We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family fun”
Review of Peebles Hydro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Peebles Hydro
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Peebles
Reviewed December 12, 2010

Had great time here with my wife and kids. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff, a short visit, but hope to spend longer next time. Great value for money!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Manfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMcMillanFamily, Owner at Peebles Hydro, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2011

Thank you. Your review is much appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Hydro.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,113)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,988 - 1,994 of 2,113 reviews

Reviewed December 11, 2010

We stayed at the Hydro yet again - we've had many visits. The setting is wonderful, the hotel large and special and so different from the concrete modern ones. The staff are warm, helpful and do their jobs excellently. We were there during the heavy snow and there were inevitably many cancellations so the hotel was quieter than usual but no difference to our visit.

We keep going back because it's a welcoming hotel with very good facilities. We look forward to seeing the revamp which is about to take place in the main areas.....a reason as if we need one to return!!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kaybee210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMcMillanFamily, Owner at Peebles Hydro, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2011

Thank you. Your review is much appreciated. The refurb of the main public areas is complete. We are delighted with the results, and hope you will be too. Photos will be on our web site soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2010

Kids 3 and 5 loved the kids club on site. Swimming pool vg. Restaurant food and service is top notch. Kids playground a bit ordinary. Lovely town and countryside. Family room was large and had everything we needed.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank donaldo111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMcMillanFamily, Owner at Peebles Hydro, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2011

Thank you for your review. It is much appreciated. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2010

i stayed here for my 30 year university reunion having stayed here 5 and 10 years previously for the same reason.not much seems to have changed in that time. yes the public areas could do wit ha lick pf paint but the setting is splendid the staff mostly marvellously friendly and the food excellent. the leisure facilities are well above average and if the experience is a bit like being in a time warp so what thats a large part of this hotels charm.it still has a separate dining room for children. i was given a double room rather than the small single i have had on previous occasions and if haggis for breakfast is your thing this is the place for you. it surprises me that it is so low in the list of peebles hotels the administartion of the function was excellent too. the only drawback is a car is really necessary to get ther its well worth the effort though

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CleethorpesGtfcfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMcMillanFamily, Owner at Peebles Hydro, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2010

Thank you for the excellent review! Peebles Hydro will be closed for three weeks in January 2011 to allow for refurbishment of the main corridors, staircases and lounge. We look forward to showing you the results on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2010

Came across an offer on the hotel website for a 3 night October stay at a discount rate. Had a few days due from work, so my partner and I booked up. Really enjoyed our visit. The staff were really first class, unfailingly friendly and helpful. The food was faultless from the buffet breakfast to the excellent evening meals. The leisure facilites are very good, we made frequent use of the spacious pool, the snooker room, and the outdoor putting course. We were lucky with the weather, but I don't think we would have been bored even if it had been poor, there is plenty to do in the building and grounds. The exterior of the hotel looks fantastic, but it's probably fair to say the interior is starting to show it's age. Our room was clean and comfortable, but certainly not the most luxurious I've ever been in. The general decor is in need of an upgrade (although I did hear a rumour they were planning to revamp the reception area next year) although this certainly didn't detract from our overall experience. The only oddity was the gentleman's evening dress code. A lot is made of this when you book, arrive, and in the hotel guide left in your room, however it is obviously ignored by a lot of the guests and no attempt is made to enforce it. Frankly it's probably a bit outdated anyway but I can't really see why they make such a big thing of it.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drzoom11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2010

My wife and I booked into the Peebles Hydro after recommendations from family and friends who had stayed at the hotel and had enjoyed their stay. I have read the earlier reviews on this site and can only support the positive comments made about the hotel. The negative reviews must refer to some other hotel. I will refrain from repeating what other reviewers have reported and will simply say our stay was very pleasant. Our room was fresh, clean and recently decorated. The meals were good and there was a different menu each night with pleanty of choice. Full breakfast available each morning with no limit on how much you could eat! The staff through out the hotel were very pleasant without being over the top. The hotel was well located to visit local attractions and is only a short drive to Edinburgh.

The less mobile and wheel chair users may find the drive way up to the hotel a challange but use a car! The main entrance has a large stair case up to reception but there is a lift. Once in the building there was lift access to all floors while the dinning room, bar and pool area where all on one level without stairs and only the odd ramp into the pool area.

On the down side I would say the hotel is well used and some of the decor is showing its age.
However, there was evidence of refurbishment and our room was one of the recently refurbished. Information in the hotel reported one room per day being decorated and the public areas are due to be refurbished in 2011. Other problems, our shower was a bit on the weak side but there was always hot water. The swimming pool, steam room and sauna all worked. Just one or two unpleasant smells in the pool area and steam room. A bit of menthol in the steam room would also be nice as this has worked well in Austrian hotels where we have stayed. The pool water was always clear and a nice temperature to swim in. These are just minor points and nothing which should put anyone from staying at Peeble Hydro.

Over all I would give the Peebles Hydro 9 out of 10 for our stay. Try it your self but don't expect 5 star. What you see is what you get, a comfortable hotel in the borders area of Scotland that does not pretend to be something it is not. It a homely place with nice folk working there trying to give the visitor a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChopsyNorthumbria_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2010

I first visited the Peebles Hydro as a young child in the 1970s. It was a magical place for a family holiday and when I returned with my own young family in the late 90s it was great to see that so little had changed. Rather than 'faded grandeur' the old world charm had been retained and the fabulous dining room and the old ballroom were wonderful reminders of another era when this Spa Hotel would have been a jewel in Scotland's crown. The staff were excellent, and as has been commented elsewhere, being addressed by name in a large and busy hotel by the maître d' gives a real sense of welcome.

I found some of the negative reviews here remarkable. I can only assume that some reviewers expect world class quality wherever they go at whatever price. The Peebles Hydro does not advertise itself as an £500/night hotel.

However, having visited the hotel with my family at least 5 times in the past few years it seems that a few corners are being cut when it comes to overall quality of service. It has seemed that there are fewer staff on duty than there were a few years ago, particularly noticeable in the dining room and lounge areas. However, I'm comparing this with the exceptional service of a few years ago.

Peebles Hydro can be a fantastic family holiday hotel. I'll be staying for a short trip in the very near future. I hope every effort is being made to retain quality in a tough economy.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chiar0scuro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMcMillanFamily, Owner at Peebles Hydro, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2010

Thank you for this great review, obviously from a long term fan of the Hydro. It is true that there are fewer staff than there used to be - a sign of the times, and of a conscious effort to improve efficency - but we think that the staff we have right now are fantastic. They are cheerful and enthusiastic and prepared to work hard. Because they are kept busier, young staff learn quickly and become more proficent at what they do. Their aim, and ours, is to provide the best possible service in a friendly family atmosphere. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Hydro.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Peebles
0.4 mi away
The Park
The Park
#5 of 8 in Peebles
459 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders
4.4 mi away
Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Cringletie House
Cringletie House
#2 of 8 in Peebles
786 reviews
5 mi away
Traquair Arms Hotel
Traquair Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Innerleithen
303 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cross Keys Hotel
Cross Keys Hotel
#6 of 8 in Peebles
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peebles Hydro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peebles Hydro

Address: Innerleithen Road, Peebles EH45 8LX, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Borders > Peebles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Peebles
Price Range: $93 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Peebles Hydro 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Peebles Hydro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hydro Peebles
Hydro Hotel Peebles
Peebles Hydro Hotel
Peebles Hydro Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing