We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,370)
Filter reviews
2,370 results
Traveler rating
643
753
478
297
199
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
643
753
478
297
199
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskids clubgin palacetable tennisrefurbished roomfront facingtennis courtssignature roomswimming poolgrand hotelgames roompitch and puttgin tastingnew ownersleisure facilitiesbit datedsteam roombunk beds
Filter
Updating list...
890 - 895 of 2,370 reviews
Reviewed August 6, 2016 via mobile

Needs a lot of money spent on the hotel in general and the leisure facilities. Restaurant dining is chaotic even when only half full, and breakfast is shambolic at best. One pathetic toaster for everyone to use, take a good book if you join the queue! Kids club is a dungeon in the basement, ironic when there seems to be so much available wasted space on the ground floor. The hotel is in a lovely location but needs an overhaul in terms of decor, infrastructure, restaurant menu & service, as well as leisure facilities. Was a wonderful hotel back in the day, hopefully it can achieve that level of greatness again.

Stayed: August 2016, traveled with family
1  Thank Dazeoot21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for one night last month as part of my daughter's birthday celebrations. We had a large family room on the top floor, which, although slightly dated, was clean, comfortable and very spacious! Spent a pleasant hour in the pool/spa (sadly the jacuzzi wasn't working). Didn't have dinner in hotel, food at breakfast was fine, although we had a bit of a wait for a table. Peebles is within walking distance and has a few wee shops to browse round and also a lovely walk beside the river. Enjoyed our stay and will return.

Stayed: July 2016, traveled with family
Thank Suzanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest Relations M, Guest Relations Manager at Peebles Hydro, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2016

Thanks for your feedback Suzanne S, we're pleased to hear that you had such a pleasant stay in Peebles. We are so very lucky to be in close proximity to the lovely town and the surrounding areas are also beautiful and easily reached for walking, cycling etc. We hope we can welcome you back to The Hydro sometime soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2016

Have just returned from this hotel after staying for a night for our 40th wedding anniversary, WE WILL NOT BE BACK!

Our room ( no 2) was accessed from outside the hotel in an annexe which meant you had to go outside every time you wanted to enter the hotel!

It was a good size but the shower did not work properly and leaked, the heated towel rail also did not work which meant we had wet towels this morning and as there was a small heater in the room we assumed the heating also did not work!

Although there was a letter in the room explaining that Crieff Hydro had taken over the hotel last year and they had started updating some of the rooms this does not explain why our room was not fit for purpose!

Worst of all was the noise from above our room which we assumed was in a function suite, loud chatter, laughing and door slamming went on until 5.30 am!!

On arrival we asked to book dinner and was told that as they were very busy with a wedding and other functions they only had 2 times left, ordinary residents are obviously not important then!

In the dining room which looked more like a school dining hall than a hotel dining room, our dinner was ok but nothing special but when we asked for two cups of tea at the end of the meal we were told we would have to obtain these at the bar, even although we had seen others being served in the dining room, these two teas cost us £2.50 each which is ludicrous! Not even presented in a teapot but made in the cups with a teabag!

The bar is also very small for the size of the hotel and no table service offered!

Although we did not book direct with the hotel but with an online site, and although we know you usually receive a substandard room when doing this as it is the only way hotels can fill these rooms, I do not agree with the quote in the letter in the room which states that the charge for rooms still to be updated is reflected in the price!

I would seriously not recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Choose a room which has been updated!
  • Stayed: July 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Audrey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest Relations M, Guest Relations Manager at Peebles Hydro, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2016

Thanks for your review Audrey P and sorry to learn of your disappointment. There are many guests who request for these rooms on our lower floor, so we can only apologise if this wasn't to your liking. The team would have been more than happy to try to offer you something more suitable to your needs had they been aware of your feelings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2016 via mobile

I decided to try Peebles hydro after several years staying at Crieff hydro....next year I will return to Crieff hydro for sure.
Peebles hydro sadly is run down which they acknowledge and are working on renovating; however to be woke at 8.30am with noisy workmen was not part of our relaxing stay. Neither was waiting over one hour for starters to arrive at dinner (we were amongst many other unhappy diners left waiting endlessly), with only a few competent staff trying to organise the restaurant it was not great. We booked dinner bed and breakfast which promised a 3 course meal....only to be told at the dining table we had a limit of £25 which limited many choices on the menu.
Breakfast was at least self service but with limited supplies and I was not impressed to be told at 9.50am that there would be no more sausages as the chef didn't want to cook any more. It's a pity that with such beautiful and scenic surroundings the lack of service and obvious disorganization ended with us not having such an enjoyable stay.

Stayed: July 2016, traveled with family
4  Thank MamamariaDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest Relations M, Guest Relations Manager at Peebles Hydro, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2016

Many thanks for taking time to leave us your feedback MamamariaDubai. I'm so sorry to hear that your stay wasn't what you'd hoped for. Thank you so much for bringing these things to our attention, we will be sure to follow up on these.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2016

Very enjoyable weekend at the Peebles Hydro, lovely family room, great breakfasts and pre ordered vegetarian sausages, lovely grounds, lots of things for the kids to do. Large pool with Jacuzzi, steam and sauna, most enjoyable and open long hours. Swim lane and lots of pool toys, inflatables etc. Had a lovely hot stone massage and facial. Staff very welcoming and friendly. Nice views out of the windows. Lots to do if the weather not great.

  • Stayed: July 2016, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bunnynobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest Relations M, Guest Relations Manager at Peebles Hydro, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2016

Many thanks for taking the time to leave us your feedback Bunnynobs. We're delighted to hear that you'd such an enjoyable visit. Sorry if the weather wasn't at it's best but we're pleased that there was lots to keep you occupied during a traditional Scottish summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews