could not do enough for us and our guests.

Wedding food and organisation was excellent and would strongly recommend staying here for your wedding, the grounds of the hotel are out of this world and great for pictures.

We would like to express our thanks in particular to Gail - General Manager who made my wedding a little less hectic and I became more relaxed as I know the arrangements at the hotel were in hand, she listened and made things happen - many thanks for everything.

The bridal suite and other bedrooms are simply lovely, bar staff chatty and easy going, especially Bill, who chatted with our guests - thank you also.

Hetland made our wedding exactly how a wedding should be, no pressure and stresses and would recommend again and again.

THANK YOU and see you next year.

Kate and Michael Thompson

Room Tip: All rooms are good at this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guisborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

WE LOVED the Hetland. we went with 14 family members on the 06/08 to the 08/08.we held our wedding reception at the Hetland.the staff were amazing so friendly & helpful they even went above & beyond as they went out & bought our nephew(1st birthday)a card & present once they found out it was his birthday this was an amazing gesture.everyone was happy with their rooms. the wedding meal & service was absolutely fantastic.the grounds & views around the Hotel are superb.we had a BRILLIANT time just sat in the lounge which was superbly set out for our small party.MANY THANKS to Shelia & the rest of the amazing staff.would definately recommend this Hotel can't wait to go back!!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank james d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

I LOVE THE HETLAND HALL HOTEL. The staff there are amazing, particularly Gail. They will do anything for anyone. The setting of the hotel, with its green and beautiful surroundings made our wedding just what we wanted. All of our guests were happy with the rooms. The food was great and the service top notch. Well done Hetland. We can't wait to come back again soon. If I was to give one pointer I would remove the bath from the honeymoon suite, although it was rather amusing (if slightly undignified) to get into. Thanks again everyone. Enjoy

Room Tip: The rooms in the main part of the hotel are the biggest We were in Room 1, 17 and 16.. Room 29 was a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

we used this hotel for our wedding reception the guests stayed there and all were happy with the rooms the staff were very friendly and extremely helpful and went out of there way to make our stay perfect

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ktheonlys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larkfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

We have stayed at Hetland Hall a couple of times now and we absolutely love it! It is full of character & perfect from getting away from it all.

Travelling up to Scotland takes 5-6 hours & it is a great place to stop & refresh before heading further up country.

We’ve read some of the reviews on here & feel quite frankly that they are quite unfair. Yes it's not new, & it's not modern, & the floorboards creak, but that is what adds to the character for us. If we wanted modern we’d look for a modern hotel.

Plus for the price, you'd have to go a long way to beat it.

The staff have always been so friendly, with big smiles, much friendlier than locally to us & nothing is too much trouble for them. To say they have gone above & beyond for us is an understatement! Kind mentions to Teri, Joelle & most of all, our favourite Eleanor! – such a star & a sweetheart that we always look forward to seeing.

The food is fabulous & relaxing by that open fire is a particular favourite memory.

We very sadly had to cancel our wedding with them at short notice due to health issues & they were absolute stars about it.

We can’t wait to stay there again. We are planning to renew our vows in Scotland as we couldn’t go before & will be booking Hetland Hall without a doubt.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shannon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dumfries
13.1 mi away
Friars Carse Country House Hotel
6.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Dumfries
Holiday Inn Dumfries
#3 of 8 in Dumfries
4.0 of 5 bubbles 991 reviews
7.8 mi away
Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Premier Inn Dumfries Hotel
7.7 mi away
Best Western Station Hotel
18.3 mi away
Trigony House Hotel
Trigony House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Closeburn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hetland Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hetland Hall Hotel

Property: Hetland Hall Hotel
Address: Carrutherstown, Dumfries DG1 4JX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Dumfries
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Dumfries
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hetland Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Also Known As:
Best Western Dumfries
Dumfries Best Western
Hetland Hall Hotel Dumfries, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing