We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another enjoyable stay at Glenaldor House”
Review of Glenaldor House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Glenaldor House
Ranked #1 of 51 Dumfries B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Another enjoyable stay at Glenaldor House”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

I have stayed several times at this B&B, some before David took over. It is clean and comfortable and breakfast is freshly cooked for the time you request it. There is a huge choice of cooked breakfast including porridge as well as cereals, yogurts and fruit etc. David is very welcoming and helpful and it is a pleasure to stay with him. I am sure I will return many times in the future. Thank you David.

Room Tip: Room 1 is very comfortable, room 2 has a huge en suite and room 3 overlooks the garden. All are very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank magrob333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidIrving, Owner at Glenaldor House, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Thanks again Margaret and pleased you enjoyed your stay. Look forward to seeing you again in the spring.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    324
    48
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
46
223
35
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dornoch
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Glenaldor House is in a very convenient location, quiet but near to the centre of town. The bedroom room and ensuite were very large, so plenty of room to sort out our cases after travelling for 2 weeks. With the very high ceilings heating in the rooms must be difficult and we did find the room a bit chilly even with the radiator turned up high, and were very pleased to jump into the warm beds using the electric blankets. The price was very reasonable. Good clean accommodation.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuleSkerryHomestay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidIrving, Owner at Glenaldor House, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thanks very much for your kind review and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. As I recall you also run a B and B and therefore you will be aware that many different guests have many different requirements and we take great care at Glenaldor to ensure we have made each guests stay as enjoyable and comfortable as possible. As you will have encountered the hardest part is when the guest chooses not to ask or enquire about anything that may be a problem during their stay as this does not give us the opportunity to react. The room you were in is our largest room and the ceiling is high therefore ensuring our guests are warm enough is of highest priority. The central heating system was upgraded 2 years ago and gives each room the ability to adjust the heating as required and for extra comfort during some of these cold Scottish nights we provide electric blankets and additional overblankets for the beds. If we had known you had felt a bit chilly we could have easily put a portable electric heater in your room for your use as and when required.
Further to your review we have spoken to our regular heating engineer and he informs that it is a relatively easy process to install and extra radiator in the room and we will have this fitted in the next couple of weeks to ensure that there is more than adequate heating available. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chipping Norton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 23, 2012

I stayed just one night at Glenaldor House and can highly recommend it. I chose it simply because it was close to the station, but it was ideal in every way. The room was comfortable, quiet and spotlessly clean and David Irving, the proprieter was friendly and helpful. I met one other guest at breakfast who is a repeat visitor for fishing trips. The breakfast was delicious - I had the full english which was perfectly cooked. I've stayed at a lot of b+bs and this one was one of the best.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidIrving, Owner at Glenaldor House, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Thanks for the feedback - we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again if you are back in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Stayed here for one night in June.
Very well maintained with a large en-suite and comfortable bed.
The breakfast was standard fare of an English Breakfast.
Being in and out so to speak and basically just needing somewhere to sleep for the night whilst traveling I can't expand any more.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lionel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Stayed for two nights in this B&B, located only a few minutes' walk from the city centre in a cemmercial area
The room and bathroom (with bathtub) were huge, but because of the high ceilings (old building) it was a little difficult to get them warm.
Breakfast was good. Although the house was not fully booked our host seemed to be a little stressed, but friendly anyway.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidIrving, Owner at Glenaldor House, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Thanks for the review and glad you liked the size of the room and en-suite and the breakfast which is always popular with our guests, however if I may I would just like to take the opportunity to reply to a couple of your points. The house is approx 150m from the main road (which guest really appreciate as it is very quiet with being away from the road) and is on a private road of victorian houses in a conservation area with large gardens to the front therefore I am at a loss as to why you describe it as a commercial area.
The rooms are large and have high ceilings however all rooms have individual thermostats on the radiators which allow guests to set the temparature of the room to suit them and we also have electric blankets on the beds and supply additional overblankets for the beds for the comfort of our guests.
Just had a quick look back through my diary and we were pretty busy when you stayed, fortunately for us September has been a very busy month which we are really chuffed about, however a little stressed? probably not its just the way I am! It wouldnt matter if we had 1 guest or 10 I am always the same keeping myself busy and rushing around - pleased you thought I was friendly - much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Heatily agree with all the favourable comments in the reviews. Yes, every comfort and facility one could wish for, all of a high standard, at a reasonable price and conveniently situated for the town centre, David was so helpful, friendly and altogether a nice person to meet. The room and bathroom were more spacious than in most 4* hotels. We stayed 3 nights and would be more than happy to return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
Reviewed September 12, 2012

What's not to like? It's clean, comfortable, close to the town, warm, welcoming and in a very, very quiet spot. The veggie breakfast will keep you going till tea time, and the owner is very friendly and helpful. I would highly recommend it.. if only the weather could have been as accommodating.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MoiraKeane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dumfries hotels
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Dumfries
Holiday Inn Dumfries
#3 of 7 in Dumfries
1,058 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Station Hotel
0.3 mi away
Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Friars Carse Country House Hotel
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Dumfries
Travelodge Dumfries
#6 of 7 in Dumfries
320 reviews
0.1 mi away
Huntingdon House Hotel
Huntingdon House Hotel
#2 of 51 in Dumfries
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenaldor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenaldor House

Property: Glenaldor House
Address: 5 Victoria Terrace, Dumfries DG1 1NL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Dumfries
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Dumfries
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Glenaldor House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenaldor House Dumfries, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing