We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly exceptional”
Review of Kingsmuir House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kingsmuir House
Ranked #1 of 13 Peebles B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Truly exceptional”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

A truly outstanding "bed and breakfast". Service was fantastic we are really appreciative of all the little, and not so little extra touches - from the meals that meant we could "dine in" in style, to the mini meals for our two year old, to the lift to Glentress & back. The room (more suite, less "room") was a lovely place to come home after a day cycling, horse riding or just shopping - large, comfy and spacious, and breakfasts were lovely too. Nothing to fault whatsoever - we've already re-booked.

Room Tip: Only two rooms and both are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheThreeBlindMice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
33
203
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We ended up staying here overnight, following a recommendation in a Osso's an outstanding local restaurant. It was a great recommendation. Malcolm, the owner, provided a confident but relaxed welcome and we settled into our sumptious suite. Within minutes of settling in, we fell asleep. It's true, we'd had a hard day on our mountain bikes, but it was the comfort, the quiet and the relaxing ambience that did it for us. This continued throughout our all too short stay. We go up to Peebles relatively frequently and Kingsmuir will give us another reason for going again - absolutely great!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tavistock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

A stunning B&B, the best we've ever stayed in. We had a suite which was sumptuous, it even had 2 loos, everything was immaculate and finished to a very high quality. Malcolm the owner was a joy to meet, extremely helpful and a great cook too!! We cannot praise this B&B enough. Very quiet, good parking and within easy walking of Peebles. We will definately be back.

Room Tip: They only have 2 rooms, one older style furnishings, the other more modern.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clive M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pershore, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Don't come to Kingsmuir House if you don't like falling into soft, crisp, cotton bed clouds, enjoying squeaky clean bathrooms, spacious, chic rooms, impeccable service, breakfasts to die for (or walk miles on) or hospitality second to none - and all, always, with a huge smile. Nothing is too much trouble. If you're very nice, Malcolm will cook dinner for you when other restaurants in Peebles are not open, or when you've travelled from afar. Beautiful food which is imaginative and sophisticated and, joy of joy, lacks blobs and smears. Thank you Malcolm for creating a perfect heaven. We have failed to resist these blandishments twice and can't wait to do it again. Travel from afar. Enjoy!

Room Tip: There are only two suites - both immaculate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Our second visit to Kingsmuir and we thought it couldn't get better but oh no Malcolm surpassed our expectations once again. Make staying at this beautiful home your reason for visiting Peebles, we do, you cannot fail to be impressed and will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lorna h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Incredibly friendly and informal welcome, from Malcolm the owner. The standard of the rooms and house is amazing. You almost don't want to leave the comfort of the suite. Breakfast was equally good and hearty using local produce. As the title suggests, this B&B puts most 4* hotels to shame. Excellent.

Room Tip: The Haystoun Suite is wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 8pintsandthirsty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Kingsmuir House came highly recommended to us after my birthday plans were shattered due to a badly broken wrist.
A spacious suite and bed to stretch out in, and a lovely deep bath for a long soak with some bubbly (ice and ice bucket supplied).
The house itself is beautifully renovated, tasteful fixtures and fittings, and clean.
Malcolm is an excellent host and breakfast was fab too.
You should go!!! x

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Peebles hotels
0.4 mi away
Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders
3.1 mi away
Cringletie House
Cringletie House
#2 of 8 in Peebles
737 reviews
0.6 mi away
Peebles Hydro
Peebles Hydro
#7 of 8 in Peebles
1,914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Park
The Park
#6 of 8 in Peebles
408 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cross Keys Hotel
Cross Keys Hotel
#4 of 8 in Peebles
219 reviews
0.9 mi away
Castle Venlaw Hotel
Castle Venlaw Hotel
#5 of 8 in Peebles
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingsmuir House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsmuir House

Property: Kingsmuir House
Address: Kingsmuir House Springhill Road, Peebles EH45 9EP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Borders > Peebles
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Peebles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kingsmuir House 5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kingsmuir House is a 5 star GOLD, Award winning Guest House in Peebles... A comfortable luxurious Victorian home, situated a short walk from the River Tweed and Peebles High Street. Built in the 1850's, the house has been recently refurbished and retains many original period features. Our two guest rooms are in the form of luxurious Bedroom Suites, each suite consisting of a separate sitting room, bedroom with super king size bed and a luxury bathroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Kingsmuir House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingsmuir House Peebles, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing