We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic relaxing lunch.”
Review of The Tontine Hotel

The Tontine Hotel
Ranked #9 of 43 Restaurants in Peebles
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $45
Cuisines: Bar, British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Kids, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Families with children, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic relaxing lunch.”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Just back from our annual 3 night break at Peebles hydro and visited the tontine for the second year running . We had 4 adults and 4 young children and a baby .Great service and food was very nice . Good varied kids menu as well. Perfect for a nice relaxing lunch and drink . Would like to try an evening meal here sometime . Price wise it is very reasonable .

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank C1any
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gordon I, Owner at The Tontine Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you very much for your review and positive comments. Delighted to learn that you were returning guests and I can only concur with your view that next time you should visit for Dinner.
We thank you for your constructive comments and indeed for your recommendation.
Kate & Gordon Innes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    113
    28
    15
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
41 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Nice Place- Shame About the Food!”
Reviewed November 28, 2012

I went for lunch with two friends and we all ordered the traditional roast beef platter. When it arrived, the meat and vegetables were cold. As we were being treated to lunch, we were too embarrassed to complain, although we did mention it to our waitress when she asked if everything was ok. She did offer to heat it up but the thought of them putting it into a microwave did not appeal to any of us. Another person came out of the kitchen to explain that the food sits under hot lights so should have been at the correct temperature. She seemed to doubt that there was a problem at all (even though a lady at the next table also complained about the cold food).

This should have been a lovely Sunday afternoon lunch. The dining room is beautiful and, with a bit of attention, the food (which was nothing special) should have been presented in a more attractive way and at the right temperature. It is a shame that they have missed the opportunity to serve up a memorable Sunday roast.

I won't be going back in a hurry and our host was most disappointed for recommending the Tontine Hotel in the first place.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ketzl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gordon I, Owner at The Tontine Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
We were all sorry to read your disappointing review regarding lunch on Sunday 25th November. I must apologise for serving cold food, no excuses. We understand your reluctance to complain at the time, but it does afford us the opportunity to re-heat or indeed re-serve the dish. Having spoken to all staff on duty, we will focus on your comments in the days ahead, having given everyone the opportunity to read your feedback. We are sorry we did not get it right this time and hope you will visit again for Sunday Lunch. We would love the chance to make amends!
Kate & Gordon Innes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Gone seriously down hill”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Had dinner in the small restraunt on Friday. Food was awful and over priced. I had better pasta when I was a student!! Staff were incompetent at best. Stay away. Far far better places to eat in Peebles.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyChappy3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gordon I, Owner at The Tontine Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
We have read your review and registered a "suspicious review response" with Trip Advisor, in the main because this is your first review on the site and your profile has not been fully completed.
However, if you were a genuine diner in our Bistro, Friday 09th November, we send you our apologies and ask that you contact us personally at the hotel, so we may address the issues you raise regarding food and service. We would appreciate that opportunity.
Kate & Gordon Innes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Day at the races”
Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

Stayed recently at the Tontine hotel in Peebles. The occasion was a visit to nearby races at Kelso. The hotel was virtually full but there was no problem with service. We had a very nice room overlooking the river . Our evening meal was delicious and was accompanied by a bottle of Spanish Albariño wine - fantastic.Although the restaurant was full the staff coped admirably.

Helpful?
Thank Martin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gordon I, Owner at The Tontine Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review. Its great to read that your visit to Peebles and Kelso races provided you with such an enjoyable time. Thank you for your positive comments about our staff who I know read all the reviews. I do hope you will visit us again.
Kate & Gordon Innes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peebles, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Family Reunion”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

We booked in for a meal and the staff were very helpful when we walked into the restaurant ,we all had different meals and everyone enjoyed them.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank james m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gordon I, Owner at The Tontine Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Thank you for your review. We were delighted to learn that such a lovely occasion proved so successful and so happy we could play our part in the family reunion.
Kate & Gordon Innes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Tontine Hotel also viewed

Peebles, Scottish Borders
 
Peebles, Scottish Borders
Peebles, Scottish Borders
 

Been to The Tontine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing