We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but could be much better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Peebles
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 25, 2012

The positives: a charming heritage property and very attentive staff. Nice bathroom and adequate room.

The negatives: several areas of the hotel are badly in need of a facelift: the stairs and corridors. They need a paint job and new carpeting. Some of the furniture is scuffed and in need of either repair or replacement.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarlChristoffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gordon I, Owner at Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review. Grateful for your positive comments regarding our team and bathroom facilities. We would like to follow up on your review of bedroom score and would be grateful if you could e mail the hotel to confirm your surname and date of stay as we cannot find the details / names as filed on trip advisor (KarlChristoffer) within our reservations records.
You make some constructive comments regarding worn carpets and furniture in need of refurbishment. However, we are targeting these issues. We have recently taken delivery of 2 new Lounge Sofas and 2 x new be spoke “chaise longue”. We have a “rolling programme” which sees other chairs within our lounges, re-upholstered and re-covered. Perhaps guests are unaware that 80 new dining room chairs were purchased last September. Also last Autumn we repainted and re-hung all bedroom doors in the riverside lodge and also re-decorated all bedroom corridor areas and stairwells leading to the rear car park. Currently we are refurbishing bedroom No. 2 in the original house before starting works to the ladies restrooms, completed in time for the busy Festive period.
But yes, we still have a lot to do and we will continue to prioritise refurbishment and investment in the property. The original house is now 204 years old and requires constant up-grade and maintenance
and I do hope you are now aware of the continuous improvements being made at “The Tontine”, Peebles.
Although your average score overall was disappointing for us to review, we thank you for your constructive feedback and comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (968)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

774 - 780 of 968 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2012

On a recent visit to the Boarders we stayed in the Tontine Hotel. Generally a average hotel with some good points, and staff being friendly and bedroom quite reasonable. However, the restaurant seemed to suffer - the full breakfast menu never seemed to get served completly and staff did not seem to get things going well. The one evening meal in the restaurant for what we hoped would be a special meal turned out to be a bit of a disaster - no choice for us as vegetarians. We had to have fish courses being Cullen Skink first which was OK, we chose to have a second starter, salmon, for the main with sides of baby new potatoes and fresh vegetables. The waitress forgot to order the sides then bought a dish with a very few large potatoes and mediterranean roasted vegetables with no serving utensils, the Posset sweet was more jelly than posset.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gordon I, Owner at Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

We were disappointed to learn of your “average” scoring, although grateful for your constructive feedback. Our food and service has to date scored well and received good critical feedback, but accept you were not happy with menu choice and indeed no excuse for forgetting side orders, so apologies for this. “Vegetarian” the very word causes much discussion. We list 2 “Vegetarian” main dishes. Our Soup of the day is always made with Vegetable stock. These dishes should stand on their own for carnivores, herbivores, omnivores and of course vegetarians. With a small menu, cooked in house, the choice is, I admit, not enormous but it is hopefully about quality.We are reviewing our Vegetarian offer as we go about changing our menu and introducing our Autumn offering. We will also endeavour to ask and speak to guests who request a wider vegetarian choice. We thank you for your constructive review and comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Pleasant enough hotel of its type, but the usual poor room for the single traveller, though there was a decent enough bathroom here for a change. One has to wonder if any of the owners or their staff have ever actually stayed a night in the room I was in to see if it was conveniently set up. Probably not. The staff are lovely though - friendly and happy to help - and the food was excellent. The major problem was parking - dire, dire, dire!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nanboyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gordon I, Owner at Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. Very pleased to note the very positive comments regarding our staff and your comments regarding excellent food. Thank you.
We were disappointed to learn that you did not enjoy your single bedroom. As owners we do spend a lot of time visiting bedrooms and doing numerous housekeeping checks. Indeed I have stayed and slept in all our bedrooms and although I may be a little biased, I have always enjoyed a good nights’ sleep. We are rated as a three star hotel, “mid market” but we do like to think that we “punch above our weight” when measured against facilities and service. We have 36 rooms in total, 5 of which are “single bedded rooms”. Although the rooms are slightly smaller in size, the bathrooms are well appointed and all have bath & over head shower units. Above all our single rooms are always attractively priced for the single traveller. Your stay over a weekend in September saw us offering rates at £60.00 b&b basis, we feel this offers good value. Guests are often given the option of a double room for single occupancy and the single room accommodation allows us to offer good value rates without the need to charge a “single supplement”.
We were sorry to learn of your problems with parking. At weekends the car park does get busy and full, but we can always respond to customer requests regarding additional parking facilities nearby or on streets immediately adjacent to the property, which are all free. Indeed just this past weekend, a guest made comment of the shortage of car parking and we were able to quickly direct him to the areas between the original building and the riverside lodge which are not immediately obvious as possible parking spaces.
Although your average score overall was disappointing we thank you for your constructive review and comments and are very appreciative of your feedback.
Kate & Gordon Innes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We didnt stay here but we had a lovely meal in the dinning room, we both had cullen skink, I had breaded haddock my wife had steak pie, we both thoroughly enjoyed it, with a couple of pints and a couple of cokes, the bill was £40, excellent value and the service was good too

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimbo367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gordon I, Owner at Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

Thank you very much indeed for the positive feedback, following your recent visit to Peebles and “The Tontine”. Very grateful for your comments, regarding food quality, service and value for money and indeed your overall enjoyment of your meal experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

It was our second time at the Tontine Hotel.The room,the food,the beer and the service were all excellent.The staff were very pleasant and always willing to help.Thoroughly enjoyed our four night stay and we will be returning probably next year.

Room Tip: We've stayed in two rooms.One over looking the rear car park with a lovely view of the river and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gordon I, Owner at Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

Thank you very much indeed for the very positive feedback following your recent stay. Great room tip also regarding rooms to the “rear” of the hotel, all enjoy great appointment, are quiet and off course you can’t beat the view of the River Tweed!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Stopped for 3 nights on a golfing trip, this is the second time this year. Food and accomodation excellant as usual staff first class. Sarah the golf co-ordinator did an excellant job with all our bookings and tee times. Will return.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BB2_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gordon I, Owner at Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post a review and we are grateful for the positive feedback. Sarah as always gets great feedback about her golf break planning and already she is organising bookings for 2013
Gordon Innes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

This hotel on the borders is situated in an ideal position to visit Edinburgh and the countryside surrounding this area. The rooms are clean and comfortable, the food is excellent and varied and the staff were very pleasant and nothing was too much trouble. Peebles is a quiet, but friendly place and we would certainly visit the area again.

Room Tip: As this is a historic hotel, the rooms are located on various levels. There is no lift available, s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gordon I, Owner at Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your comments via your post and following your visit to the hotel in August. Particularly grateful to read your notes regarding staff and quality of food.
You make some good constructive comments about rooms and accessibility. Bedroom Nos 30 – 39 located in the Riverside lodge are the most accessible via 14 stairs only.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Peebles
0.5 mi away
Peebles Hydro
Peebles Hydro
#7 of 8 in Peebles
2,098 reviews
2.8 mi away
Cringletie House
Cringletie House
#2 of 8 in Peebles
783 reviews
4.4 mi away
Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Park
The Park
#5 of 8 in Peebles
455 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cross Keys Hotel
Cross Keys Hotel
#6 of 8 in Peebles
235 reviews
0.5 mi away
Castle Venlaw Hotel
Castle Venlaw Hotel
#3 of 8 in Peebles
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders

Address: High Street, Peebles EH45 8AJ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Borders > Peebles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Peebles
Price Range: $78 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Peebles, we are a family run hotel totally geared up to providing you with a wonderful break. Known for our excellent service and food, we have 36 en-suite bedrooms, secure storage, drying room, FREE WiFi and private parking for our guests. So if you want to escape for some well earned rest and relaxation, or to enjoy some quality time with friends and family, the Tontine is the perfect place to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Evoline ltd and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders Scotland
Peebles Tontine Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing