We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Home from home - simply fantastic”

Review of Ludgate House

Ludgate House in the sun
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Ludgate House in the sun
All you could need in a kitchen Plenty seating in the dining kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
35 reviews
Ludgate House in the sun
All you could need in a kitchen
Plenty seating in the dining kitchen
Cosy logburner and comfy sofas
Peebles award winning High Street
Quality furniture and luxurious bedding
Our second king sized room, with divan
A room for your little angels!
Batahroom with electric shower
Outdoor eating with BBQ
Sunny walled garden
View across the Tweed to the church
Cross Church, round the corner
Neidpath Castle beside the Tweed
Visit the four Abbeys - this is Melrose
Stunning local secenry
Traquair House is ten minutes away
Christmas at Ludgate House
Local scenery
Lyne Kirk
Churchyard at Romano Bridge
Floor Castle, a fabulous day out!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Peebles, Scottish Borders, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fabienne...
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Home from home - simply fantastic”
Reviewed May 19, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

We stayed during the Easter school holidays with our 3 children and au pair and it was simply fantastic. It's tastefully decorated and you will find everything you need. We'll definitely would go again! Best place we stayed in for years.

The only downside is that there is no Internet. Alison believes a holiday should be without and in principle I agree but as I had to logon for work I was reduced to either stand outside the house to get a decent network connection, hoping my emails would download or one day I went to Edinburgh for a day out of desperation. The mobile reception is very poor with Three or Vodafone so Internet would allow to make some phone calls .... Also, I use tesco home delivery (with 3 kids you won't see me much in the actual shop!) and without a decent signal this proved equally a challenge.

Overall I would recommend it without a doubt!

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 2, 2013
Hello, we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay. I would like to respond to the Internet issues; I totally agree the mobile reception is terrible for Three mobile and Vodafone, we find Tesco Mobile and certain others are fine. For any potential guests reading this, there are ways of getting online in Peebles without having to resort to going all the way to Edinburgh. The local library is roughly 6-7 minutes walk away and you can get online there for free, although obviously opening times are restricted. The Park Hotel, Tontine and Peebles Hydro all offer free BT wi-fi as well. I am sure there are other local high street places but I need to find out more myself!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
babypops
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Home from home!”
Reviewed March 28, 2013 for a stay in March 2013

From the moment I first made contact with Alison I had a good feeling about Ludgate. This was confirmed once we arrived at the cottage after a horrible journey through the snow and ice...unbelievable at the end of March! We immediately felt at home at Ludgate. Alison has certainly gone to a great deal of effort to ensure her guests have a great time - her attention to detail is fabulous and certainly wasn't wasted on us. I could go into a great deal of detail about how well equipped the house is, how comfortable the beds are, how cosy the log fire is, about little extras like the complimentary wine and whiskey etc etc etc but I would simply recommend you go and discover for yourselves just how perfect Ludgate Is. We enjoyed every second we spent in Ludgate and are already planning our next visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Attention to detail
Liked least: Handing the keys back!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilf C
Blairgowrie
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“new year bliss”
Reviewed February 8, 2013 for a stay in December 2012

We found ludgate house the best cottage we have ever stayed in. Alison made our New Year so special, the cottage even had a full size christmas tree up, chocs, wine and other treats were all there on our arrival, The cottage is so tastefully decorated you immediately feel at home. Every comfort is catered for. The cottage is ideally located just round the corner from the high street and all ameneties. Alison was a great person to deal with, very helpful and welcoming. What more can I say, book up and have a fab time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: not long enough stay
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PAB048
Mandurah, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Ludgate is more than you could wish for”
Reviewed October 23, 2012 for a stay in October 2012

We knew from previous reviews this would be a good place to stay but had no idea just how wonderful it would be. To say this place has everything including perfect hosts is an understatement. The vases of fresh flowers, the scrumptious goodies scattered through the living area - even a choice of birthday candles for a visiting guest. Alison, Bob and Poppy made us so welcome and we're sure Oliver would have too. This place has been fitted out by someone who really enjoys making people feel special. Thank you! It would be worth a trip back from Australia just to stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything including the great location
Liked least: Having to leave
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pam h
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“"FABULOUS"”
Reviewed October 21, 2012 for a stay in September 2012

Hubby and I stayed at Ludgate House in September and we were kindly met by the lovely Alison, who showed us around this fabulous house. Alison really has put some love and care into decorating this house and obviously has great taste. The house is extremely well equipped and we wanted for nothing. It really is a lovely home from home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the whole house
Liked least: not a single thing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toffeeman...
UK
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Another wonderful stay in Peebles.”
Reviewed September 16, 2012 for a stay in September 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We received a really warm welcome from Alison as we arrived once again at Ludgate House. The house is furnished to a very high standard and is so comfortable - a wonderful place to relax in. Everything has been provided by the owners to ensure that guests really enjoy their stay.
Being so handy for Peebles town centre with its wide variety of shops, restaurants and bars we hardly used the car all week. The Tweed Walk via Neidpath Castle is only a short distance away and offers lovely views of the surrounding countryside and is not too strenuous on the legs. Plenty of other walks in the area and the Botanic Gardens at Dawyk - only about 8 miles away - are definitely worth a visit.
Hopefully we will return to Peebles in the future and would definitely stay at Ludgate House - it's like home from home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: High standard of accommodation, quality of the furnishings and the central location.
Liked least: No wireless broadband.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LMiller77
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One word - Fantastic”
Reviewed June 17, 2012 for a stay in June 2012

We rented this truly amazing property for a week when visiting family for a wedding in the local town of Peebles (which is a stunning, quaint and picturesque town) The house was nothing short of 5 Star accommodation, with the little touches that made our arrival ever so more enjoyable. The little ones loved their own room and the toys and children's activities supplied. We are already trying to find reasons to return and experience this wonderful house once again.
Janet, Richard and family

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Log fire
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
$132
/
Night
Week
Make Inquiry
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing