We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Golf Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Peebles
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 8, 2012

Stopped here three nights 3rd May - 6th with a party of eight, the food was excellant and the rooms were very good. Anything you needed was taken care of and the staff were very helpfull indeed, I must mention Sarah the golf co-ordinator who organised our trip to perfection. Looking forward to the next one cannot wait.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BB2_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gordon I, Owner at Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review. May is thankfully turning out to be a very busy “golf month” and we are delighted to learn of the success of your trip. Sarah has been extremely busy this month organising a number of golf breaks and we will be sure to pass on your thanks!
We do look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to Peebles and the area.
Gordon Innes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (974)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

815 - 821 of 974 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2012

Stayed at the hotel 4th and 5th may2012.Rooms comfortable and clean, good location.Food well presented and of a high standard, Service and attention from all members of staff excellent. very much making our stay at this hotel very enjoyable. Nothing seemed too much trouble everything with a smile. We spent a happy stay there and would recommend this hotel to our friends golfraymond

Room Tip: room overlooking the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank golfraymond22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gordon I, Owner at Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2012

Thank you very much for posting a review and we are most grateful for the positive nature of your feedback. We share all feedback with our team and especially delighted to learn that the service of the staff members made such a favourable impression and enhanced your stay. So glad you enjoyed your visit to Peebles and "The Tontine".

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2012

My wife and I stayed on the 28th.April .We parked our car in the back car park and accessed the hotel through the back stairs.This entrance does not give a good impression of the hotel as it seems to have been used as a store for various pieces of furniture.
This was the only fault that we had.The bedroom was very good and all the meals that we had were excellent.The staff were very helpful and did all they could to make our stay enjoyable.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barmy69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gordon I, Owner at Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2012

We are grateful to you for taking the time to write a review and for the constructive nature of your comments surrounding the “rear entrance" to the hotel. The furniture is awaiting collection and is due to depart site for re-upholstery, but agree it should be stored “out of sight”. We also have plans to re-paint the stairwell and entrance doorway to match the recent re-decoration of the nearby bedroom corridors. Thank you for your kind comments regarding service during your stay, always much appreciated when passed on to "the team".
I do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Peebles and “The Tontine”.
Gordon Innes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2012

I booked this hotel having stayed before and recomeded the hotel for a golf break to friends of mine and all agreed that we will be booking again next year . all rooms where fine and of good standard. breakfast and evening meal were excellent. this was the second time we have stayed here it just gets better, great loction and excellent service from all staff. i would like to thank sarah for all our arrangments and booking golf courses, your a star. many thanks

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TOM M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gordon I, Owner at Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2012

Thank you very much for your review. Delighted to welcome your party back for a second time, delighted also to read of your satisfaction with your stay. Sarah has become our very own "golf champion" taking full control of golf bookings and tee times and has built up a great rapport with many golf groups who return year after year to play Scottish Borders golf courses and take advantage of the "Freedom of the Fairways" golf ticket and pass.
We do hope you will visit the area and "The Tontine" again.
Gordon Innes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Great location, very comfortable room and bathroom. Dinner was excellent and a good breakfast and all for an acceptable price. The staff at Reception, in the Bar and Restaurant had a pleasant mix of professionalism and joviality that made the three nights stay excellent.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gordon I, Owner at Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2012

Thanks for taking the time to post such an excellent review. We will share your positive feedback with all staff involved during your stay. I do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Peebles and “The Tontine”.

Gordon Innes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2012

In the main street in a good position. Nice comfortable bar and lounge area. Very good breakfast and accompanying service.

We had room 5. A little dated. Decent size. Two lamps didn't work. No loo roll. The shower was awful: very difficult to regulate the temperature - either freezing or scalding. Poor pressure. My wife ended up washing her hair under the taps. Unacceptable for £80. Reception said "we will tell maintenance". Not surprise they wanted payment upfront. Very disappointing.

Room Tip: I would be loathe to stay again. View the room and check the shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BJM0001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gordon I, Owner at Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We were grateful for your feedback regarding the shower and water pressure / temperature. On immediate investigation our Maintenance Engineer found a fault with the shower pump which has now been repaired. Apologies for this and especially to your wife for the inconvenience caused with being unable to wash her hair. We found no fault with the lamps and electrics and perhaps all switches were not on at the wall socket and lamp also (perhaps tricky to operate). We were pleased to note your comments regarding lounge, bar, breakfast and service and with the guarantee of a good shower next time, hope you will visit Peebles and “The Tontine” again?
Thank you, Gordon Innes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2012

We were made to feel very welcome and there was a noticeable ethos of nothing was too much trouble. We were made to feel very welcome as was our friend who joined us at the hotel for the day and for evening meals as a non resident. The food was lovely and extremely good value as was the tea and coffee served to us in the lounge where we were made to feel very comfortable. Everywhere was spotlessly clean and the beds extremely comfortable. We would certainly have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 2jagsdudu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gordon I, Owner at Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We were all delighted (Owners & Staff) to read your positive feedback. We very much try “to go the extra mile” for guests and we are rightly proud of our staff and employee’s throughout all areas of the hotel.
Thank you again for your review.
Gordon Innes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Peebles
0.5 mi away
Peebles Hydro
Peebles Hydro
#7 of 8 in Peebles
2,112 reviews
2.8 mi away
Cringletie House
Cringletie House
#2 of 8 in Peebles
786 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Park
The Park
#5 of 8 in Peebles
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel
0.1 mi away
Cross Keys Hotel
Cross Keys Hotel
#6 of 8 in Peebles
235 reviews
0.5 mi away
Castle Venlaw Hotel
Castle Venlaw Hotel
#3 of 8 in Peebles
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders

Address: High Street, Peebles EH45 8AJ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Borders > Peebles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Peebles
Price Range: $86 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Peebles, we are a family run hotel totally geared up to providing you with a wonderful break. Known for our excellent service and food, we have 36 en-suite bedrooms, secure storage, drying room, FREE WiFi and private parking for our guests. So if you want to escape for some well earned rest and relaxation, or to enjoy some quality time with friends and family, the Tontine is the perfect place to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders Scotland
Peebles Tontine Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing