We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic stay!”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
11 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Dumfries, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Lintendo7...
Beijing, China
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay!”
Reviewed July 17, 2018 for a stay in July 2018

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this beautifully decorated cottage. The hosts, Carol and Derek, made us feel very welcome. We enjoyed the delicious shortbread and fresh bread baked by Carol on our arrival.The cottage has all that’s needed-it’s a home from home. Carol was very attentive and made sure we were comfortable. The location is superb and you can enjoy the tranquility. Dumfries is about 20 minutes away and there is a lot to do and see in the area. We would definitely book again. We had a wonderful time!

Date of stay: July 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 13, 2018
We are do glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We enjoyed meeting you all. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday . Would love to see you here again sometime in the future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Date of stay: October 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Oct 20, 2017
Thankyou so much for your lovely review of your recent break in our cottage! We are delighted that you enjoyed it so much. We very much look forward to seeing you again on a return visit!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Washington DC
Reviewed July 9, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Date of stay: July 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jul 12, 2017
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay in our cottage and found our location an enjoyable and interesting area to visit!
We enjoy all the wildlife that surrounds us and are always happy to feel our guests enjoy it too! Best wishes Carole and Derek
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Pauline S
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Lovely Cottage”
Reviewed June 29, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Beautiful and quite location. Cottage is excellent it's like home from home. You could sit and watch the wildlife all day various birds red squirrels rabbits and partridges. Excellent for a nice weeks retreat.

Date of stay: June 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 5, 2017
Thank you so much for reviewing our cottage. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and found the wildlife entertaining! Please do get in touch if you would like to return in the future, we would love to see you!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason F
1 review
“Excellent, with everything you may need and in a great location.”
Reviewed February 17, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

We arrived late and in the dark but was welcomed by Derek with a touch in the lane making sure we didn't miss the turning up into the drive. Everything we needed or may have needed was supplied with a great range of Kitchen utensils and implements. We steam all our vegetables at home and to my surprise there was even a steamer. Amazing shortbread, a loaf of bread and milk we supplied so that you can have a brew as soon as you arrive. The location was perfect, quiet and secluded with burbling streams and rivers to gaze into or look up at the impressive landscapes and with Dumfries just a few miles away for you to do your shopping. We saw cheeky little Red Squirrels (for the first time ever) every day just outside of the Kitchen window along with lots of birds on the bird/squirrel feeder. You can spend a hour each day just looking out of the Kitchen window at all the birds and squirrels up to their daily shenanigans.

Date of stay: February 2017
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 18, 2017
Thankyou for writing such a lovely review for the time you spent at our cottage. We are so glad you enjoyed it and also enjoyed the location. We enjoyed meeting you both and hope that you may visit again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek M
1 review
“Difficult to Find Fault with This One!”
Reviewed September 15, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Booked a week in this cottage with my wife – our daughter popped-in to stay with us for one night, but nothing could be too much trouble for Carole & Derek (who live next door): Lovely Hosts. Carole even dropped by – during the most foul of storms - to see if we needed more logs for the Log Burning Stove: Excellent!
Lovely Welcoming Tray on Arrival, including homemade shortbread & bread.
Carole & Derek were there when needed, but otherwise, left us to ourselves.
The cottage itself is lovely & homely & clean, with a lovely garden, in which you can sit and relax (midges, permitting!).
The cottage itself is somewhat remote, off quiet country roads, but that’s what we were looking for, with plenty towns / villages in the surrounding area to visit: Gatehouse of Fleet being our favourite.
Genuinely, if you are thinking of booking this, do it! You’d need to be Hyper-Critical to find a reason to criticise it.

Date of stay: September 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 16, 2016
Many thanks for taking the time to post such a lovely review on your recent holiday with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time in the cottage and that you found plenty places to visit in the surrounding area. We very much enjoyed meeting you both.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
_nadya_ga...
Grantham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful cottage, a perfect place to relax from everyday busy life!”
Reviewed June 2, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We were traveling with our two teenage girls and our Mini Schnauzer. We were pleasantly surprised of the beauty and tranquility of the area. The cottage itself was amazing! It was so cosy and comfortable, tastefully decorated and so clean! Carole and Derek were lovely hosts, friendly and helpful - thank you!
We had an unforgettable holiday and did not want to leave in the end.
We would definitely go back next year. And we would like to recommend the place to our friends and to everyone who would enjoy the greens and colours of Scotland, the historic places of interest, the lovely walks in nature...

Date of stay: May 2016
Traveling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing