We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,422)
Filter reviews
2,422 results
Traveler rating
662
773
486
300
201
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
662
773
486
300
201
Show reviews that mention
All reviews kids club gin palace refurbished room table tennis front facing tennis courts signature room swimming pool new owners grand hotel games room pitch and putt gin tasting leisure centre steam room bit dated bunk beds
Filter
Updating list...
941 - 946 of 2,422 reviews
Reviewed August 6, 2016

Excellent service overall attentive and friendly staff. Nice accommodation spectacular views on the edge of historic Peebles. I was there for a fishing trip on the superb River Tweed and it was great to return to the hotel after a day's fishing and relax in nice surrounding and service from excellent friendly staff. Don't miss the exemplar traditional Scottish breakfast.

Room tip: All,rooms appear okay
Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Xxtravelanddine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest Relations M, Guest Relations Manager at Peebles Hydro, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2016

Thanks so much for tour feedback Xxtravelanddine. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us so much and enjoyed both the Hydro and the surrounding areas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2016 via mobile

Booked an overnight for a family birthday. Have to say I was really disappointed. It is obvious that the hotel is getting done up and it really affects it. The general areas like the dining hall was nice and well presented. The bar area was a bit odd, the bar was essentially like a hole in the wall and then the seating area was to the opposite side. There was a man playing keyboard and singing however if sitting in the seating area you couldn't see him as he was positioned in the corridor. The room we had was awful, very run done and not space what so ever. The bed was comfy enough. I am tall and of average build but struggled to get into the vanity table as it was so close to the bed. The bathroom was dingy and a bit of a tight squeeze in the shower. We went to the pool, the entrance was lovely looking but once you got into the changing rooms they were really run down and looked very much like a 80's local council pool. The swimming pool and sauna etc were fine. Have to say a massive thanks to the lifeguard who encourages our 2 year old niece to into the pool- she was fab! There was a note in the room saying that it was getting renovated and apologised for this and it said 'as you can see it was reflected in the price' I would completely disagree with this as we paid £169 for 1 night DBB for a run down and grubby hotel. Not the experience we had hoped for in celebrating a 60th birthday. Hope it's better once it's been done up!!

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank Gbeattie1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest Relations M, Guest Relations Manager at Peebles Hydro, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2016

Thanks for taking time to leave us your feedback Gbeattie1986. It was great to read about the positives of your stay but we can only apologise for your disappointment in other areas. The team are working hard to update and improve the Hydro, which will take time to complete. The rates were reduced hugely when we first began to run the business to reflect the current status of the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2016 via mobile

Needs a lot of money spent on the hotel in general and the leisure facilities. Restaurant dining is chaotic even when only half full, and breakfast is shambolic at best. One pathetic toaster for everyone to use, take a good book if you join the queue! Kids club is a dungeon in the basement, ironic when there seems to be so much available wasted space on the ground floor. The hotel is in a lovely location but needs an overhaul in terms of decor, infrastructure, restaurant menu & service, as well as leisure facilities. Was a wonderful hotel back in the day, hopefully it can achieve that level of greatness again.

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank Dazeoot21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for one night last month as part of my daughter's birthday celebrations. We had a large family room on the top floor, which, although slightly dated, was clean, comfortable and very spacious! Spent a pleasant hour in the pool/spa (sadly the jacuzzi wasn't working). Didn't have dinner in hotel, food at breakfast was fine, although we had a bit of a wait for a table. Peebles is within walking distance and has a few wee shops to browse round and also a lovely walk beside the river. Enjoyed our stay and will return.

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Suzanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest Relations M, Guest Relations Manager at Peebles Hydro, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2016

Thanks for your feedback Suzanne S, we're pleased to hear that you had such a pleasant stay in Peebles. We are so very lucky to be in close proximity to the lovely town and the surrounding areas are also beautiful and easily reached for walking, cycling etc. We hope we can welcome you back to The Hydro sometime soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2016

Have just returned from this hotel after staying for a night for our 40th wedding anniversary, WE WILL NOT BE BACK!

Our room ( no 2) was accessed from outside the hotel in an annexe which meant you had to go outside every time you wanted to enter the hotel!

It was a good size but the shower did not work properly and leaked, the heated towel rail also did not work which meant we had wet towels this morning and as there was a small heater in the room we assumed the heating also did not work!

Although there was a letter in the room explaining that Crieff Hydro had taken over the hotel last year and they had started updating some of the rooms this does not explain why our room was not fit for purpose!

Worst of all was the noise from above our room which we assumed was in a function suite, loud chatter, laughing and door slamming went on until 5.30 am!!

On arrival we asked to book dinner and was told that as they were very busy with a wedding and other functions they only had 2 times left, ordinary residents are obviously not important then!

In the dining room which looked more like a school dining hall than a hotel dining room, our dinner was ok but nothing special but when we asked for two cups of tea at the end of the meal we were told we would have to obtain these at the bar, even although we had seen others being served in the dining room, these two teas cost us £2.50 each which is ludicrous! Not even presented in a teapot but made in the cups with a teabag!

The bar is also very small for the size of the hotel and no table service offered!

Although we did not book direct with the hotel but with an online site, and although we know you usually receive a substandard room when doing this as it is the only way hotels can fill these rooms, I do not agree with the quote in the letter in the room which states that the charge for rooms still to be updated is reflected in the price!

I would seriously not recommend this hotel!

Room tip: Choose a room which has been updated!
Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Audrey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest Relations M, Guest Relations Manager at Peebles Hydro, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2016

Thanks for your review Audrey P and sorry to learn of your disappointment. There are many guests who request for these rooms on our lower floor, so we can only apologise if this wasn't to your liking. The team would have been more than happy to try to offer you something more suitable to your needs had they been aware of your feelings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews