We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful farmhouse b and b”
Review of Low Kirkbride Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dumfries
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Low Kirkbride Farm
Ranked #21 of 48 Dumfries B&B and Inns
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“wonderful farmhouse b and b”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

we've just spent four days with the kirk family on their lovely farm where we were given a very warm welcome. The room was cosy and comfortable and each day on our return we were given real coffee and delicious home made cakes. The evening meals were first class and our hosts
could not have done more to make us feel at home. Even Cleo the cat was friendly. We will certainly stay there again if we go to dumfries and galloway.

Room Tip: the double room has a lovely view accross the garden and countryside
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shirley c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    6
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
15
41
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lichfield
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

What a lovely place to BE. Warm, friendly welcoming people and accommodation. Excellent breakfasts, welcome tea and homemade cake in the afternoon, and as for the evening meals!!!

Woodburning stove in the sitting room. Lots of tea and REAL coffee in the bedroom, plus an extremely comfy bed.

Do go!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

My wife and I are just back from a four night stay at Low Kirkbride Farm. What a fantastic location, where we were made really welcome by the Kirk family.
Our room looked out over the garden to the fields beyond with the trees in splendid autumn colours. The fields were populated with the attractive Belted Galloway cattle and a couple of ponies, the garden with a handful of chickens.
Our room, the double one they have, was very comfortable and warm with everything we required during our stay. It had a spacious en-suite bathroom with a copious supply of hot water.
Each time we arrived back from our day's travels we were offered tea and coffee. This was served in the comfortable lounge with home baking and a wonderfully cheering wood burning stove.
We had booked a dinner for the night we arrived. This was exceptionally good value and very tasty using fresh local ingredients including beef from the farm. Breakfasts were also great. You eat at a big table in the farm kitchen. The usual cereals and juice are followed by a great cooked breakfast with eggs from the hens outside, and an endless supply of toast.
We really enjoyed our first stay at Low Kirkbride and meeting the family & other guests. We fully intend returning for further stays in the years ahead. We would thoroughly recommend
this B&B to other people exploring this most wonderful overlooked corner of Scotland.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gavin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed October 17, 2012

I stayed here with my three year old son in the twin room, I have been coming to Dumfries for the past 27 years I love it this had to be my favourite holiday staying at the farm. Everyone at the farm were friendly, helpful and made you feel at home, we were able to see all the animals and my son was able to sit in the tractor which he thought was great. I would recommend Low Kirkbride Farm to friends and family I couldn't fault them thank you. We are going back next year.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C2906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 26, 2012

This is a very special farm for me for many reasons and as I've been coming regularly for the last 10 years, is really almost a second home! Added to this, although I live in England, my ancestors on both sides have been farming in Ayrshire and Dumfriesshire for centuries. In my opinion, the welcome, care and attention Zan, Joe, Josie and Ray (when there) give to all their guests is without equal. All rooms are excellent having great farm and countryside aspects. Wonderful home cooked food of rare quality and every comfort for those who love Scotland make it a first choice whenever crossing the border! Very highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tamino235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedale
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 9, 2012

My family and I have just returned from a very enjoyable and relaxing stay at this farm. The food was good, the accommodation very clean and comfortable, and the owners were very friendly and helpful, putting themselves out to make sure we had everything we needed. The scenery surrounding the farm is beautiful and it is well located to explore the local area, where there is lots to do, especially if like us you enjoy walking and wildlife.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lesmahagow
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 4, 2012

We recently enjoyed an overnight stay at Low Kirkbride in an extremely cosy wee twin room with the comfiest beds ever. The only noise was the gentle twittering of the housemartins ( the birds, not the band) in the honeysuckle outside our window, and the occasional lowing of the cattle nearby - belties (Belted Galloways) in which the farm specialises. On arrival we accepted the offer of a welcome cuppa from Zan (Zan & Joe Kirk are Mrs & Mr Low Kirkbride) along with slices of her to-die-for home-made cake - little touches like this put Low Kirkbride at the top of the game. A hearty Aga-cooked breakfast next morning in the farmhouse kitchen set us up for the day ahead.
We previously stayed for a few nights in 'The Byre', the self-catering option at Low Kirkbride, in 2010. This was equally comfortable, with a multi-fuel stove to enjoy in the evenings - and Zan sent over an Aga-baked tealoaf, delicious! Guests are welcome to walk over the farm on the signposted farm walk and check out The Belties at close quarters and, if you're really keen and up early enough, you could give Joe a hand with the morning chores - up to you! Enjoy.

Room Tip: There are only two in the house, a double & a twin, and a family room in a separate building. Sm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moira b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dumfries
10.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Dumfries
Holiday Inn Dumfries
#3 of 7 in Dumfries
1,032 reviews
3.2 mi away
Friars Carse Country House Hotel
3.9 mi away
Trigony House Hotel
Trigony House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Closeburn
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Buccleuch & Queensberry Hotel
9.1 mi away
Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club
0.0 mi away
Boreland Farm
Boreland Farm
#1 of 1 in Dunscore
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Low Kirkbride Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Low Kirkbride Farm

Property: Low Kirkbride Farm
Address: Auldgirth, Dumfries DG2 0SP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Dumfries
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Dumfries
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and stay in our 18th century warm, comfortable farmhouse bed and breakfast and enjoy the stunning scenery, friendly atmosphere and great home cooking. We have three ensuite rooms; one double, one twin and a family suite. Evening meals and packed lunches are available on request. Open all year round. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Low Kirkbride Farm Dumfries, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing