We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent from start to finish!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Plus Scottish Borders, Selkirk Philipburn Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Selkirk
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Motherwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent from start to finish!!!”
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Booked this hotel on a Groupon deal. It was a Christmas present so I really was looking forward to the split level room. On arrival we were greeted by a lovely lady who showed us to our room. It was a beautiful room with a four poster bed. I was annoyed as it was not the split level room that we thought we were getting. My partner went back to reception. initially we were told we could not move, however within a few minutes the lady was back at our room and took us to the split level room. It was brilliant!!! Everything that you could wish for, Jacuzzi bath, living area, balcony and mezzanine level with your bed and wardrobe space. We ate in the hotel both nights, food is lovely, staff attentive and lovely bar area. Not a lot to do in Selkirk in the winter but I would love to go back in the warmer weather. We will definitely be back at this hotel. Excellent customer service, beautiful rooms and good food!!!

Room Tip: If you want extra living space for some "chill time" and with added outdoor space pay the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPhilipburn, Manager at Best Western Plus Scottish Borders, Selkirk Philipburn Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear Lorraine D, Thank you for your review. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your room, the good food and excellent customer service. Selkirk is quiet at this time of year however there are many places of interest and historic houses in the area which are all open from Easter onwards. The Scottish Borders is also renowned for the many beautiful walks, including the Three Brethren and the Borders Abbey Way, or you could relax on the hotel terrace and patio which is a real sun trap in the summer! We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    68
    15
    9
    4
See reviews for
41
221
6
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fleetwood, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Our son & daughter surprised us with this weekend as part of our christmas present. Fabulous room, lovely staff & great food. Bit of a trek for us (3hr drive) but so glad we made the effort. Would like to return in the summer when the weather is warmer. Thank you to everyone who made us feel so welcome

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ikleirishgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPhilipburn, Manager at Best Western Plus Scottish Borders, Selkirk Philipburn Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear ikleirishgirl, Delighted to hear you enjoyed your weekend along with the good food and hospitality. I'm sure your son and daughter will be pleased to hear you had a lovely time with this being their Christmas gift to you. I will pass on your thanks to the staff who all made you feel so welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Like others we were on a Groupon two night break, a most enjoyable experience. The hotel is on the outskirts of Selkirk in a peaceful setting. We received a warm welcome, a beautiful room and excellent food in service, in quality and in quantity. We definitely plan to return !

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPhilipburn, Manager at Best Western Plus Scottish Borders, Selkirk Philipburn Hotel, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Dear John W, thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the peace and tranquillity along with the good food and service. We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to the Borders.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aberdeen
Level Contributor
156 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014

we recently stayed at the Best Western Philipburn Country House Hotel for a short break and enjoyed it very much. Staff extremely friendly and helpful nothing too much bother. had great time, the food very good and not overpriced at all as was the wine etc. Excellent choice of malt whiskies too!! I would thoroughly recommend this hotel without hesitation.

Room Tip: upgrade to a superior room very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sanded55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPhilipburn, Manager at Best Western Plus Scottish Borders, Selkirk Philipburn Hotel, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Dear sanded55, thank you for your review - we are delighted to hear you enjoyed your break with us along with the good value food and wine served in our restaurant. We hope to welcome you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flintshire
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2014

Just got back from the nicest 2 day break we have ever had. Our room was immaculate. Comfy bed....a massive 6 footer, beautiful shower room. Cannot praise the place enough!!!!!!!!!! It was immaculately clean, beautifully furnished and the food was top notch. So impressed will definately be back

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 12 which was wonderful but I am sure all the rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizziechip55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPhilipburn, Manager at Best Western Plus Scottish Borders, Selkirk Philipburn Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Dear lizziechip55, Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. We are delighted to hear you had a comfortable stay and enjoyed the good food. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to the Borders
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2014

I had a Groupon 2 night stay at Philipburn Country House Hotel and my sister and I didn't want to leave. Lovely warm welcome when we arrived and staff very happy to see to our every need during our stay. Our room was of a very high standard and compliments to the chef for the outstanding food served to us.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anniemac386
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPhilipburn, Manager at Best Western Plus Scottish Borders, Selkirk Philipburn Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Dear anniemac386, thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the delights of the Border towns. We will certainly pas on your compliments to Angus our Chef for the outstanding food that you enjoyed in the restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Selkirk
0.5 mi away
Glen Hotel
Glen Hotel
#2 of 5 in Selkirk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
8.4 mi away
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
#1 of 2 in St. Boswells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 901 reviews
0.5 mi away
Heatherlie House Hotel
Heatherlie House Hotel
#4 of 5 in Selkirk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders
16.9 mi away
Cringletie House
Cringletie House
#2 of 8 in Peebles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Townhouse Hotel
The Townhouse Hotel
#1 of 7 in Melrose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Scottish Borders, Selkirk Philipburn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Scottish Borders, Selkirk Philipburn Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Scottish Borders, Selkirk Philipburn Hotel
Address: Linglie Road, Selkirk TD7 5LS, Scotland (Formerly Best Western Plus Philipburn House Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Borders > Selkirk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Selkirk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Scottish Borders, Selkirk Philipburn Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Plus Philipburn House Hotel enjoys a tranquil setting on the outskirts of Selkirk, within easy reach of the A7. With 19 individually styled bedrooms and 1 lodge, a on-site restaurant, function room and bar makes us an excellent venue for any occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Best Western Plus Scottish Borders, Selkirk Philipburn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Scottish Borders, Selkirk Philipburn Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing