We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent place to stay - lovely couple.”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Heather Retreat

Studio bedroom with Luxury bed linen
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Studio bedroom with Luxury bed linen
Private outdoor balcony ideal for alfresco dining
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
Studio bedroom with Luxury bed linen
Private outdoor balcony ideal for alfresco dining
Modern, well equipped kitchen
French doors leading out to private balcony
Private driveway
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Alloa, Clackmannanshire, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Jenny W
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excellent place to stay - lovely couple.”
Reviewed October 19, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

The country was beautiful and we had a great holiday but it was made even better by Jay and George's hospitality. The flat is really homely and relaxing and it was great to come "home" and chill out in the evenings after our eventful days out.

If I ever come back to Scotland I would definitely stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 20, 2015
So pleased you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your kind words
George & Jay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ragnar gr...
1 review
“Nice apartment, with everything you need when you are out travelling”
Reviewed September 6, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Nice apartment, with everything you need when you are out travelling !
Exellent location for travelling around in mid Scotland.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 5, 2015
Glad you had a lovely time and thank you so much for taking the time to put in a review. Hope to meet you both again sometime Jay l
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger C
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Really enjoyed our stay - apartment was great value”
Reviewed March 9, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Fantastic apartment, clean and well-equipped with everything we needed for our stay. This property comes with secure parking and cycle storage in a garage, which wasn't advertised but was perfect for cyclists - the property is also very close to a cycle route on old railway tracks.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Secure cycle storage
Liked least: Heating controls were not obvious
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emmamcken...
1 review
“New Years break”
Reviewed January 3, 2015 for a stay in December 2014

Stayed for the bells , perfect for relaxing and getting away from work , facilities are great and owners went that extra mile to make sure our stay was perfect , will be visiting again !

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 4, 2015
Thank you again for your kind words. Hope to see you again sometime George & Jay Law
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elbel1
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed December 22, 2014 for a stay in December 2014

I booked the Heather retreat as I was working in the area and I was absolutely blown away by the quality of this establishment
It is warm, clean and comfortable with all the amenities that you could possibly wish for with the added bonus of a balcony which overlooks the garden
There is no where else that I will be staying when next in the area

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 2, 2015
Thank you so much for your kind words. Wishing you a Guid New Year and success in your business. Hopefully see you again in Spring. Yours sincerely George & Jay Law
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quaich1
Crieff, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“What a find!”
Reviewed December 7, 2014 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed at Heather Retreat with my husband for two nights and had a lovely, relaxing break. The open-plan living area upstairs spacious and very comfortable and the kitchen is well-equipped. The balcony was the real bonus - a lovely sunny November day, spent drinking wine outside on the balcony - fabulous! Owners friendly and helped us plan our trip to Glasgow (we were going to stay in Stirling, but it was quite expensive) - many thanks and we will be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 9, 2014
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and welcome you back sometime. Thank you for your kind words.
Sincerely
George and Jay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kelz27
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely relaxing break!”
Reviewed December 3, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

My partner and I visited Heather Retreat last week. We had a lovely break, the couple who welcomed us were very friendly and showed us around the accommodation. The Retreat was perfect - size, location, decor, cleanliness and we had everything we needed - even a lovely little balcony which is secluded! We went to a nice local restaurant called 'The Woodsman' which was literally a 3 minute drive away! We then took a trip into Stirling to explore and had a great day out! The next day we went up to 'Gartmorn Dam Country Park' which only 5 minutes away, it was a nice walk with amazing views, showing some of the beauty of Scotland! I would recommend this to anyone looking for a break away and who wants to explore a bit of Scotland, or even just relax as the Retreat offers that. We will definitely stay again as we had such a great time, if we had stayed longer, which I wish we could have, we would have explored more as Glasgow and Edinburgh were only a train journey away, as well as so many other places! Overall 10/10!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 7, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review, it is very much appreciated. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again sometime.
Take Care
George & Jay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing