We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Barr Farmhouse
Nearby Hotels
$82
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Holiday Inn Dumfries(Dumfries)(Great Value!)
$95
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$99
$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$110
$86
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Dumfries(Dumfries)(Great Value!)
$50
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
$76
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$111
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$79
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kings Arms(Lockerbie)
$128
$102
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (59)
Filter reviews
59 results
Traveler rating
58
0
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
58
0
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bon arrivalexcellent hospitalitygreat hostsorlaroy
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 59 reviews
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We were fortunate enough to choose Barr Farmhouse as a stopover point on our way to the Highlands and for our return. Roy and Orla are fantasic hosts- best breakfast you will ever eat and the situation of the farmhouse meant that we were able to explore this beautiful part of the world. Well done for making our stay so enjoyable- we will have to come back if only for the Scottish porridge with whisky!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

I recently had the privilege of spending two nights in the Barr Farmhouse B & B together with my wife and my parents-in-law. We were on a short break from Ireland to visit some relatives and to do a spot of sightseeing so we chose The Barr having come across it on-line while searching for a farnhouse B & B in the Dumfries area. What a surprise we were in for - the reviews and the website don't do it justice as our expectations were exceeded in every single area! Firstly, we had the place to ourselves as there are only two guest bedrooms so we had them both, the reception room was also exclusively ours so we could come and go and make ourselves completely at home - in fact the phrase which we kept coming up with was "this is just like a home from home" Secondly, the location is just about perfect as it's in the heart of the countryside with beautiful views and scenery all around yet it's only a few miles from Dumfries and all the amenities. Thirdly, the rooms are excellent in every way with numerous small touches and surprises that you just don't get in regular B & B's. Fourthly,the breakfast is just something else - it genuinely was the highlight of each day's dining and we still talk about the fruit salad, the porridge, the cooked breakfast, the homemade bread etc, etc. But the one thing that genuinely puts this B & B in a league of it's own is the hosts - Roy and Orla - we were absolutley amazed that we spent hours talking to them on the first night discussing everything from the local attractions to general life in Scotland, careers, families etc etc. Of course, it also helps that Orla is from Donegal in Ireland so were able to have a banter and craic just like home! During the course of the conversation we happened to mention that my father-in-law is a keen farmer and guess what - next morning at breakfast Roy announced that he had arranged a wee visit to the neighbouring farm - well, what a visit it turned out to be - we were treated like royalty and given a two hour guided tour of just about every inch of the farmyard courtesy of Roy and also the farmer and his wife who went out of their way to be friendly and hospitable. My father-in-law was in heaven and he still talks about the great farming methods in Scotland! I could go on but I think you should have got the idea by now! So when I titled this review "Possibly the best ever B & B" I really was serious. Thanks a milion Roy and Orla, you made our trip to Scotland one that we'll never forget for the rest of our lives - I hope that The Barr Farmhouse is completely booked out for the rest of your lives - you deserve it.
Ken Taylor.
PS. Roy and Orla also gave us numerours other tips for places to visit and sights to see in the locality, so much information that we could have spent a month there and not exhausted the list!

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
Thank Ken T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We were travelling north from Wales to Shetland, so Barr Farm was ideal for an overnight stop, and was easy to reach from the M74. We arrived to fresh homebaking(all made by our hostess, Orla) and a very welcome pot of tea. We've never had this offered anywhere else!
Believe all the reviews.....this place is exceptional! Where else can you sit by a log fire in the evening after a great meal in a local restaurant recommended (and booked for us) by Orla. and Roy's surprise fruit salad starter (yes! for breakfast!)
Roy is the main man serving breakfast....and what a breakfast! The choices on the menu will suit everyone. We particularly enjoyed Orla's soda bread loaded with seeds.
Barr Farmhouse is in a very quiet area with lovely panoramic views.
Roy and Orla are wonderful hosts and their attention to detail is outstanding. How many B and B's supply fluffy dressing gowns for your stay? The books in the bathroom clinched it for me!
Give yourself a treat. Book your stay now!

Room Tip: we had the "black room" with great views. even a night time poem tucked under the duvet!
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smoorikins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Travelling North for a wedding we needed a break somewhere in the Borders, searching Trip Advisor found Barr Farmhouse. The atrocious weather meant we arrived later than expected but we were greeted with a fantastic afternoon tea which actually was sumptuous enough to replace our evening meal!! Waking up to a sunlit morning our room had views across a beautiful valley to distant hills.... idyllic and after a really comfortable bed to boot.
However the best was yet to come the breakfast was outstanding ... home made porridge with get this.... a small drop of Malt Whisky with a mini shot on the side!!! Purely optional of course. A full Scottish breakfast and a huge stack of pancakes set us up for the rest of the day. Our 12 year old daughter is studying French at School and Roy spent most of breakfast chatting to her in excellent French in a really humorous way. I also had a conversation with Orla in German so I guess if you are European and travelling through this gorgeous area this will be perfect stay.

Having travelled extensively all over the world I cannot recommend this place highly enough. Don't think about it just book it!!

Room Tip: Both looked fine to me
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DJDTrueBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

My wife and I had a very good stay at the farm with Roy and Orla, You can see and hear from them that they are very passenate about the place which they rebuilt to a great place to stay.
They are a bubbly couple and a good laugh you can see who rules, but, they are great and we will be using them again when we are in the area. We cannot not rate them high enough.
Iain and Lynn Davidson

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iain D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews