We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely cakes”

Cocoa Black Chocolate Shop & Cafe
Ranked #1 of 2 Dessert in Peebles
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch
Description: Home to UK World Chocolate Master and UK Confectioner of the Year, Ruth Hinks, Cocoa Black offers a variety of freshly prepared luxury handmade Chocolate, Cake and Patisserie.
Reviewed February 8, 2014

On visiting Peebles enjoyed coffee and cake once again and really enjoyed it. Glad to hear of refurbishment as I have found it a bit cold on a wet day. Love the dog bisects and water outside. Have also experienced the chocolate making course, what a fab day. Good value for money.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank cowpitsheep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie B, Manager at Cocoa Black Chocolate Shop & Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time and trouble to post such positive feedback regarding your visits to Cocoa Black and your participating in the school. The dog bowl and treats have proved very popular with our four legged friends, afterall we aim to make Cocoa Black a special experience for all! We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (285)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

217 - 221 of 285 reviews

Reviewed February 5, 2014

What can I say - you must visit if you are in Peebles - excellent cakes and coffee and cosy too. Very good choice of cakes and also you are able to buy their own home made stuff - winner of many awards.

Thank sue1parson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie B, Manager at Cocoa Black Chocolate Shop & Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time and trouble to post such a positive response, we greatly appreciate all feedback from our customers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

This isn't the first time I've visited, they have a fantastic selection of cakes and hot drinks at excellent value which makes you want to return again and again.

Thank Pigfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie B, Manager at Cocoa Black Chocolate Shop & Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time and trouble to post such a positive response re your visits to Cocoa Black. All feedback is greatly appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Been to Cocoa Black a few times, went today as usual gorgeous coffee and amazing cakes. My husband and I had a chocolate brownie and lemon tray bake. It took me about 10 mins to choose from all their cakes, tray bakes, scones and sweets. I try to have a different one each time I go ! Wonderful !

1  Thank Scottishperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie B, Manager at Cocoa Black Chocolate Shop & Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Thank you so much for your wonderful comments regarding your visits to Cocoa Black. We look forward to welcoming you back for some more delicious treats in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

3 cakes (greedy!) and 2 lattes came in at £12 which I think is good value. After eating said cakes (which were delicious) we were so stuffed that we had to go for a lie down! Anyway thumbs up for the goodies and the staff (who were friendly enough) but the shop is strange. Not as salubrious as one would expect, in need of some TLC and I would go as far as to say soulless. More of a waiting room than a salon. Regardless we will return!

Thank cpaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie B, Manager at Cocoa Black Chocolate Shop & Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to Cocoa Black. So glad you enjoyed the coffee and cakes and appreciate the cost of eating out!
We are planning a major refit of the shop during 2014 and do hope you will return and find a more inviting and comfortable atmosphere.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cocoa Black Chocolate Shop & Cafe also viewed

 
Peebles, Scottish Borders
Peebles, Scottish Borders
 
Peebles, Scottish Borders
 

Been to Cocoa Black Chocolate Shop & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing