We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food”
Review of Aberdour Hotel

Aberdour Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Aberdour Hotel
Ranked #41 of 49 Dumfries B&B and Inns
DUMFRIES
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed May 5, 2012

Visited here on Saturday 5th May for a evening dinner with relation from Australia and the food was first class. The portions were larger than normally expected and served piping hot. Staff very attentive and good value for money. Have eaten here before and no regrets.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WOLFACHMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    16
    10
    3
    12
See reviews for
11
12
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2012 via mobile

Was advised to try this spot by a local. Wanted low key, quiet, and welcoming for two seniors and two mid age folks. To make the long story short, the large woman (as referenced in another review), another large man and a man who was possibly an owner or bartender were the least bit bothered that four people approached the bar. They remained seated until one member of the party asked for assistance. What happened next was the shocker. The large man and woman made several prejudiced comments about this member of our group. At this moment, we turned around and started to leave. The possible owner then asked us if we wanted a drink or food. We were dumbfounded and insulted. So much for a good first impression of Scotland.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank strawbossdoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dumfries hotels

Liverpool
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2012

Unforantly the aberdour was fully booked this year but ordaneraly we stay here once a year the rooms are always clean well decorated and well stocked for tea and coffee, as we couldnt stay this year we decided to eat here each evining what can i say delious food so nice that my little nephew who came with us asked if he could take the soup home with us they were very accmodating and filled a food flask for the jouney home for him this boy could rivel gorden ramsey as a food critic and he says its the best food he has ever tasted and i would have to agree. dont be put off by the negitive reviews its a great little place close to the town centere defantly worth the money.

Room Tip: book early if going during easter also book your evining meal place early as the restraunt does beco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scouse_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2012

A very pleasant experience at the Aberdour. From day 1 they were at attentative and hospitable. The staff were great, the rooms were fine, the food was good. Nothing to be complained at. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone. Don't be put off by the other negative reviews. They are far off the mark.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Welsh-Wizard28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2012

A very pleasant stay, the room was bright and clean. We found the food to be excellent, nothing fancy but good and wholesome. Overall the Aberdour was a great find, and we will defiantly use again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 19, 2011

We booked here for our christmas work night out as they were offereing a "Party Night". At £31.50 the price didnt seem too bad for a 3 course meal (all of which sounded fantastic), a band and party games. We arrived to be crammed into a table, and served a meal I can only describe as utterly terrible! For starter I had an ice cream scoop of smoked mackrel pate garnished with hair! Not the best start, not to mention all the others looked like they had been dropped on the plate from a height. Main course did nothing to redeem it. Turkey and all the trimmings shouldn't be hard but they couldnt have got ot more wrong. Again, thrown on a cold plate, visible lumps in the gravy covering the luke warm turkey, some over cooked sprouts and carrots, a few boiled potatoes, a GREEN roast potato, 2 sausages wrapped in bacon and a dried up square of stuffing (see picture). My friend beside me opted for roast beef, which she could barely eat as it had hard strings of fat running all the way through it. By the time desert came, I think we had all accepted it was not going to be up to much, and we were correct! Shop bought merranges covered in squirting cream and strawberry bottle icecream sauce, chocolate mouse that tasted of butter, and something they called tiramasu but was like no tiramasu I have ever had! Awful so far, right? But it got worse. The "entertainment" began. A man and woman singing and playing guitar, who were so good that no one got up to dance until they took a break and played cds. And as for the party games.... one game of musical chairs. At this stage I feel the need to mention that should you just be going for a christmas meal here minus the party night you pay £17.50 (which is still far too expensive for what we were served) so what the hell did we pay the extra £14 for?? It certainly didn't eqaute to some bad Kareoke and a game of musical chairs! I'm glad to say that genral chat to people outside and in the loos proved we were not the only ones who were very disapointed. The only positive I have to say is that the group of people I work with are a great fun loving bunch so we had a great laugh making the best out of a poor setup, and had a great night betwen ourselves.

To summarise, you couldn't pay me to return here!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 6, 2011

We had our reception here two years on, Im still upset and disappointed with the level of service and false promises we received, the hotel was dirty and shabby, they were still clearing the room after another event, we were promised chair covers, the music, cake, table cloths were all not set up and I the bride was setting up the room instead of enjoying with family in the bar, the staff were absent and told my family not to pay for their rooms as my mother was paying, just a disorganised chaos

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank winterwhiteUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dumfries hotels
0.8 mi away
Travelodge Dumfries
Travelodge Dumfries
#6 of 7 in Dumfries
314 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Station Hotel
0.1 mi away
Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Glenlossie Guest House
Glenlossie Guest House
#19 of 49 in Dumfries
144 reviews
0.2 mi away
Huntingdon House Hotel
Huntingdon House Hotel
#2 of 49 in Dumfries
329 reviews
0.1 mi away
Morton Villa B&B
Morton Villa B&B
#17 of 49 in Dumfries
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aberdour Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aberdour Hotel

Property: Aberdour Hotel
Address: 16-20 Newall Terrace, Dumfries DG1 1LW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Dumfries
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Dumfries
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Aberdour Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Aberdour Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aberdour Hotel Dumfries, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing