We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This place needs a Camping inspector!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tibbie Shiels Camping

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tibbie Shiels Camping
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“This place needs a Camping inspector!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

At 1st glance this place looks stunning, But get into the camp facilities & you will see how much of a let down it really is, We arrived on the Friday for a wknd break, we had a big breakfast the next morning in the hotel, later that day we got asked by the owner who we paid our breakfast to, as it was still on the till showing as not paid.. We both said at the same time YOU!! as we bought a fishing permit at the same time.. he said oh! .. no apology!..he is very disorganised, the toilets & showers need to be overhauled as they're really appaling, in our opinion this place could be much better run if the owner had done a customer service skills course before taking this place on, Very slow service due to lack of staff on a very busy Aug wknd.. poor show!

Room Tip: avoid at all costs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Steven B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    28
    15
    18
    38
See reviews for
36
49
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

We stopped off on the weekend of August 4th for something to eat & drink, on our way to Selkirk on a day trip from Moffat, where we were based. I'd heard a lot about the area from friends & family, & had never been despite having previously lived in Dumfries. When we entered the bar area, we were both immediately struck by how scruffy the interior looked, as if it needed a good lick of paint & a brush. We had a look at the food board, then wandered through to the dining area & found a table in the extension with views to the loch & hills. No-one was around, neither customer nor staff, but we found a young lad stocking a cupboard & asked if we could have menus. He was very pleasant & gave us these, then, when we asked if we could order a couple of the sandwiches on the menu he said yes, just order at the front bar.

My partner went through, returning 5 minutes later. She had asked the manager on the bar if we could order soup & sandwiches. The lady snatched the menu from her hand & told her, very abruptly, that we could only order what was on the board. When my partner said that the young waiter had advised we could order sandwiches, the manager sneered & said that "He doesn't know what he's on about". My partner returned, told me what had happened & we decided there & then to get out. She wasn't upset, just shocked at the unfriendly & unprofessional way in which a manager had acted towards a customer & about a member of their own staff.

A real shame - we'd both been really looking forward to visiting the Inn. The loch (& the Loch of the Lowes) is beautiful, the scenery great, but it was let down, for us, by what came across as a very shabby & unwelcoming establishment where we'd expected to find the opposite.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank UncleStooshie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Selkirk hotels

Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

Absolutely amazing scenery beautiful surroundings, If you want a beautiful rather amazing camping trip St Mary's Loch is the perfect Location I just wouldn't go near Tibbie Shiels Inn or camping facilities, the camp site in its self is rather good with fire pits and loch side locations, but the shower and toilet facilities are worse than you could imagine the showers are a plastic hose with a shower head attached the floor is covered in muck and algae not enclosed or secure insects everywhere, by the standards I imagine they hadn't been cleaned in quite a while, the toilet facilities were even worse, the urinals for men were blocked and everyone had to use the one cubicle, no towels to dry hand after you had washed them in the extremely dirty sinks.
My partner tells me the ladies facilities were not much better and used almost a full packet of cleansing wipes to clean them before she could use the toilet or sink.

The manager who seemed very friendly at first appeared to be on continually on patrol to enforce the rule that no one was allowed to bring their own alcohol on site, This I can understand but the manager enforced this in a very rude manner and advised our group in particular that anyone found breaking this rule would be ejected from the site and if they did not leave that their belongings would be thrown into the loch!!!!


Our group collectively would not come back again!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

Booked 20 people in for lunch no menu no price list waited over an hour on food. Would not recommend for car clubs or people who just want a nice meal. Service poor owner explained 2 members of staff down not good enough. No discount offered a simple sorry

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank M1ghtymouse9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accrington, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

We arrived at tibbies and thought the view of the Loch was wonderful :-). However the Accomodation was very basic and very Tired and certainly doesnt justify the £135 we were charged for 3 people in a room per night!! There was no Tv, no Shower(other than a cheap rubber hose you stick on the taps) and the room was pretty grubby to be honest. On the plus side the Bar food was pretty good and the female staff were really friendly but the breakfast wasnt great :-(..The place could do with a general revamp in our view..Stunning views but were giving the hotel an average rating.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 941Mick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulon, France
Level Contributor
218 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 286 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

Not sure it was worth £90 for the room - which was boiling hot and really basic, but the views over the Loch are to die for and the owners - new by all accounts - are fantastic. Dinner in the conservatory overlooking the water with rain, sun and mist all thrown in - you couldn't want for more. Dinner was good, my fish was well cooked and really quite lovely.

The clincher is the atmosphere. And the new management. Clearly trying to making it work - but for £90 - a little more than 2 two single beds, a few coat hangers, and a B+Q shower might be in order.

Room Tip: With only a few rooms to choose from, you couldn't go wrong. The only issue we had aside from th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IanCar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

stayed here for 1 nights camping with my wife and we both found it fantastic. The place and staff are really friendly and the food is excellent. The pitch we managed to get had fantastic views across the loch with the benefit of a fire pit that helped keep the midges at bay. We would recommend it for anybody that wants to get away for some piece and quiet. We will be back in the next few months but with wetsuits so we can do a bit of swimming in the loch then spend the night in front of the wood burner in the bar.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RyanMcNeil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Selkirk hotels
14.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Philipburn House Hotel
14.7 mi away
Glen Hotel
Glen Hotel
#2 of 5 in Selkirk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
5.1 mi away
Ettrick Valley Yurts
Ettrick Valley Yurts
#2 of 6 in Selkirk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Tushielaw Inn
Tushielaw Inn
#5 of 10 in Selkirk
5.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
9.4 mi away
Cross Keys Inn
Cross Keys Inn
#2 of 10 in Selkirk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
14.7 mi away
Heatherlie House Hotel
Heatherlie House Hotel
#4 of 5 in Selkirk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tibbie Shiels Camping? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tibbie Shiels Camping

Property: Tibbie Shiels Camping
Address: St Mary's Loch, Selkirkshire, Selkirk TD7 5LH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Borders > Selkirk
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Selkirk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Tibbie Shiels Camping reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tibbie Shiels Hotel Selkirk
Tibbie Shiels Camping Selkirk, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing