We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight b & b & dinner early November 2013”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Peebles
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Overnight b & b & dinner early November 2013”
Reviewed November 29, 2013

Very comfortable, with lovely cosy lounge and cheery welcoming fire so grateful at this time of year. Lovely room overlooking river with everything required - great facilities and extremely comfortable bed. Food at dinner was delicious and breakfast was first class with lots to choose from to suit all requirements. Will certainly book in at this hotel again when in the area. All staff we encountered i.e. reception, dining room and bar were most pleasant and extremely helpful even to the point of looking after our bags on last day so we could do a bit of shopping. Altogether a very nice experience.

Room Tip: We had a room at the back overlooking the river which was extremely quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raehutchinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gordon I, Owner at Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Thank you for your review following your recent stay, we loved reading your comments and feedback and you make a number of great recommendations. Staff feedback is important to us and we will make sure to share your review with all!
Kate, Gordon Innes & "The Tontine Team".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

899 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    545
    279
    46
    21
    8
See reviews for
128
442
46
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 25, 2013

As a single female traveller, I was made to feel welcome from the minute I walked into the hotel. Every effort was made to make my stay as comfortable as possible. The room I was in was pure luxury - excellent nights sleep, everything provided you could think of. The staff - all very nice and all made the effort to know who I was and what room I was in. I would definitely recommend anyone to stay here. The food, surroundings and general way of the hotel was very homely.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gordon I, Owner at Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review via Tripadvisor and your comments make very welcome reading. The team here at the hotel are delighted to learn of your positive feedback! We will be sharing your review with all the staff. Thanks again.
kate, Gordon Innes & "The Tontine Team"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 21, 2013

If you believe that value for money is defined as " cost plus quality " then the Tontine experience will reinforce that view. From the moment you arrive you realise that you are made to feel special. The warmth of the staff is evident throughout the hotel. The food is of a high quality and extremely well presented. The public areas provide a warm and convivial atmosphere and enhance the stay. We will definitely return to this special hotel.

Room Tip: Go for a Classic room and spoil yourself
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Douglas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gordon I, Owner at Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Thank you for a great review and critique! We and all the team were delighted to learn of your satisfaction and thank you very much for your recommendation.
Kate & Gordon Innes (Hotel Proprietor's)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
preston
Level Contributor
65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

this is a lovely hotel that i have stayed at three or four times and it has been such an excellent experience every visit but sadly the quality of breakfast seems to be slipping and isnt as good as the lunch and dinner. First day the toast was burnt. The scottish cooked breakfast was missing the haggis which is clearly indicated as being part of the breaffast but nobody offered an explanation as to why it was missing from my husbands breakfast. The vegetarian haggis was missing from my breakfast and again the plate was just put on the table without expanation. The tattie scones are fried not grilled and were very hard and almost inedible. the breakfast was on the whole rather greasy. Second day there were no croissants and when I enquired I was just told that there wasnt any. I opted for the porridge instead and this was very tasty and I really enjoyed it. We are are very surprised by the huge difference in the qualtiy of the breakfast. Our lunch in the bistro was superb - beautifully cooked locally sourced food and plenty of choice. Service was brilliant as was the dinner we had in the Adam room. Dinner was wonderful and a very pleasant dining experience - again food beautifully cooked locally sourced ingredients - plenty of choice. In fact you cant really fault the exellent lunch and dinners at the tontine. Our room was clean and comfortable. We didnt have a view either over the main street or the beautiful scenery and perhaps rooms without any views should not be charged as much as those with views? Haivng said that the room we had was quitely situated and we had a good nights sleep with no noise at all. It was absolutely lovely to wake up to the sound of church bells. We would defintatly stay here again and just want the breakfast to be as good as the excellent lunches and dinners.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stormchaser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gordon I, Owner at Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Thank you for posting your review on Tripadvisor. There are overall great comments regarding the food and service at Lunch & Dinner and we will certainly be taking note of your feedback about breakfast, inconsistent from one day to the next and more attention to detail required to deliver exact requirements!
Your feedback and opinions are appreciated and are shared with the team and reviewed by the owners and senior staff. Again Thank-you!

Kate & Gordon Innes (Hotel Proprietor’s).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenilworth
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

My wife and I stayed along with another couple at the Tontine on a two night DB&B break in late October. We were all made to feel very welcome by everyone there. We enjoyed the food and hospitality provided in the package and were surprised that there were no surprises in the way of extras. The dinners were a full three courses and included coffees and fudge, despite no mention of this on the website. Breakfasts were a hearty affair, so much so I cut back on the second morning to avoid overfilling myself!
All the staff at the hotel were very helpful and engaging and seemed to be genuinely enjoying their work. The room we stayed in (38 in Riverside view?) was comfortable and well equipped although the décor was somewhat dated and a little tired looking.
Would we recommend this hotel to friends and family – yes, very much so. Would we stay there again – yes, this is our third visit.
As for the town of Peebles, we love it and the people. Like the staff in the hotel, everyone seemed friendly and welcoming. (A friend who lives in Peebles was very complementary about the local butchers, Forsythes. We bought a selection of meat and a shop made pie, all of which we have very much enjoyed since we got home. Happy memories of what food used to taste like before the era of factory farming! The only regret is that we didn’t buy more!)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gordon I, Owner at Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you indeed for taking the time to post such a positive review of both the hotel and the town od Peebles and its "High Street". We are fortunate in many ways to live and work in such a nice town with many Independent Shops and businesses, which prove very popular with visitors to the area.
Thank you very much for your kind comments about the team at the hotel. It is always much appreciated!
Kate, Gordon Innes & "The Tontine Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

Visiting the area , stayed on a DBB
special for two nights . Very handy location , all the staff very friendly and helpful . Room was clean good size , bathroom functional , but was let down by not having any heating so was quite chilly .
Food was normally very good , but we found it inconsistent , one evening main course Venison was luke warm and on our last morning my wife was to try the porridge , well we were in Scotland , unfortunately it had to be returned to the kitchen as it was served cold , very , very disappointing .
Overall we still had a good break and would have no problem staying again or recommending the hotel , thought it was good value , just that it lost points , we're sure on next visit it will be 100%.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank samelainer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gordon I, Owner at Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thanks for your review and constructive comments. We made a note of the room you stayed in. Bathroom radiator needed bled, with air lock now repaired. We are renewing all plumbing and pipework during on-going room refurbishments and we are in the original house at present working on Room 18.
Sorry about the Porridge, no excuses for serving cold and we will keep an eye on this during the winter months and on-going. I was also pleased to note your great feedback about the service staff written on your guest questionaire prior to departure and pleased to note your overall satisfaction and willingness to return! Thank You!
Kate & Gordon Innes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oban, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We had a gathering of friends (about forty) of whom about half stayed in the hotel.
Staff were friendly, attentive and efficient. The weekend was a great success with a concert in The Adam Room which is a beauty. Food was excellent and I ate more than I should have done.
The setting, in the centre of Peebles made it easy for us to walk to other venues.
A special treat was the carillon in the church at the end of the High Street playing the Town Tune (Salmon Tails) on Sunday morning.
I hope our committee book us in again for next year.

Room Tip: We had one of the special rooms which was roomy and comfortable and very close to the centre of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gordon I, Owner at Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you very much for your positive review. All at the hotel really enjoyed the "Piping weekend", a little bit different for us and great fun looking after you all, much enjoyed. Let's hope you do visit the town and the hotel in the future!
Kate, Gordon Innes & "The Tontine Team".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Peebles
0.5 mi away
Peebles Hydro
Peebles Hydro
#7 of 8 in Peebles
1,914 reviews
2.8 mi away
Cringletie House
Cringletie House
#2 of 8 in Peebles
737 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Park
The Park
#6 of 8 in Peebles
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel
0.1 mi away
Cross Keys Hotel
Cross Keys Hotel
#4 of 8 in Peebles
220 reviews
0.5 mi away
Castle Venlaw Hotel
Castle Venlaw Hotel
#5 of 8 in Peebles
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders

Property: Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders
Address: High Street, Peebles EH45 8AJ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Borders > Peebles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Peebles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Peebles, we are a family run hotel totally geared up to providing you with a wonderful break. Known for our excellent service and food, we have 36 en-suite bedrooms, secure storage, drying room, FREE WiFi and private parking for our guests. So if you want to escape for some well earned rest and relaxation, or to enjoy some quality time with friends and family, the Tontine is the perfect place to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders Scotland
Peebles Tontine Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing