We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders
Nearby Hotels
$143
$97
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$156
$147
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Peebles Hydro(Peebles)
$116
$96
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$94
$73
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Park(Peebles)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Traquair Arms Hotel(Innerleithen)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Windlestraw(Walkerburn)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,037)
Filter reviews
1,038 results
Traveler rating
650
308
50
22
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
650
308
50
22
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsadam roomadams roomhigh streetoverlooking the rivercentral locationopen firefriendly hotelfirst classwedding receptiongood sizecomfortable roomslovely towndining roomlounge areascottish bordersbreakfast was excellenthuge bed
Filter
Updating list...
833 - 838 of 1,038 reviews
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Great spot in the centre of town and only 10 mins from Glentress. After a hard day on the trails it was wonderful to return and be cosseted with a hot bath, a delicious dinner and coffee by a roaring fire. Loads of bike storage and 4 legged friends are welcome in some bedrooms.

Staff are friendly and helpful, although on one night they were a bit thin on the ground. A proactive apology the next morning and good service the following evening pointed to a one off glitch.

I look forward to the next time!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 968,944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gordon I, Owner at Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

Thank you very much for your excellent review and comments. We are delighted to learn of your comments regarding location and recommendation for Glentress.
Thanks Kate & Gordon Innes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Once again my husband and I spent two nights at the Tontine Hotel. In our experience it is very friendly and we enjoy our visit. The staff are efficient as well as friendly - nice food and reasonable costs - what more can you want.

Room Tip: Room 1 has just been upgraded and is lovely - comfy bed and lovely views over the river. As it is at the back of the hotel it is also nice and quiet.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trish041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gordon I, Owner at Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post a review and we are grateful for the very good overall comments.
You have given an excellent room tip as we also are very pleased with the upgrade and refurbishment in Room 1. We also completed a full refurbishment of 4 rooms in the Riverside lodge as well as the redecoration of the bedroom corridors, earlier this year. Guests should ask for these rooms if available.
Gordon Innes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

I stayed for three nights at the Tontine , and was very impressed with the friendliness of all the staff I met.
The food was excellent throughout ... the breakfasts amazingly good, and so tasty..
Although the hotel is old , and in need of refurbishment in certain areas - my room was warm , comfortable and well equipped.

I will certainly stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David271056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gordon I, Owner at Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your comments via your post and following your recent visit to the hotel. Particularly grateful to read your notes regarding staff and quality of food.
You make some good constructive comments about the age of the building, 208 years in fact. We are attacking upgrade and refurbishment, currently in the original house and the ladies restrooms. Bedrooms 1 & 2 recently completed but we still admittedly have much to continue with into 2013 and we will as time and finances permit. We are committed to investing in the fabric of the whole building. Be sure to ask for a refurbished room next visit!
Kate & Gordon Innes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Wonderful place with tons of history, very nice staff and great atmosphere. The lounge was always busy, and looks as if this is the sitting room of all Peebles. Very nice! We had a lovely bedroom with excellent bed, nice bathroom, good telly, nice toiletries and the in-room wifi just worked with no glitch at all. The food was a little disappointing; it was good but we had expected a little more style, seeing the beautiful surroundings. Service was a little on the slow side, also at breakfast. We had one lunch there, but my sandwich tasted a bit stale.
Nonetheless, everything else was great so this hotel is heartily recommended.
We could park in front of the hotel, and during the Highland Games we had a great photo opportunity from our window when the bands paraded through "our" street.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SalmonEllen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gordon I, Owner at Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. Very pleased to note the very positive comments regarding our bedroom facilities and our busy lounge service. Our food is aimed at a very wide market, popular dishes in the main but we take on board your comments about a little more style. This past week we served some specials including Scallops and Rack of Lamb, well received and regular guests often ask for special menu items in advance e.g. Grouse & Lobster served twice recently. We will publicise this fact and I do hope you will visit again to sample?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Just spent three very enjoyable nights at the Tontine on a fishing trip to the Upper Tweed. The hotel is a historic building set back from Peeble's attractive high street which made it an excellent location. One of our party had a room overlooking the river to the rear and the others at the fornt of the hotel. Its a family run establishment with enthusiastic and attentive staff - the restaurant manager had noticed where we liked sitting in the lounge by night 3 and put a reserved sign on the table! The proprietor, Kate, was full of helpful info - always a good sign that a hotel has confidence to recommend other local restaurants.Very enjoyable meal in the hotel's restaurant - venison and ribeye steak perfectly cooked. Good wine list and Broughton Ale's Clipper on draft. The hotel was busy but well managed by a cheerful group. Clearly a popular dining choice locally. Highly reommended.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deepdale2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gordon I, Owner at Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

We all so much appreciate you posting such a fantastic review, following your recent visit to the hotel and special thanks for your "mentions" of the people who looked after you so well. So delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us!
Kate & Gordon Innes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews