We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$159
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$138
$121
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$85
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Neidpath Inn(Peebles)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Park(Peebles)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,339)
Filter reviews
2,339 results
Traveler rating
634
741
473
293
198
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
634
741
473
293
198
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskids clubgin palacetable tennisrefurbished roomfront facingtennis courtssignature roomswimming poolgrand hotelgames roompitch and puttgin tastingnew ownersleisure facilitiessteam roombit datedbunk beds
Filter
Updating list...
855 - 860 of 2,339 reviews
Reviewed August 9, 2016 via mobile

When we arrived the receptionist was not very friendly and then went on to say she could not find my booking,after searching through my phone I eventually found the confirmation email and it turned out they had booked it under a completely different last name despite booking by email!

Our room was on the 3rd floor and it was very dated and the carpets were well used,the room was depressing, the only good thing about it was the beautiful view, the grounds are lovely.

The dinner hall was set out like a canteen, while we were sitting trying to eat and relax it was very hustle and bustle as the staff were setting things up for breakfast, the food however was lovely, and the waiting staff were very nice although a bit shy.

The pool area was an even bigger disappointment , firstly the woman who was sat there minding the pool wasn't very friendly, the pool was freezing cold, the jacuzzi wasn't working there were yellow cones around it, it looked dirty, the changing rooms were old and dirty just really disappointing won't be returning.

Stayed: August 2016, traveled as a couple
1  Thank holldoll123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest Relations M, Guest Relations Manager at Peebles Hydro, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2016

Thanks for your feedback holldoll123, and sorry that you feel so disappointed with your stay. It's not clear from your comments if you had made the team aware of your feelings as they would have appreciated the opportunity to put things right for you at the time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2016 via mobile

I've been coming to Peebles for close to 20 years and this year has been fantastic. Everything from the food to activities have been great, as well as the fantastic staff (one in particular- Gordon the gin captain!- a pleasure to know such an attentive and charismatic young man, who the hydro are lucky to have in employment) will be visiting next year and for the foreseeable future, p.s love some of the changes but I hope the hydro keeps some of its authenticity and does not change too much.

Stayed: August 2016
Thank Ben C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest Relations M, Guest Relations Manager at Peebles Hydro, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2016

Thanks for your feedback Ben C. I'm delighted to hear that you had another great stay with us. I will, of course, pass your compliments on to our Gordon, he has embraced his role as Gin Captain so well and is indeed a credit to us. We hope you return to see us all again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2016 via mobile

Hmmm - what to say about Peebles Hydro? To be fair to the owners - the Leckie family of Crieff Hydro fame - they are clear that they have much still to do, having taken over ownership recently following a long period of neglect. So yes, away from the public areas it is very tired and in need of attention - a combination of white gloss woodwork, worn red carpets and floral curtains.

In terms of our visit we experienced the following:

Room

- our room was missing a bedside cabinet which we eventually got replaced.

- there was no side light of any kind in the children's part of the family room we were in. This led to difficulties for one of our children trying to climb down from the top bunk in the dark. We asked for and were given a lamp.

- the only plug socket in the children's bedroom stopped working so we had to ask for an extension cable to operate the lamp and TV in their room.

So we got what we asked for but there were quite a lot of things we needed to ask for.

Restaurant

As part of the takeover it seemed like lots of staff were new. (Their badges actually said "New to the family"). Whilst I can understand the logic in providing this information it did plant a seed that perhaps they weren't as proficient as they might be. To be fair they were all very pleasant but also very shy, not very confident and prone to errors.

So at dinner:

- the soup was advertised as coming with sourdough bread but none was forthcoming and the waitress seemed not to know anything about it. We got it when we asked.

- the steak was advertised as coming with lyonnais potatoes but was delivered with saute potatoes instead.

- after we had placed our order we also asked for side of veg. This was delivered during our starters. When I suggested that wasn't appropriate the waiter apologised but still tried to leave them with us until I insisted that he take them away.

- one of our children asked for the sticky toffee pudding to be served with ice cream separately. That was agreed to only for it be delivered together. The pudding was also cold.

So in summary, I'm sure much of this is due to the transition taking place and management do say that prices reflect this. I'm not sure that the differential is that great - the prices aren't cheap - and, anyway, for current guests it's all about their current experience. I'm sure things will improve, hopefully in line with Crieff of which we're big fans, but there is still a long way to go and I have to say this guest's experience was not great. A real letdown.

Stayed: August 2016, traveled with family
5  Thank bigalmckenzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest Relations M, Guest Relations Manager at Peebles Hydro, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2016

Many thanks for taking time to write your review bigalmckenzie. It's great to know that you appreciate the work the team are currently putting in to the Hydro, but I'm so sorry that you felt let down in some areas. The whole team will continue to work on every aspect of the property and we hope you can return sometime in the future to see the positive changes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2016 via mobile

Visited here yesterday for a relaxing swim lunch....Arrived at the pool to discover that the Jacuzzi wasn't working and they were having problems with the pools temperature....surely they could have advised us of this when we phoned to book or offered discount as half the amenities were not working.... Although they do offer fluffy robes & bath slippers now at no extra cost!

After sitting in the freezing pool until Lunch time we were all ready to put a complaint in....and then we had lunch.

10/10!!! The food was absolutely amazing and worth faaaar more than the £30 we paid for the day. Each course was better than the last and large portions too. The swim lunch menu is a lot nicer now - gone is the risotto and portobello mushrooms.

The staff were really attentive especially the lovely waiter that told us the White chocolate pudding was the best! It was amazing!


Highly recommend going and skipping the swim and just having the lunch.

Stayed: August 2016, traveled with friends
1  Thank Gemma R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest Relations M, Guest Relations Manager at Peebles Hydro, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2016

Many thanks for your comments Gemma R. It was great to hear that you had enjoyed your lunch so much. Our apologies for the problems with the pool temperature. We have very recently installed a new heating system and the team have had a few teething problems with it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2016

Excellent service overall attentive and friendly staff. Nice accommodation spectacular views on the edge of historic Peebles. I was there for a fishing trip on the superb River Tweed and it was great to return to the hotel after a day's fishing and relax in nice surrounding and service from excellent friendly staff. Don't miss the exemplar traditional Scottish breakfast.

Room Tip: All,rooms appear okay
  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Xxtravelanddine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest Relations M, Guest Relations Manager at Peebles Hydro, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2016

Thanks so much for tour feedback Xxtravelanddine. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us so much and enjoyed both the Hydro and the surrounding areas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews