We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent course and clubhouse”
Review of Peebles Golf Club

Peebles Golf Club
Attraction details
Moffat, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent course and clubhouse”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We are a group of 20 golfers from Moffat Golf Club and played at Peebles Golf Club yesterday as our course was the venue for a ladies open event. Our organiser obtained an excellent package for us which included a round of golf and a 2 course meal afterwards. Considering it was a Sunday in July we had a 1.30 starting time and at no time did we feel we were intruding on a members medal day. Despite the atrocious weather the area has had recently, the course was in excellent condition, with casual water drops only occuring twice in our fourball all round.The greens were some of the trickiest I've ever played on. They were in beautiful condition, fairly quick with subtle borrows making them difficult to read. The overall course desigh is very good with no two holes being the same. Long and short par 3's and 4's and par 5's that are reachable in 2 for the big hitters. A true test of golf.
The clubhouse is modern and spacious with a large balcony overlooking the 1st hole. The catering staff worked tirelessly and the food was first class. The only down side was watching Andy Murray losing to Federer.
We normally have a few 'away days' during the year and this is a club we will definitely be visiting again.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Allanparky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    13
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Classic golf in Scotland”
Reviewed June 11, 2012

The course opened in 1872 and is short by modern standards. However this does not mean it is easy. Many holes are doglegs and a variety of clubs are needed from the tees. Thinking your way around the course is necessary to bring back a good score. The fairways are in good condition and the greens run true.

The design of the course is effectively two 9 hole courses. Both 9's start with uphill holes followed by downhill stretches to the clubhouse.

The clubhouse is modern and clean with good value food and drink. The golf shop has an adequate selection of golf gear and clothes.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank liamoliam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cdn in Scotland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Fine course, great value”
Reviewed October 19, 2011

A lovely course with great views over Peebles and the valley. Lots of change in elevation and holes with slight doglegs left or right. Greens in excellent condition. Modern clean, comfortable clubhouse. Very playable even after a huge deluge of rain the day before my visit that left farm fields dotted with big ponds.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank CanSco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very nice golf course”
Reviewed September 16, 2011

We loved playing on this course. It is a very nice 18 holes course. Very quiet, low greenfee. Very nice view over the golf course during lunch on terace at clubhouse. Practice area: do it yourself ball collection after use.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
Thank Daan636
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Peebles Golf Club also viewed

Peebles, Scottish Borders
Peebles, Scottish Borders
 
Peebles, Scottish Borders
 

Been to Peebles Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing