We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No place for lunch”
Review of The Pancake Place

The Pancake Place
Ranked #57 of 133 Restaurants in Dumfries
Price range: $5 - $11
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: A wide selection of home cooked food, served to your table in a relaxed and friendly atmosphere
Kilmarnock, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“No place for lunch”
Reviewed August 10, 2012

If you have a time slot to eat, this place won't do. Three simple dishes from the snack menu took 30 minutes to deliver. We had finished our drinks by the time the food arrived. The food itself was fine, basic but freshly prepared. People cam in behind us and got their food before us. The waitress was friendly but we had to rush our meals to make an afternoon appointment.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AliAK264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    25
    20
    18
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Twas good”
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Nice pancakes!!! Good friendly staff!! They were opened early and food was cooked and served fast!!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Noel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The over inflated prices are obviously to pay for the redecoration”
Reviewed April 27, 2012

The cheapest sandwich available was £5.95 and was very basic.
All prices are 2-3 pounds more than anywhere else for the same type of food. Lunch for 2 nothing fancy sandwiches and coffee came to £18, don't know about anyone else but i would expect these prices in Glasgow or Edinburgh, but Dumfries!!. I notice they have recently redecorated, still just a basic coffee house though. Will not go back.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Hmmmmmm”
Reviewed February 19, 2012

Not impressed by the slow service (hardly anyone was in the place when we was there), food eventually arrived and it was average nothing to shout home about, bit bland, would not be going back.

Helpful?
Thank A C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“had a lovely meal”
Reviewed February 6, 2012

enjoyed our meal,staff friendly but busy.for me a bit expensive

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Myra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Pancake Place also viewed

Dumfries, Dumfries and Galloway
Dumfries, Dumfries and Galloway
 
Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland
Dumfries, Dumfries and Galloway
 

Been to The Pancake Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing