We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming and Friendly”
Review of Glen Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Glen Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Selkirk
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Welcoming and Friendly”
Reviewed November 26, 2012 via mobile

A short break with our 3 yr old and 4mth old west highland terrier proved to be more relaxing and comfortable than we expected. The hotel and owners/staff made us all feel welcome and went out their way to make sure we were comfortable and all our dietary requirements were met, without fuss. We arrived thinking the stay would be a one off. We leave with the thought that we will be back and will bring family/friends with us. Good food, reasonably priced and certainly a nice break.

Stayed November 2012
Helpful?
Thank maureen t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    55
    17
    4
    2
See reviews for
29
104
14
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, Scotland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Four of us stayed for a weekend in November and found the hotel warm, clean and well furnished with a superb choice of pescie/veggie evening dishes.

The owners, daughter and staff were very attentive and assisted by their own and fellow guests' dogs, the whole hotel had a very friendly atmosphere.

We are already in the process of arranging another visit early next year.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfemline
1 review
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Just had a 2 night stay at the Glen Hotel, very welcoming,good company and good food. We stayed in the room for the disabled which was very comfortable, only have one point to make about the bathroom it could do with grab rails at the shower as their was nothing to hold on to. Lovely family and very polite and the hotel was nice and warm.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
2 reviews
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Having just returned home from 4 nights stay at the Glen Hotel, We felt it only justified to compliment Steve and Antoinette, (the Hotel owners) on such a beautiful hotel. It's dog friendly with large grounds and plenty of places nearby to exercise your dog.
The room was spacious, spotlessly clean and warm. The meals are second to none.
As other reviewers have already pointed out, nothing is too much trouble for the hosts.
Their knowledge of the Scottish Borders is like an oracle. They tell you all the best places to visit, including golf courses, fishing spots and places of interest.
The hotel is superb in it's architecture with picturesque views across the valley.
This is a 3 star small hotel, but we'd give it 5. We'll definitely be returning.
Again, thanks for a brilliant stay.

Room Tip: The our poster room is highly recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 17, 2012

This was our 5th visit to " the glen hotel" with our friends and dogs. We are always made to feel very welcome and Steve and Antoinette can't do enough to make our break memorable. The hotel is stunning with its spiral staircase and gorgeous furnishings and it's located in a fabulous central spot for sightseeing- many attractions,towns and dog walks within easy reach. Our rooms ( and we booked 3 of them!) were very clean,very warm, very comfortable and very spacious with everything we could possibly need for a relaxing stay. We had dinner all 3 nights of our stay and each meal was faultless with local fresh ingredients homecooked to perfection by the talented chef. The wine list was also rather nice!!! Breakfast was great with lots of choice - buffet and cooked to order.The dining room and bar area is typically borders- with a lovely warm fireplace .comfy seating and friendly locals with loads of board games.dominos , cards, if you wish to partake!! All in all I cant recommend the Glen enough- my only regret was that we had to leave so soon but we will definately be back asap.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sue m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gorebridge
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed November 16, 2012

My husband and I were given a Groupon Voucher for a two night mid week stay at the Glen Hotel as a gift - at first we thought what a odd choice but booked anyway. We have just come home and wanted to let others know what a fabulous stay we had - my husband I found this trip very refreshing and we are now ready to face the busy Christmas period. We ate in hotel on both nights and the food was amazing. We were made feel very welcome and the girls serving dinner and breakfast were very cheerful and chatty - this made our stay expecially nice. We hope to be back.
Thanks and God Bless all the staff at the Glen Hotel
Joyce & Fred Harrison

Room Tip: Book early and ask for the four poster room with separate seating area - that's what I want on m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joyce H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

just back from a lovely 2 night break at The Glen Hotel .Very welcoming and bedroom was lovely ,clean ,warm and comfy.
the breakfast was excellent .We had dinner on the 2 nights as well and it was very good and reasonably priced.
we will be back as we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.Perfect for a tour of border towns.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helen60Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Selkirk
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Scottish Borders, Selkirk Philipburn Hotel
8.1 mi away
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
#1 of 2 in St. Boswells
927 reviews
0.4 mi away
County Hotel
County Hotel
#3 of 5 in Selkirk
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders
17.4 mi away
Cringletie House
Cringletie House
#2 of 8 in Peebles
750 reviews
0.1 mi away
Heatherlie House Hotel
Heatherlie House Hotel
#4 of 5 in Selkirk
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen Hotel

Property: Glen Hotel
Address: Yarrow Terrace | Selkirkshire, Selkirk TD7 5AS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Borders > Selkirk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Selkirk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Glen Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Glen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glen Hotel Selkirk, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing