We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (108)
Filter reviews
108 results
Traveler rating
54
36
8
7
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
54
36
8
7
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews highland chicken dining room whiskey sauce daily specials menu chicken stroganoff wide menu overlooking the estuary enjoyed their food fab views lovely family run kingsize bed lovely meal booked a table caerlaverock castle family meal pub food first class
Filter
Updating list...
101 - 106 of 108 reviews
Reviewed April 5, 2012

Went to the Nith for a meal with seven other people. The food was excellent, reasonably priced and the service was great!! Will definitely go back! The only negative thing to say about it is that it could do with a little modernization on the decoration.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2011

Did not stay but visited the restaurant one Sunday night, had not booked so unfortunately did not get the best view out of the panoramic window in the restaurant, but the food was very good and all three of us enjoyed it. There was food splattered up the wall next to where we sat which was why I didn't feel it was 5/5.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Weew81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2011

We stayed one night having come across the hotel by chance
Very welcoming and friendly staff
Large bedroom with view along the river and a tiled fireplace, don't know if they ever light a fire
Comfortable standard double bed but would have thought a kingsize bed would have better suited the size of the room
Had excellent dinner and breakfast in the restaurant/dining room, beautiful views over the river.
The haggis starters, steaks and breakfast kippers were deicious as was the beer in the bar !

Room Tip: Ask for river view
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank artsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2011

Four of us dined in here on one evening and found both starters and main courses to be of a very good quality, excellent service from friendly staff.Well worth a visit if you are staying in the vicinity.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank victor061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2011

We stayed at the Nith Hotel chiefly for its proximity to Caerlaverock National Nature Reserve which we had planned to visit. We found the hotel to be clean and comfortable and the roaring fire was very welcoming as we arrived on a very wet and windy day. On arrival we were shown to our room which was quite chilly as the window had been left open, presumably to air it, so it took a while to warm the place up. The room was clean, comfortable bed and very quiet at night. The lunchtime and evening meal menus were very good with specials on offer too. Disappointingly we were told there wasnt any availability in the restaurant on the Friday night so we ate in the bar area, though thought it was strange when we could see empty tables unoccupied all evening in the restaurant! . We made sure we booked a table for the Saturday night which was a good thing as the hotel was very busy with a Burns Supper evening. The breakfasts were very good, full cooked, or other items on offer such as porridge, kippers, scrambled eggs etc. Overall a good hotel, very nicely located with lovely views over the river and ideally situated for visiting Dumfries and the surrounding area.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Menscryfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews