We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Salmon fishing”

Bowhill House & Country Estate
Ranked #1 of 11 things to do in Selkirk
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Long Buckby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Salmon fishing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

Great area for shooting and fishing and walking, Selkirk is quiet but has all the amenities you need

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    22
    7
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Selkirk, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“interesting country mansion with beautiful woodland walks”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

Bowhill was called 'sweet Bowhill' by Sir Walter Scott. there really is something for all ages and tastes here - the house bursting with paintings, ceramics and some secret doors; woodland and moorland walks by lochs and through hills; an adventure playground; a tearoom; a ranger's centre and a studio theatre.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Erica-Hume-Niven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Best ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

I thought this house was excellent from the minute you meet George at the Ticket Booth and all through the house. The extended tour was worthwhile.The house was full of history and some fantastic pictures and furniture. The cafe was very good. The guide books are well priced,brilliant.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank BillyWhizz0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
379 reviews
276 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 261 helpful votes
“Bowhill House”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

This is the home of the Buccleuch family as part of their country estate - they have other properties in Scotland also open to the public. We found that this was smaller than Drumlanrig House or Boughton House in Northamptonshire. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the guide was knowledgeable. It was a rainy day so we couldn't visit the gardens. The house itself felt rather gloomy and I also felt this at Drumlanrig despite the magnificent pictures, furniture etc.
The rooms are kept dark in order to preserve the fabrics we are told. However, we have visited many other properties including other properties in the Borders and elsewhere e.g. Buckingham Palace to name but one that is very light and doesn't share this problem!! It was also a guided tour which did give us much information but we were herded around and tightly controlled with a limited amount of time to see everything. This did not make for a relaxed atmosphere. The Victorian kitchen was interesting and set apart from the main building in a courtyard together with the shop and cafe. Toilets were clean and modern. The shop had some goods but the guide book had recently been replaced from a modest illustrated brochure to a much more detailed volume full of historial information that cost £12 - no wonder they weren't selling! It would have been better for the two versions to be 'on sale' so that one could choose. The cafe was reasonably priced and good service and quality. We had been looking forward to see this place but were disappointed and seeing the visitor numbers - much smaller than other places - maybe others think the same way.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank rondonel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

While on a horse riding break at Bowhill Stables we had a look at Bowhill House which is set in some stunning countryside. The house also has the most beautiful gardens which despite the bad summer still managed to look glorious and the art work and various collections of antiquity are very enjoyable to view in such a delightful setting.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Nikki U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bowhill House & Country Estate also viewed

Melrose, Scottish Borders
 

Been to Bowhill House & Country Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing