We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The rudest manageress I've ever had the misfortune to meet”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Station Hotel
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Dumfries
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“The rudest manageress I've ever had the misfortune to meet”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Read the other one-star reviews on here and be aware that if you book at The Station Hotel, you will probably encounter one of the rudest, most arrogant, unfriendly manageresses in one Aileen McGhie you've ever met. Seriously, this woman could start a fight in an empty room. A course in anger management would be beneficial, and it's just a shame that Best Western has this woman in charge of one of their hotels as the hotel itself is great, and the other staff members we met were lovely. BUT YOU WILL NOT GET A FRIENDLY WELCOME IF YOU PERCHANCE UPON MS McGHIE! We had the misfortune to incur her wrath over something so trivial it's not even worth mentioning on here, and I can honestly say I've never been spoken to in such a manner. I'll never return to The Station Hotel, and I'll never recommend it to friends and family thanks to one individual's aggression and utter hostilily. AVOID.

Room Tip: Go to the Travelodge down the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank TTRacer2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    172
    56
    6
    24
See reviews for
57
171
33
121
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stewarton
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We stayed here for two nights, just a short break away. We were welcomed whenever we stepped in the front door - and every time we came back in! All staff were very friendly and efficient at all times. We had a "superior " room with four poster bed and a spa bath. The room was very nice if not exactly luxurious. Breakfast was a fairly limited cold buffet and an excellent choice of hot food. We ate in the hotel both nights and the food was good and well presented. All in all it was a nice place for a couple of nights.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gorokan, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

first time at the station hotel & pleasantly surprised.
Room was comfortable & well presented.
Meals were good & staff were all very very pleasant & obliging.
Would certainly stay there again & highly recommend

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aussie_couple2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Stopped by to have a look at Dumfries on way up to the Western Isles.....A hot Summers' evening however was given a corner room which may be v cold in the Winter but very pleasant in the Summer! Staff all very nice and helpful and had a good meal in the restaurant. Would definitely stay there again if in the area.

Room Tip: Have a corner room if hot outside as best way to get air through!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank james a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dorset
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We have stayed at least 5 times at the station hotel ( most recently friday26 july)and have never been anything but satisfied. the staff are friendly 'helpful and efficient and the owner has always rememberd us and given us our favourite room without being asked. The food in the evening and at breakfast is of a very high standard and the bar is well stocked and reasonably priced.
We like trip advisor but when we read a review such as that from Douglaswho slags off the owner in what seems to be a spiteful and vindictive way you can understand why the website is sometimes viewd unfavourably by hotel owners.
on a positive note we chose the station because of trip advisor reviewsand have never regretted the decision

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davenhazel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed July 22, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights and had a very enjoyable experience. The staff were very good, although I felt at times that they were slightly 'stretched'. Having said that it was a busy weekend, with a wedding one night and a dinner dance on the other. The outdoor courtyard out from the bar is very good and fortunately the weather was nice enough to sit outside. I found the restaurant a slight disappointment, I had a beef in wine pie that was no more than bar food standard. I found the female manager very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 5 nights on business trip. Room basic. Furniture past its best and falling apart. Shower inadequate and small. Some very polite and nice staff not so much others. Very understaffed for a hotel it's size. Food in restaurant passable with reasonable service from waiting staff. Asked for a fan as room was boiling hot only to be told there were none available. Ended up buying one myself from argos. Overall cant see why best western lend its name to this hotel it doesn't compare to its other hotels. I've given 2 stars for friendly receptionist and general cleanliness.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Hbhbjnkmlnjbhvjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dumfries hotels
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Dumfries
Holiday Inn Dumfries
#3 of 7 in Dumfries
1,045 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn Dumfries Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Dumfries
Travelodge Dumfries
#6 of 7 in Dumfries
314 reviews
6.2 mi away
Friars Carse Country House Hotel
7.6 mi away
Hetland Hall Hotel
Hetland Hall Hotel
#7 of 7 in Dumfries
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Station Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Station Hotel

Property: Best Western Station Hotel
Address: 49 Lovers Walk, Dumfries DG1 1LT, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Dumfries
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Dumfries
#2 Business Hotel in Dumfries
#3 Romantic Hotel in Dumfries
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Station Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Station Hotel is a gorgeous Victorian Railway hotel offering 3-star accommodation just a few minutes' walk from Dumfries town centre. Guests give us great feedback for our excellent food and friendly service . All rooms have flat screen freeview TVs, ironing centres and wired internet and there is free wi-fi throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Station Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dumfries
Dumfries Best Western
Best Western Station Hotel Dumfries, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing