We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders
Nearby Hotels
$141
$115
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Peebles Hydro(Peebles)
$144
$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$155
$142
HotelQuickly
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Neidpath Inn(Peebles)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Park(Peebles)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,039)
Filter reviews
1,039 results
Traveler rating
651
308
50
22
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
651
308
50
22
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsadam roomadams roomhigh streetoverlooking the rivercentral locationopen firefriendly hotelfirst classwedding receptiongood sizecomfortable roomslovely towndining roomlounge areascottish bordersbreakfast was excellenthuge bed
Filter
Updating list...
795 - 800 of 1,039 reviews
Reviewed April 15, 2013

A friend and I had entered this bike race which was held yesterday. We stayed at theTontine the night before. The staff could not have been more pleasant, co-operative and helpful. The crowning point was when we arrived back from the race, soaked to the skin and were instantly offered a hot shower (and not charged for it). It was divine. Borders hospitality is the warmest in the world.
Incidentally, the beef and ale pie for dinner was superb! I'd recommend it very highly. Looking forward to seeing you next year!

Judith Scott and Shirley Ferguson.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jude3952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Have stayed here over a number of years. Food good, service excellent. Good selection of wines, beers and malts. Also has a cocktail list. Great location. Next time will try the afternoon tea which looked awesome.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mountlodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We have stayed several times over the past few years and always enjoyed ourselves. The food is super and the breakfasts in particular are something to look forward to. The service is super and you are always made very welcome. My daughter travels there just for the afternoon teas !Just wish I could go more often.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the river are usually a little quieter although arguably don't have as much character as they are newer !
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank triciamcl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

We had a Saturday evening meal in the Tontine's Bistro. Good range of main courses - between us two had fish and I had chicken and excellent sweets! For three, including alcohol and coffees the bill came to £65. Great service and food. We had to wait a wee while when we arrived as there was a wedding party in the main restaurant but the staff certainly made sure that we were comfortable while we waited for a table.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndrewEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gordon I, Owner at Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Thanks for your comments and review via Trip Advisor. Saturday was certainly busy, with the wedding reception and busy Bistro in the evening. So glad you enjoyed your visit, food, service and atmosphere.
Kate & Gordon Innes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

This was a nice hotel. The food in the restraunt was good value. All the staff were very friendly. Decor in the dining areas, reception and rooms were a lovely with good atmosphere although the corridors looked a bit nursing home style. Overall would go back. Wifi wasn't working on my stay though.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sweetilemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gordon I, Owner at Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Thank you for posting your review via Trip Advisor. A lovely comment about the team for which we give special thanks. You make constructive comments about the bedroom corridors which are to be refurbished and decorated this year as part of our on-going investment plans for the property.
Kate & Gordon Innes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews