We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nicky is a treasure”
Review of County Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
County Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Selkirk
Certificate of Excellence
Leigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nicky is a treasure”
Reviewed June 20, 2014

A very good hotel situated in the middle of the town with ample parking.
The rooms are well appointed, clean and spacious.
The restaurant serves good traditional food with an accent on Scottish Borders recipes etc [the haggis is outstanding and you can visit the butcher who supplies this as he's just down the main street!] There is also a good Specials board/choice.
The staff are welcoming and friendly but special mention must go to Nicky who is one of the managers there. She is so very lovely...warm, obliging and she did everything within her power to make our stay perfect.
We would not hesitate to return to the County Hotel in Selkirk if our travelling took us that way again.

Room Tip: Good local shopping especially the butchers, grocer and bakers [home of the Selkirk Bannock]. The r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    57
    21
    7
    3
See reviews for
34
62
13
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
West Calder, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Stayed here for a weekend (2 nights) with my wife and had a thoroughly good time. The room was excellent, large and spacious and immaculate. Had a room over looking the main road and it was not to noisy at all. Used the restaurant the first night and the food was superb, recommend the duck ! The breakfast is to die for, best I have had at a hotel in a long long time. This hotel is well worth the visit if you are in the area.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott1873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrondDalby, Owner at County Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Thank you for staying with us - and for taking the time to post a review.
We are all delighted that you enjoyed your stay.
Hope to see you in Selkirk again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2014

During our two week stay in Scotland, this was the most expensive place we stayed but not by far the nicest. It was acceptable, but nothing more and certainly not worth the extra cost. I'm sure you can find nicer accommodations in the Scottish Borders area for a much more reasonable price. The room and bath were of adequate size but lacked any extra touches. The carpeting was quite worn and dirty. Breakfast was not included.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrondDalby, Owner at County Hotel, responded to this review, May 25, 2014
Thank you for taking time to provide useful feed-back. We value all feed-back. It helps us to always focus on improving our services. I am sorry to hear that you didn't find us to quite meet your expectations. We offer different types of rooms from standard, superior and executive. The executive rooms were added in 2013 and are contemporary with walk-in showers and king sized beds. As for most hotels, room rates varies depending on level of business. When its busy, the rates increases. We always keep an eye on room rates in the area and we pride our self to be very competitive compared to other local hotels. To increase flexibility for the guest, we offer different rates. Some are pre-payable and non-refundable and therefore also discounted rates. As many guests do not require breakfast, we offer a room only rate - which was the rate you had chosen. We are in a building dating from 1746, which in itself presents a lot of challenges. We have refurbished all areas of the hotel during the last 10 years. The standard rooms - which you had chosen - are up for their second refurbishment over the coming year. This is also reflected in the rate for these rooms. Our WilloW brasserie will also be refurbished towards end of June this year. Again, I am sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectation, but please trust we are working very hard to make sure we are constantly improving and our aim is that every guest should leave a happy one. All the best, Will (Owner).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2014

We were very impressed with the County Hotel. The staff were friendly and helpful, to the extent that when my partner left his mobile phone charger behind, they posted it on to us.
The double room was spacious with plenty of storage. The décor was a bit tired but considering the price per room per night , it was good value for money.
The breakfast was extra and cost £7.50 if booked in advance. It was very impressive with fresh fruit, yoghurt, cereal, orange juice, croissants, a full cooked breakfast or eggs cooked in a variety of ways. I had the eggs benedict and it was very good.
I have had breakfast in many hotels, in many countries around the world and this is the best I have ever had.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alecEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrondDalby, Owner at County Hotel, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Thank you for your review - and for staying with us. The team here at the County works hard to create a positive guest experience, and it was a pleasure having you as our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prestwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
318 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2014

We used the restaurant only and did not stay here. There seems to be no facility to put in a restaurant review in, hence it is here!

The service was informal, helpful and friendly. There is a reasonable choice of food which was very good indeed and fairly priced. Real ale on tap, to those aficionados of such, is a bonus.
Well worth trying. Book a table at weekends - it is popular.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Douglas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014

Stayed here as opposed to Melrose for 7's.
Staff were very friendly and the rooms was spacious, comfortable bed and recently decorated.

The shower room was excellent could have stayed in the shower all day.

Its an old hotel but the owners are changing it gradually. The dining room was grotty floor carpet covering but destined to be changed to wooden flooring soon.
Bar and lounge was comfortable and staff pleasant

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElliottPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014

This was a quick overnight stay on my way up to Glasgow. I was in a single room which overlooks the main street - a bit of traffic noise but nothing unreasonable.

The room was very clean and the bed very comfortable.

I was in an upper floor (as are all the bedrooms) so the view out of the window was great too, with a comfortable chair to sit in and read whilst watching the people of Selkirk go by.

I wasn't booked in for breakfast, but there's a few decent places nearby to get that.

The only minor point was that the mechanism for closing the door had punched a hole in the wall.

But it's a decent hotel in a characterful building in a convenient location. I'd be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kration
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Selkirk
0.4 mi away
Glen Hotel
Glen Hotel
#2 of 5 in Selkirk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Scottish Borders, Selkirk Philipburn Hotel
0.3 mi away
Heatherlie House Hotel
Heatherlie House Hotel
#4 of 5 in Selkirk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
#1 of 2 in St. Boswells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
5.9 mi away
Burt's Hotel
Burt's Hotel
#2 of 7 in Melrose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
8.6 mi away
Mansfield House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to County Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about County Hotel

Property: County Hotel
Address: 3-5 High Street, Selkirk TD7 4BZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Borders > Selkirk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Selkirk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — County Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your County Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
County Hotel Selkirk, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing