We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay”
Review of Dumfries Villa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dumfries Villa
Ranked #11 of 52 Dumfries B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 22, 2012

I've had Room Number 2,which is very spacious with a Kingsize and a Regular-Sized Bed,Sat-TV,free Wi-Fi and of course Tea and Coffee making facilities.The ensuite Bathroom has a Showercabin with (due to my UK-Experiences) unusual high Waterpressure,which I appreciated a lot.The Bed was very comfortable and soft.Excellent Breakfast,both in Quality and Quantity.
I will definately come back,the next Time I'm in this Region.
Thank you Colin,for great Hospitality.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (96)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 96 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2012

Never sure when booking somewere if it suits! Dumfries villa was just what we needed after a long journey. We needed somewhere with good parking facility for the motorbikes (perfect). Wanted somewhere close to town (perfect). Wanted good accomodation (perfect). Cheers

Room Tip: We had a room facing the front street - no problems limited traffic all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank steve r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We had a great stay here from 31st Aug-3rd Sept. We had room 1 with a walk-in shower on the ground floor. Although we didnt have the best view the room was spacious and the bed was the most comfy i have ever slept in! My sister and her husband stayed in room 4 which was a great size with 1 double and 1 single bed (both very comfy i'm told) and had a fantastic outlook onto the most stunning church and the beautifully maintained front garden.
Colin the owner made us feel very welcome as did Stephanie. (domestic help) The B&B is very close to the town centre and Railway.
We had a great stay here and would certainly return and reccommend. Thankyou xx

Room Tip: Room 1 is great for the less abled, room 4 has great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank comeonenglandOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

This B&B is a short walk from the centre of (dead after 7 pm) Dumfries. Our room (number 1) was very clean, comfortable (although the bed was incredibly soft) and well equipped. The wifi worked well, and the breakfast was lovely. The off street car parking was a very useful feature.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

The Dumfries Villa is a really nice B&B. We had a very good and relaxing time and would come back anytime!

Colin, thank you very much for being a great host!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gabriela N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2012

Stayed at the B&B as part of a large party. Colin and Stephanie were extremely accommodating with the complicated room arrangements, late arrival times and even made a lovely breakfast earlier than the usual Saturday morning time. Very well located for the city. Only complaints would be the tired bed linen, towels and the fact that the bed shook every time someone moved in the next room! But would definitely stay there again.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
Thank tjsk8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2012

Stayed upstairs in the streetside room. Very very close walk to the Dumfries rail station. Rooms were large enough for 3-4 people. Breakfast was great. Owner was offsite, but the young lady onsite was gracious enough to allow us to check in early. Five minute walk from downtown center to see all of Robert Burns' haunts and stomping grounds. Only complaints were the old crunchy-like towels and the loud toilet. Flushing it made me laugh uncontrollably. It was so LOUD. Poor people next door probably thought it was a jack hammer. Other than that, the positives outweighed the negatives.

Room Tip: Go with an upstairs room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank strawbossdoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dumfries hotels
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Dumfries
Holiday Inn Dumfries
#3 of 7 in Dumfries
1,083 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Station Hotel
2.1 mi away
Travelodge Dumfries
Travelodge Dumfries
#6 of 7 in Dumfries
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Glenlossie Guest House
Glenlossie Guest House
#20 of 52 in Dumfries
145 reviews
0 mi away
Morton Villa B&B
Morton Villa B&B
#19 of 52 in Dumfries
28 reviews
0 mi away
Torbay Lodge Guest House
Torbay Lodge Guest House
#13 of 52 in Dumfries
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dumfries Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dumfries Villa

Address: 33 Lovers Walk, Dumfries DG1 1LR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Dumfries
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Dumfries
Price Range: $79 - $88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dumfries Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Dumfries Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dumfries Villa Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing