We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent”
other travelers have booked this property
The Old Schoolhouse, Yarrowford
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Old Schoolhouse, Yarrowford
Main Bedroom Second Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
The Old Schoolhouse, Yarrowford
Main Bedroom
Second Bedroom
Kitchen
Lounge/Dining Room
Lounge/Dining Room
Newark Castle in winter
Selkirk Common Riding- crossing the river
The Yarrow Water, winter-time
Selkirk Common Riding- Market Square
Deuchars Bridge, Yarrow
Flora and Fauna!
Statue of William Wallace, near Dryburgh
Hills behind Yarrowford
The Green, Yarrowford
St Mary's Loch
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Selkirk, Scottish Borders, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
497stephe...
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed June 4, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Really comfortable, warm, clean. Set in superb scenery, very peaceful. Ideal base for walking or just exploring the borders.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: With teenagers, the wifi was a bit temperamental
Traveling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 12, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write this. We're glad you enjoyed your stay. We struggle with Broadband connection, too!
Kind regards
Viv and James Young
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chissell
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Stunning, Amazing, beautiful little weekend”
Reviewed April 21, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Travelled here with 5 of my friends. The cottage was stunning and the area around the cottage was full of places to explore. The hosts of the cottage were super friendly and full of helpful information. This was the perfect place for our annual 420 celebration and would recommend this cottage to everybody. A big thanks to the hosts.
Thankyou, The boys from Durham

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 16, 2014
Thank you very much for your review. We're very glad you enjoyed your first trip to the Borders. Come again!
Kind regards
Viv and James
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin B
Amble, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“lovely place in a lovely setting”
Reviewed March 22, 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We had never been to the borders area of Scotland before and chose this place on the basis that it was central and would happily accept our German Shepherd dog.
The Cottage was imaculate and pretty well furnished. The location was a real good base for exploring what we now know is a lovely part of Scotland. James the owner was very helpfull and accomodating and made us feel very welcome. I don't think we could have chosen better for what we needed and we intend to go back at some point later in the year.
The Fishing rights to the adjacent trout river will be attractive to fishermen.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The setting
Liked least: Can't think of anything
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 24, 2014
Thank you very much for reviewing the Flat at Yarrowford. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay.
Viv Young
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chimmiech...
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Yarrowford Schoolhouse Holiday.”
Reviewed October 1, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

On arrival you'll be greeted by ample off road parking within the grounds of this lovely, rural setting.

Our hosts Viv and James were on hand to welcome us, walk us through the accommodation, it's features and were at pains to make us aware that they were just a knock of the door away for any help or assistance.

The "flat" is aptly named and accurately described; all on one level which was important for my father who needs easy walk in access.

In through the hallway and the central living room with Dining area is well proportioned and a party of 6/8 would find it spacious!

To one end of the living room is bedroom one with en-suite shower & bathroom. Copious hot water, and good shower. .hot water and pressure!

The bedroom is equipped with a bunk bed, comfortable, cosy and all supplied with bed linen.

To the other end now. ..the fully equipped kitchen was sizeable and left nothing needed..all items supplied to cook & prepare any meal. Washing machine/dryer, cooker, microwave etc etc, nothing omitted that I could think of.

On through the kitchen area was bedroom two, with an enormous double bed and oodles of room to move around. En suite again with the same bountiful hot water supply and good shower. .no dribbling excuse for a shower here!

Central heating throughout and a separate gas fire in the living room will keep any chills at bay; or for warmer weather..open the sliding doors to the outside patio area with tables & seats to enjoy the quiet which is only broken by the sound of the gentle river flow or birdsong or horses clip clopping with their riders.

The "flat" offers an excellent base from which to strike out and explore the Scottish Borders, high quality accommodation for your time in the flat,and you'll be happy to give a write up to let others find their way here.

I highly recommend the accommodation to you for a friend's or family holiday.

Ohhh and the broadband works well for laptop, smartphones if you really need them and on a clear skies night...the milky way is beautiful to behold from just outside the front door.

Hats off to Viv and James for their gem of a house. Hope this helps others to get there.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 2, 2013
Thank you very much. Glad you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you again some time.
V.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra v
Puth, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2017 for a stay in August 2017
Google Translation
2
people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing