We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude waitress”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Castle Venlaw Hotel
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Peebles
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Rude waitress”
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Me and my wife spent two days here. We could not fault the room or food, the location was breathtaking. The only thing that let the hotel down was the waiting staff, one being non-efficient and rather rude. It is unfortunate that such a lovely hotel does not employ staff to match the standard of the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sophona e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    85
    33
    16
    13
See reviews for
29
237
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Kilbride
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Spent last weekend at this hotel after reading the reports on Trio Advisor. The reports seemed to cover all aspects of this location.The staff were attentive ,the hotel was clean and the food good. Some of the furnishings were a little dated but fit for purpose.This is an ideal situation if you want a relaxing break while not being too far from the central belt.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LMBEastKilbride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed September 12, 2012

My husband and I booked Castle Venlaw for the weekend for our wedding. The weekend was magical from start to finish. The setting is amazing, but what makes Castle Venlaw is Roy, Lorna and their staff (including our special little friend Mr Dookie). Nothing is ever too much trouble for Roy and Lorna and friendlier nicer people you will not meet. We have already booked to go back between Christmas and New Year and intend to make returning to Castle Venlaw a regular occurrence. The food is outstanding at all meal times with the bar lunches not only delicious, but reasonably priced. A good number of our friends took away the jams and marmalades. Everything is homemade including the Ladies wedding chocolate favours, Amazing! Memories that will last a lifetime. Tania and Derek.

Room Tip: We booked the whole hotel and all our guests were more than pleased with any of the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tania B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumbarton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Just back from a two night stay here. The hotel is lovely and the staff friendly and helpful. Our bedroom was so comfortable with everything you need.Best of all was the food which was so well presented we didnt know whether to eat it or take a photo, glad we ate it was absolutely delicious. Would highly recommend a visit here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oliviajj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Stopped here for three nights 7th to the 9th Sept as guests of our friends at there wedding. Lorna & Roy who run the hotel could not do enough for us. The food is to die for and the rooms are fabulous. All the staff were very attentive polite and very friendly. I would recommend this hotel to anybody. We Look forward to going back in the future.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StuartA186411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights. 17th - 20th Aug. The location provided complete peace, quiet and tranquility. Never having been to this part of Scotland. Wasn't sure what to expect. On arrival offers to help my pregnant wife with heavy suitcases was so much appreciated. Reception staff, cleaners, chefs could not have been friendlier. Breakfasts are cooked to order and are well worth the wait and set you up for the day. Have stayed and worked in hotels where breakfast is made way in advance of guests sitting down for breakfast. Yes the hotel needs some attention however, that's being dealt with by the owners. Staff coming in to cover for absent colleagues shows not only committment to each other but guests also. Location is great and the town centre isnt far. There isnt a lift but if your fit its not an issue. Cannot find anything negative about this hotel and will be going back as soon as our baby is born. Attention to detail is great as they remembered my wifes preference for ketchup at breakfast. A fantastic stay. Excellent memories. Excellent staff. Overlook the lifts. Think of the wider picture. A great place to unwind and relax.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Malecounsellor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motherwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Just back from the hotel and enjoyed an overnight stay, our room was old worldly and lovely, the bathroom was very modern with a proper large bath which my partner and I took advantage of during our stay.The hotel is full of character, the food was delicious and we were warmly welcomed. I would certainly recommend this hotel, a wee gem which should not be missed.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Peebles
0.6 mi away
Peebles Hydro
Peebles Hydro
#7 of 8 in Peebles
1,914 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders
2.3 mi away
Cringletie House
Cringletie House
#2 of 8 in Peebles
737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Park
The Park
#6 of 8 in Peebles
408 reviews
3.9 mi away
Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel
0.4 mi away
Cross Keys Hotel
Cross Keys Hotel
#4 of 8 in Peebles
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Venlaw Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Venlaw Hotel

Property: Castle Venlaw Hotel
Address: Edinburgh Road, Peebles EH45 8QG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Borders > Peebles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Peebles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle Venlaw Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling in 4 acres of beautiful woodland grounds overlooking the Royal and Ancient town of Peebles, Castle Venlaw hotel continues the country house tradition, bringing a perfect combination of relaxed informality and the elegance of another age. The hotel comprises of 12 guest bedrooms including four rooms with four poster beds. All rooms have full en-suite facilities. Enjoy a special meal made with fresh local produce in our two AA rosette restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Castle Venlaw Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Venlaw Peebles
Hotel Castle Venlaw
Castle Venlaw Hotel Peebles, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing