We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small but beautifully formed”

Dawyck Botanic Garden
Ranked #3 of 26 things to do in Peebles
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Dawyck is truly one of the world's finest arboreta. Seasonal displays of abundant exotic and native plants provide a breathtaking backdrop of colour throughout the year. The Garden also offers an award-winning visitor centre. Part of the Royal Botanic Garden Edinburgh.
scotland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Small but beautifully formed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

Until recently I hadn't been to Dawyck Gardens for some time but every time I go I feel so at peace with the world. Even when the car park is full you wonder where everyone has disappeared to. Whatever the season there is something to admire. I took my granddaughter to one of the funghi hunts there a year or two ago and she just loved it. When I have visitors I usually make a point of taking them there and they all say the same, " What a wonderful place!" The early flowering rhododendron bushes are showing the first hint of colour and I am sure there will be a few more appearing soon.
The cafe is a real treat, so light and spacious with views out onto the gardens as well as outside tables if the weather is fine. The home-made soups are delicious. There are plenty other choices for a light lunch. Staff are so welcoming in both the shop and the cafe and I rarely leave without buying something!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank scotiaScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    65
    13
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lovely gardens and selection of firs”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

I liked the history of how the Douglas Fir came to Scotland and the UK! They have a great selection of different fir trees here,as well as many other trees,bushes and shrubs.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dumfriesman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“BEAUTIFUL IN AUTUMN”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

Stunning colours here in the Autumn months, tho paths are narrow in parts, so slippy in wetter weather. A lovely natural feel to the woodlands there, however, unlike the more formal feel of Edinburgh's botanic gardens.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank FrancesParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Wonderful coffee shop!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

The autumnal colours of the trees at Dawyck right now are breathtaking the gardens are well worth a visit at this time of year - even in the rain!
The coffee shop offers a wonderful selection of home baking and lunches. The staff are friendly and very helpful. Highly recommend

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A stunning display of colour in the autumn sunshine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

We had a really wonderful afternoon at Daywck. There is a contemporary visitor centre at the entrance with excellent facilities including a cafe serving light lunches, tea, coffees and cakes etc, toilets, a tasteful gift shop and an exhibition area. The staff in the shop were very friendly, enthusiastic and knowledgeable about the gardens.We had a tasty bite of lunch before strolling around the extensive arboretum. We loved meandering around the many paths enjoying the gorgeous autumn colours and the scents of the pines. Although the car park had been full and we did meet other visitors as we walked, the gardens still retained a sense of tranquillity. Some of the paths were quite steep and in places were muddy and slippery as the ground was wet so would recommend sturdy shoes/hillwalking boots. Having said that we managed round without them and with a buggy but will be better prepared for our next visit. We will certainly make the journey down from Edinburgh again in the spring.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank AliBongo65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dawyck Botanic Garden also viewed

 
Peebles, Scottish Borders
Peebles, Scottish Borders
 

Been to Dawyck Botanic Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing