We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch @ restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Castle Venlaw Hotel
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Peebles
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lunch @ restaurant”
Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

Went there on Monday 01/04/2013 for a birthday lunch of my friend, we all hungry eaters (5 of us) ordered steak, they stated 21-days aged steaks on menu, my wife ordered half-chicken and my sons had a hotdog. The steaks were all wrong, my medium-rare tasted like overlooked rubbish, it feels like it was defrosted in microwave. None of the steak were cooked to what we've ordered, medium-rare were over cooked, medium-well were almost rear! The chicken was completely overcooked. The sausage from the hot dog were so bad that my sons didn't eat...
It was a complete disaster... Sorry to say but I don't think I will ever go there again unless you are only going to order chips or onion rings, those were the only good things!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Jaxomnia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    85
    33
    16
    13
See reviews for
29
237
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

Having been let down at the last minute by another venue cancelling our group new year celebration we did not expect to find anywhere with only three weeks to go that would accommodate us. A chance find on the web introduced us to the Venlaw. What a find. Full of character, really friendly staff, lovely atmosphere with a really quriky but totally authentic accommodation. Lovely ecentric plumbing but great rooms, especially in the "towers". Thoroughly recommend it and if you really want state of the art plumbing go to a Holiday Inn but miss out on a gem.

PS The New Year's Eve celebration dinner was brilliant and the food first class

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank asl1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baldersby, Thirsk United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2012

I have stayed here on business many times last year. My wife was very keen to see Pebbles. We stayed at The Castle Venlaw on the 8th December. I have not stayed at the hotel since April this year and it is getting better and better. Our room was fantastic. It wasn`t one I had stayed in before. Our welcome could not have been warmer. Dinner was great and the staff are second to none. We will be back early next year. The best kept secret in the Borders.

Room Tip: Ask for the Glenturret room if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
159 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Six of us went on a 5pm deal and used the hotel as a base for a walk on the Saturday and another walk on the Sunday after we booked out. The staff were all very helpful, particularly in the cosy bar area with the log fire which was just perfect for a cold December day. The dinner was fine without being great but there was no issues with the food, breakfast was also good with the exception of the over cooked black pudding which disappointed us all, the rest of it was very good.
The shower in our room number 8 was having problems with the pump but other than that the 4 poster bed was very comfortable and the views were lovely. Fix the shower and cook the black pudding a bit less and it would be top marks for this lovely Castle

Room Tip: The 4 poster bed was worth asking for but the three rooms we saw were all done to a very high standa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tikkitie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

Honestly can't say enough about how great our weekend has been. We stayed 2 nights DB&B on a 5pm big deal - probably one of the best deals I've bought and will definitely be returning. We had upgraded for the four poster and really glad we did, made the experience perfect. Dinner both nights was delicious and staff are excellent, friendly and attentive. Walked into Peebles during the day, takes 20 minutes and its a nice walk. Views from room were beautiful and our bathroom had fairy lights in ceiling, was amazing! Fantastic place, can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
232 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Booked through 5PM Great Deals DBB. Hotel set well back from the road up the hill with a view over Peebles. We received a friendly greeting when we arrived \and were shown up to our room along with the fire alarm instructions. we stayed in a classic room which had all the facilities we required including a DVD player (discs in the library available) unfortunately weather not good enough to explore grounds but town only 20 minute walk away. Great bar area in the library (which is in the turret) with a log fire and plenty of games available for use, really nice to sit in front of the fire with a drink/game when poor weather outside. Sufficient choice on dinner menu and very well prepared and tasty, good full breakfast as well. Have to say all staff were very friendly and helpful. Hope to be back sometime.

Room Tip: All rooms have countryside views although I believe the deluxe rooms may have dual aspect
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ianlivi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airdrie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Hotel is reached by a bumpy, uphill, one track road, just on the outskirts of Peebles. Emma, on reception was extremely welcoming, showed us to our room (2 floors up-no lift)-on our descent she had googled opening times, etc for Traquair House,nearby-wonderful!.Room was quite dark (low energy bulbs?) but afforded a lovely heightened view over Peebles, through the trees.Unfortunately, a niggling back problem meant I could not make it down to the dining room-no problem for the redoubtable Emma, who fair dashed up and down those 2 flights of stairs to make sure that we were duly fed and watered. And there she was again at breakfast (she stayed in the hotel overnight) to present breakfast. I cannot comment on the bar or the dining room, but the food was very good-and-Emma? what can I say?! ps. the toiletries are wonderful too!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindahazlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Peebles
0.6 mi away
Peebles Hydro
Peebles Hydro
#7 of 8 in Peebles
1,919 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders
2.3 mi away
Cringletie House
Cringletie House
#2 of 8 in Peebles
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Park
The Park
#6 of 8 in Peebles
412 reviews
3.9 mi away
Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel
0.4 mi away
Cross Keys Hotel
Cross Keys Hotel
#5 of 8 in Peebles
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Venlaw Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Venlaw Hotel

Property: Castle Venlaw Hotel
Address: Edinburgh Road, Peebles EH45 8QG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Borders > Peebles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Peebles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle Venlaw Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling in 4 acres of beautiful woodland grounds overlooking the Royal and Ancient town of Peebles, Castle Venlaw hotel continues the country house tradition, bringing a perfect combination of relaxed informality and the elegance of another age. The hotel comprises of 12 guest bedrooms including four rooms with four poster beds. All rooms have full en-suite facilities. Enjoy a special meal made with fresh local produce in our two AA rosette restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Castle Venlaw Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Venlaw Peebles
Hotel Castle Venlaw
Castle Venlaw Hotel Peebles, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing