We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely homely place to stay”

Review of Ludgate House

Ludgate House in the sun
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Ludgate House in the sun
All you could need in a kitchen Plenty seating in the dining kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
Ludgate House in the sun
All you could need in a kitchen
Plenty seating in the dining kitchen
Cosy logburner and comfy sofas
Peebles award winning High Street
Quality furniture and luxurious bedding
Our second king sized room, with divan
A room for your little angels!
Batahroom with electric shower
Outdoor eating with BBQ
Sunny walled garden
View across the Tweed to the church
Cross Church, round the corner
Neidpath Castle beside the Tweed
Visit the four Abbeys - this is Melrose
Stunning local secenry
Traquair House is ten minutes away
Christmas at Ludgate House
Local scenery
Lyne Kirk
Churchyard at Romano Bridge
Floor Castle, a fabulous day out!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Peebles, Scottish Borders, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
mrswigz
Yateley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely homely place to stay”
Reviewed May 15, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Just got back from our second stay at Ludgate House and can't wait to go back. It's a lovely place to stay and Ali leaves lots of special treats including fresh flowers and nibbles which make it feel extra special.
There's everything you could need in the house including things like a washing machine and tumble dryer which helps when you have little ones.
The lovely spacious rooms are enjoyable places to be and there are lots of bits to entertain the kids as well as adults.
Ali must have also ordered the weather in specially as the only day we had full on Scottish weather was today, when we were leaving!
A lovely area and a lovely house!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 20, 2017
Thanking you kindly for such a brilliant review! It takes time and effort so we really appreciate you putting your thoughts down for others to see. Glad you enjoyed some great weather too - really makes the holiday perfect doesn't it. See you again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
babypops
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Return visit to Ludgate”
Reviewed April 25, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

This was our second visit to Ludgate House. Our last visit was over 4 years ago and this time we had our 3 year old daughter with us. Everything about Ludgate was just how we remembered, namely it really does feel like home from home.
With our 3 year old daughter along with us, the open plan layout of the kitchen diner worked really well. We also realised that Ludgate is very well geared up for children with lots of puzzles, games, DVDs and even children's plastic cutlery and plates.
In fact, although we have been visiting Peebles for 12 years we realised on this trip that Peebles is a fantastic place for kids, with 2 superb playgrounds walking distance from each other along the river.
Overall we had another fantastic stay at Ludgate and as usual Alison was great communicating with us before our stay to make sure everything went like clockwork.
Now that we have discovered just how great Peebles and Ludgate are for families I can see our stay at Ludgate becoming an annual event!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 26, 2017
Ah how lovely to hear Phil! I can't tell you how chuffed we are that you and your family found the peace and happiness at Peebles that so many visitors seem to find. It means such a lot to know that the house was just as you remembered and that you felt well provided for. See you again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Feb 3, 2017
Your review is hugely appreciated, thank you so much! We are very glad to know that everything was just as you'd hope for, makes us very happy owners! Come back soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
187497Bar...
Barcelona, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Luxurious, lovely Ludgate House”
Reviewed August 4, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

From the minute you decide to stay here everything is easy. Ali replies swiftly and will answer any questions you may have. The property itself is full of warmth, love and character. Home from home! The kitchen is fully equipped with all the essentials. How many times do you find yourself a glass short? Not here - everything needed for a comfortable stay.
The location of the property is perfect for extremely easy access to the town and a full range of amenities. Walks along the Tweed and a stroll away from excellent pubs and restaurants. The bedrooms and bathroom are tastefully decorated and spacious. There was the warmest of welcomes for us. Recently retired we arrived to find a card and a bottle of bubbly to celebrate the occasion plus biscuits, cheese and other treats. These are hosts who know how to get you back!! Peebles is ideally situated for Edinburgh, mountain biking and walking. However, if you just want to relax and take things easy Ludgate House will help you to do just that. Thank you Ali & Bob-your home is a gem!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and facilities were perfect
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 4, 2016
Wow, thank you so much Gavin; we are so glad to hear that Ludgate House helped you to have a fulfilling holiday. You are very kind! Hope to see you back again someday.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alyson k
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Scored highly in every aspect for us all.”
Reviewed April 3, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Great location if you are looking for easy access to the lovely town of Peebles and yet quiet.
Very well built traditional house, well furnished, very comfortable and the owner has thought through every aspect to ensure you have a relaxing experience. Bike storage too!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The attention to detail, comfort and location
Liked least: finding a very convenient parking space
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 5, 2016
Thanks so much for your lovely thoughts Alyson, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay. Come again soon! Ali
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne M
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Home from home”
Reviewed October 21, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Just back from a lovely stay at Ludgate House and we just wish we had booked it for longer! We stayed at the house with six adults and two infants (we drew the short straw with the bunk beds, however they were very comfortable with lovely cosy bedding) for my Dad's surprise 60th birthday weekend. The house was a great size with the kitchen/dining area and living room being much larger than we thought. All the communication from Alison on the lead up to our trip was excellent and she really helped accommodate all our needs regarding timings, cot bedding and highchair etc.

The house had a really nice homely feel to it which was all set off by the amazing log fire! The decor around the house was very tasteful and the kitchen was fully equipped with everything you could ever need with all good quality crockery etc.

The extra added touches with flowers, wine, chocolates etc made the stay extra special and we can't wait to return for another memorable weekend sometime in the not so distant future.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 8, 2015
Thank you whole heartedly Joanne for such lovely words! I am so glad that you loved your trip to Peebles, that's what it is all about. To know how you feel about our house makes it so much more fun and worthwhile preparing for future guests. Hope to have you back again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue G
Billingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Never disappoints, totally fantastic!”
Reviewed September 19, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

This us our 3rd stay at ludgate House and 5th in Peebles. We totally love this area as there is so much to do without using your car, walking, cycling and kayaking and our dog loves it.

We've stayed in other places in Peebles but none are as good as Ludgate House, Alison us so amiable, friendly and helpful and she makes the house like a home from home with her little touches of kindness everywhere.

The Bridge public house is amazing and the staff are fab, we totally feel at home here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 8, 2015
Can't tell you how much it means to know you pick us especially Sue! Deep thanks for helping us to encourage visitors by writing such a fab review. Hope to see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing