We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,363)
Filter reviews
2,363 results
Traveler rating
640
752
476
296
199
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
640
752
476
296
199
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskids clubgin palacetable tennisrefurbished roomfront facingtennis courtssignature roomswimming poolgrand hotelgames roompitch and puttgin tastingnew ownersleisure facilitiesbit datedsteam roombunk beds
Filter
Updating list...
336 - 341 of 2,363 reviews
Reviewed September 12, 2017 via mobile

Room was ok. Staff friendly. Didn't eat here or use the facilities as had busy weekend planned with friends. Ideal for our weekend away needs. Gin greenhouse seemed a bit out of place but the selection was brilliant and the service knowledgeable

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Freedom731393
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest Relations M, Guest Relations Manager at Peebles Hydro, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2017

Thanks for taking time to leave us your comments, we are pleased you enjoyed your time in Peebles, and your stay with us at The Hydro. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2017

I have always enjoyed visits to the Peebles Hydro. It is a beautiful building in marvelous rolling countryside, indeed, the Peebles Hydro that is there now was built in the early 20th century as a country house hotel and spa resort in Peebles in the border region of Scotland at the south. The hotel actually opened in 1881, but burnt down and was rebuilt in 1907. It served as a hospital for injured service personnel during  World War I before reverting to hotel use.

Peebles Hydro is a magnificent category B listed building. Peebles Hydro offers a beautiful setting in gardens, in the border town of Peebles. This charming, historic hotel features an indoor swimming pool, a spa, a gym and restaurant and overlooks the Tweed Valley and is backed by Glentress Forest. It is a 14-minute walk from the Tweeddale Museum and Gallery, and only 1.2 miles from Peebles Golf Club. The Scottish Borders are ideal for cycling, walking, fishing and golfing. The River Tweed is a short walk from the hotel.

When my children were growing up we made regular visits to Peebles Hydro, there is a lovely pool and special activities for children to be safely entertained. There is also a playground for children and there are lovely walks by the river Tweed nearby. Films are played for the children and there is a special early teatime for them. 

I enjoy lovely views when enjoying breakfast or dinner in the restaurant. There is also a cocktail bar. The evening dinner is always a favourite, the meal choices are tasty, the wines exquisite and the service first class. More recently, my husband and I regularly visit with my mother for a delicious, traditional afternoon tea on her birthday. The fresh sandwiches, scones and cakes washed down with tea poured from elegant pots enjoyed looking over the vibrant views of the Scottish borders is always a treat.

Most recently, last week my friend and I ventured to Peebles. It was a dleight to be back at the Peebles Hydro. Our rooms were lovely, Each room at Peebles Hydro features classic décor finished in lightly coloured tones. All rooms have free Wi-Fi, a TV, tea and coffee-making facilities, heating and a bathroom with free toiletries. I always enjoy visiting Peebles Hydro and highly recomend it.

Valerie Penny

 

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Val P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest Relations M, Guest Relations Manager at Peebles Hydro, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2017

Many thanks for your feedback Val P, the team are delighted to hear that you've had another enjoyable visit to the Hydro. We hope it's not too long till we can welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2017

What can I say! First visit to this very old beautiful hotel! Lots of character which i prefer to modern hotels! Lovely room very comfy beds,spotlessly clean throughout! The staff are super friendly(nothing is to much trouble!) fabulous breakfast buffet full scottish and continentall served in beautiful dining area! Management and staff so professional really worked the diningroom fantastic! Our last night wel had lovely meal prepared with the freshest of produce all soarced locally! Nice shops inside gin tasting too! Lovely Pool and spa! Alot of stairs inside but elivators available! Highly recommend! Nice town and good shopping centre also lovely views!

Room Tip: If looking for good view second floor!
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 453madelaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest Relations M, Guest Relations Manager at Peebles Hydro, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2017

Thanks for taking time to leave your feedback 453madelaine, we're delighted to hear you enjoyed your visit. We do hope you can return to stay with us again sometime in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2017 via mobile

Booked through booking.com. Got a great deal for dinner/ bed and breakfast. Found a better price through Trivago which they marched. If you get a chance book room 20 which is a feature room with outstanding views of the countryside. Service at dinner and breakfast was excellent. Staff very friendly and attentive. Good variety of choice on the menu. Gin tasting sessions held on various nights for not a lot of money. £1.50. Won't be too long before We're back

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank KEVIN T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest Relations M, Guest Relations Manager at Peebles Hydro, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2017

Thanks for your review KEVIN T and we're delighted to hear you enjoyed your time with us. With numerous gins to be sampled we hope to see you many more times in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2017

We were given an overnight and dinner at Peebles Hydro as a Itison gift. We were devastated when we arrived to find a run down, dirty, old fashioned hotel, that looked like it was trapped in the 1940s. Frayed carpets, old dirty paint work and old fashioned decor as well as not being properly cleaned.

Our room had been refurbished and was nice, however not cleaned to a high standard as there were hairs on the bed and the bathroom had not been cleaned properly either. Unfortunately no mini fridge, which you would expect for a hotel that size.

There is no bar area, there is a tiny bar in the hallway, which looks like it should be selling candy floss, you then have to carry your drinks to another room where there is no television or music..

The dining area has apparently been modified. This is like a canteen, large, poor looking surroundings and noisy. The menu was very basic and the night we were there half things on the menu were not available. Also if you like wine, the wine list is very poor.

The worst is yet to come. The pool is disgusting, and it needs knocked down and rebuild, dirty tiles, unkept and the hot tub, had parts broke off it. I feared I would need a course of antibiotics as it was so filthy. The changing rooms are extremely run down and in need of a make over also.

We met others who were shocked by the state of the hotel and like ourselves as having the word Hydro attached to it, thought it would be of a high standard. I would not recommend.

Positives: gorgeous views
Good breakfast
If you have kids there is a kids club

Stayed: August 2017
2  Thank 77Claire77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest Relations M, Guest Relations Manager at Peebles Hydro, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2017

Thanks for your comments 77Claire77, and sorry to hear that you feel The Hydro fell short. We'll take your feedback on board and act accordingly. We hope you may have a change of heart and return in the future when we have completed our refurbishment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews