We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Believe it or not”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Castle Venlaw Hotel
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Peebles
Certificate of Excellence
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
83 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Believe it or not”
Reviewed May 8, 2014

I booked this hotel, inspite of few comments regarding the food, because I rather liked the thought of a castle and if all else failed we could have always eaten out. Needless to say we didn't, instead we were given a window seat overlooking Peebles.

I enjoyed the Vension, my wife the Fish Pie, then we both had home made Eton Mess and Cheese and Biscuits. Oh yes, and the bottle of wine. Breakfast was a full Scottish breakfast and if you wanted more all you had to do was to ask. So food-wise, pretty good.

The whole hotel is just full of character. A word of warning here, if you are a corporate, which "Thank God" we are not, find somewhere else - in the 18 Century they didn't do corporate!

Our room was cosy with a bed that you just sank into, almost impossible not to put you in a romantic mood and we both slept like tots.

Admittedly the floors aren't perfectly flat, but that just adds to the character of this hotel.

So if you want a wonderfully romantic cosy overnight stay, then try Venlaw Castle.

Additionally, bring some walking boots, you can walk for miles from the hotel and my suggestion would be turn left, walking up the hill to start with, which makes the return much easier.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeorgeNorthYorkhire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    85
    33
    16
    13
See reviews for
29
237
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North East England
Level Contributor
81 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2014

A lovely stay n a special hotel overlooking Peebles. A little bit of 18th century history in today's hectic climate is a real boon. The hotel is set close enough to Peebles for access but distant enough for peace and quiet. Not far from many places, including Edinburgh. The decor is so olde worldly and the rooms likewise but with wonderful modern facilities. The management and staff make this a relaxing and happy place to stay so wether you are en route or staying a while the Castle Venlaw is a good choice.

Room Tip: Go for the best quality you can afford for an even more incredible time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnhaywoodandsandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maldon
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014

We stayed here for a couple of nights recently and the staff were very friendly and welcoming. The public rooms are very comfortable and inviting. Lovely to have breakfast in a room overlooking the town. The food was excellent - compliments to the chef. We had a delicious dinner in the restaurant. However we felt our room, although fairly spacious and with a comfy bed, was in need of some TLC, especially the bathroom which was too cramped and in need of modernisation.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daisymaisy_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2014

Had a lovley overnight stay at Castle Venlaw after a days mountain biking recently at Glentress and as a result have booked again. Hotel is beautiful! We were in the superior room which was huge with views overlooking Peebles. Had delicious dinner in the restaurant and breakfast was also excellent. Staff very friendly also, Really looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014

This was our 2nd visit to the Castle Venlaw Hotel. We received a fantastic welcome on arrival. The rooms are all named after whiskies and we stayed in the Glenturret room this time around. The room had a huge 4 poster bed, a large corner sofa and tv, a separate shower room and separate bathroom. Complimentary toiletries and bath robes provided. We had a delicious meal in the restaurant that evening and then we sat by the open fire having coffee and baileys while it was snowing outside- lovely! In the evening we took a complimentary dvd from the selection available, a bottle of wine and box of chocolates and we snuggled up on the sofa watching a movie. The snow fell outside making it all very romantic. The breakfast the following morning was lovely. All the usual options available and all fresh and hot. I couldn't fault this hotel and we will deifnitely return.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Footiewidow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014

This place is a real gem and we felt privileged to have spent time here.

As a couple, my girlfriend and I spotted the sign for the Castle on the way down to Peebles from Edinburgh. We had a long walk in the area before returning back up and decided to stop of for a drink and a nosey at the castle. After parking up we made our way inside. Immediately after opening the rustic door we felt that we had arrived at somewhere special. It is the quintessential grand Scottish home from centuries ago. It would seem that it has been refurbished recently and it has been done in a very tasteful way, which is in keeping with a small hotel of this style.

After walking along a short corridor past the reception we entered the bar – which was so welcoming after the walking we had done. We freshened up and had a couple of drinks and asked to see the dinner menu. As it was so enticing, we decided to stay. Before long we were ushered into a truly magical candle lit dining room. The food was excellent. It ranged from home made burgers to venison, with something to suit everyone. I had the venison which was cooked to perfection and washed it down with a hearty glass of Merlot. We wanted the whole experience to last, so I ordered the Venlaw Eton Mess – simply divine! We then decided to have another wee drink back at the bar and found a snug area situated in the turret and had a game of cards (I lost 5-4, but my girlfriend was on soft drinks to drive us back home and I had a couple of ports so that may have given her the advantage...).

All the staff could not have worked harder to be more professional, attentive or helpful.

We very much look forward to getting the change to stay here and repeating the experience. As I have taken up Fly-fishing, in any spare time, we might have the perfect excuse to be back soon.

PS. I have just read the other reviews on this site and certainly none of them would put us off from going back.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Montedawnster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Spent night there romantic break for my husband and I.. was cosy enough, food was a real let down!! sent mine back was cold... dissappointed with menu, have had better pub grub..wouldnt go back have been in much better and cheaper, staff were nice and very chatty but cold room was the final straw.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phyllis s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Peebles
0.6 mi away
Peebles Hydro
Peebles Hydro
#7 of 8 in Peebles
1,920 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders
2.3 mi away
Cringletie House
Cringletie House
#2 of 8 in Peebles
740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Park
The Park
#6 of 8 in Peebles
413 reviews
3.9 mi away
Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel
0.4 mi away
Cross Keys Hotel
Cross Keys Hotel
#5 of 8 in Peebles
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Venlaw Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Venlaw Hotel

Property: Castle Venlaw Hotel
Address: Edinburgh Road, Peebles EH45 8QG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Borders > Peebles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Peebles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle Venlaw Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling in 4 acres of beautiful woodland grounds overlooking the Royal and Ancient town of Peebles, Castle Venlaw hotel continues the country house tradition, bringing a perfect combination of relaxed informality and the elegance of another age. The hotel comprises of 12 guest bedrooms including four rooms with four poster beds. All rooms have full en-suite facilities. Enjoy a special meal made with fresh local produce in our two AA rosette restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Castle Venlaw Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Venlaw Peebles
Hotel Castle Venlaw
Castle Venlaw Hotel Peebles, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing