We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The central location and front building are very nice; the rooms need a little more attention.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Peebles
Certificate of Excellence
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
197 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“The central location and front building are very nice; the rooms need a little more attention.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

We liked the easy access to the River Tweed just out the back of the hotel and its central location in town. The breakfasts were very nice. We also went for dinner but found the servers a little on the young side: lots of chatting and a lower level of professionalism than I've seen in similarly priced establishments.

As for the room, the shower pressure was good and we found the towel warmer helpful in drying my running gear. Also the wi-fi is included and the speed was good. I believe all the guest rooms are in a back annex building and the restaurant and bar take up the front building. The annex is nothing to look at and it has views to match. We were in the lowest floor and the room was half sunk into the hillside so windows opened directly onto the drive to the parking lot and so the room we stayed in was on the dark side. There may be better views from the second floor.

The staff was polite, helpful, and professional, so what brought my evaluation from "very good" to "average" was the inconsistent housekeeping. The room was dusty, there were several stains on the many textiles in the room (walls, curtain, and bedspread), and the small amenities were often left unattended (e.g. the coffee press was not cleaned and tissues/toilet paper were not replaced).There is also a potential mold issue as I began sneezing every time I returned to the room. To the hotel's credit, we filled in a questionnaire upon checkout and received an email that evening addressing our concerns. This shows the hotel is attentive to customer opinion and I believe the housekeeping situation will be addressed.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Whats4dessert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gordon I, Owner at Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. Very pleased to note the very positive comments regarding shower pressure, towel warmer and free wifi connection.
We were disappointed to learn of your “average” scoring, although grateful for your constructive feedback and indeed we have been focusing on our housekeeping and cleanliness, attention to detail in replenishing tea/coffee etc. On investigation we think the stain on the bedspread looks like coffee spillage and resolved with a rapid dry cleaning process. We should have observed this during our housekeeping checks!
We agree that our “Riverside Lodge” or “Annexe” wins no prizes for its architectural significance (it was built in the early 70’s adding 20 bedrooms to the Original hotel building which was completed in 1808 204 years of age). While your room (our records show you stayed in room 48) enjoys no significant view along with 9 other rooms 10 rooms do enjoy views over Tweed Green and the River and we do offer prices which reflect such appointment.
However I do accept that the rooms with no view although sold at discounted rates can be disappointing. I must report however that all of the bedrooms in the “Lodge” rooms 40/42/44/48 have all recently been refurbished to what we believe are a very good standard for a three star, mid market, town centre hotel and I hope offer good value for money.
I would also record that I believe your sneezing would be due not to mould but indeed the new carpet and fabrics, paint and wall coverings, as this bedroom has only just been redecorated and refurbished.
I will keep an eye on room ventilation and possible condensation?
Thank you again for such constructive feedback for which we are always grateful to receive as it does allow constant review and improvement.
Gordon Innes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

879 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    534
    273
    44
    20
    8
See reviews for
126
428
46
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

The Tontine is a lovely independently run Hotel it has the most charming Georgian Dining Room with beatiful views, The staff are helpful and friendly the food is v good , Peebles is an interesting place to stay if you want a weekend away choose here

Malcolm Oxborrow

Room Tip: river view rooms are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maloxborrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gordon I, Owner at Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders, responded to this review, August 5, 2012
Thank you so much for posting such a fantastic review, following your recent stay at the hotel. We are pleased to note your enjoyment of our Adam Room Restaurant, food & service and that you so enjoyed your weekend trip to Peebles & “The Tontine”.
Thank-you!
Gordon Innes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

Stopped for one night in July, and the Hotel is as stated by most on the site, an old Hotel but with character, stayed in the annexe at the back and the rooms could have done with a cosmetic makeover as just a bit tired, although the rooms were very tidy. The evening meal in the Adams room was far better than how written up on the menu. The service was nothing short of excellen for both evening meal and breakfast, all the staff were great and a credit to the Hotel. If you want to stop in a new box hotel then dont stop here. if you want good personal service then give it a try. i will go again

Room Tip: Annex rooms ok but tired, no noise at all. front rooms may be better but may get some noise from str...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BillyWhizz0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gordon I, Owner at Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders, responded to this review, August 5, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to write your comments via your post and following your recent stay at the hotel. Very thankful to note the very positive comments regarding dinner and service in our Adam Room Restaurant.
The main house is 200 years old and the “Lodge” was built in the early 70’s. Maintenance and up-grade is “on-going” and we are investing in the property as time and monies permit. Our vision is to keep improving the hotel through a programme of maintenance and up-grade, continuous improvement. We do embark upon a full refurbishment of a bedroom, for as the age of the building suggests, major work is needed to ensure facilities are brought up to modern needs. If you do visit the hotel again, please ask for a recently completed room.
Gordon Innes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

Stayed overnight as a business trip but I would certainly go back to visit the area.The staff are friendly and helpful ,my room was large ,clean and comfortable.The Hotel has a nice setting overlooking the river from the back rooms and faces onto the High Street,quite and yet well situated.My evening meal was really good and very reasonably priced and breakfast was lovely.The owners are also attentive.Would I stay again?Certainly when next in the area.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scoobyAngus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gordon I, Owner at Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders, responded to this review, August 5, 2012
We are grateful and thank you for taking the time to post a review. Very glad to read that you enjoyed an excellent stay, the food & service in particular. Thanks for your constructive comments regarding our “Lodge Rooms”. As you are aware, some have beautiful views over the River Tweed.
Thank you so much for your review and recommendation.
Gordon Innes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesham
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for a couple of days with my brother in order to attend family birthday. I have stayed here before and usually have a small, very basic room. But this time my room was comfortable and spacious with a view of the Tweed. It was very good value for money and included a substantial breakfast. Public areas are also good and the staff very attentive. Much improved on previous visits. Will stay again I am sure.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amersham2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gordon I, Owner at Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders, responded to this review, August 5, 2012
Thank you so much for posting such a fantastic review, following your recent stay at the hotel. We are pleased to note your enjoyment of our new rooms recently refurbished and off course pleased you enjoyed the view from our “Riverside Lodge rooms”
Thank-you!
Gordon Innes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

Have been to this hotel three times and love it. Each time we have been it has been for a few days to play golf. The hotel staff are fantastic and the golf was organised by the hotel. On our last visit we were unable to play as the courses around Peebles were closed, due to the heavy rain, but the golf coordinator kept us informed and helped us to plan our days doing other things. A day trip to Edinburgh was one outing on the local bus - stop just 5minutes from the hotel. All the staff are very helpful especially front desk, dining room staff and golf coordinator. The food is excellent.
Hotel is situated on Peebles High Street and with easy access to shops and a walk along the river (which you might need in the evening to walk off the evening meal)

Room Tip: rooms over looking the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happy638
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gordon I, Owner at Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders, responded to this review, August 5, 2012
Delighted to read your review and learn that you so enjoyed your golf trip & stay @ “The Tontine” and thank you very much indeed for the very positive feedback. Sarah does do a great job with all golf breaks and their co-ordination and can quickly adapt to cirumstances as they arise! Thank you again!
Kate & Gordon Innes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

I should have written this 10 months ago. Better late than never. What a great weekend. Our annual reunion tripped up in Peebles for the weekend. Old boys from Morpeth. Great hospitality, great food, great breakfast. Laughed a lot and had a fab weekend. Would love to go back one day. Great memory. Sorry I did not review earlier.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gordon I, Owner at Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders, responded to this review, August 5, 2012
Delighted to learn and read your excellent review, yes it was late but very grateful you have taken the time to post on "trip advisor".
Kate & Gordon Innes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Peebles
0.5 mi away
Peebles Hydro
Peebles Hydro
#7 of 8 in Peebles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,840 reviews
2.8 mi away
Cringletie House
Cringletie House
#2 of 8 in Peebles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Park
The Park
#6 of 8 in Peebles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel
0.1 mi away
Cross Keys Hotel
Cross Keys Hotel
#4 of 8 in Peebles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
0.5 mi away
Castle Venlaw Hotel
Castle Venlaw Hotel
#5 of 8 in Peebles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders

Property: Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders
Address: High Street, Peebles EH45 8AJ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Borders > Peebles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Peebles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Peebles, we are a family run hotel totally geared up to providing you with a wonderful break. Known for our excellent service and food, we have 36 en-suite bedrooms, secure storage, drying room, FREE WiFi and private parking for our guests. So if you want to escape for some well earned rest and relaxation, or to enjoy some quality time with friends and family, the Tontine is the perfect place to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders Scotland
Peebles Tontine Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing