We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it...going back again this year!”
Review of Peebles Hydro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Peebles Hydro
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Peebles
Reviewed January 4, 2013

This is our 2nd trip to Peebles, having stayed over Christmas 2011 and 2012. As a family we love it, it's great for kids too, by having the kids club and letting the adults get some quality time for a few hours in the evening is a bonus! The food was fab, service was good, coud be a tad slow sometimes, but nothing to complain about really. Breakfast time was a bit manic, by only having one breakfast station it could get a bit cramped! The room was lovely and very large, but very cold, we didn't complain about it, we were only there for 4 nights. There was one large radiator for the big room and a radiator for the kids room, but it didn't help much. The whole place is lovely and the quaintness of it all adds to the charm of the place. The pool was great, could get a bit busy at times, but you could always escape to the sauna/steam room or jacuzzi! The games room wasn't anything to write home about, just a pool table really, we didn't bother with it there. All in all though, we loved it and we travelled a long way to get there, but well worth it, shall hopefully be staying Christmas 2013!

Room Tip: Room 243 was lovely and big, but a bit cold, nice view of the back, but a bit restricted with a view...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sam_Jay-EVO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,026)
There are newer reviews for Peebles Hydro
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,754 - 1,760 of 2,026 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2013

This was our first visit to Peebles Hydro and I am sure it will not be the last. After reading many other reviews it is difficult to reconcile that this is the same place unless we were just extremely fortunate. It is an old building, dating back to 1905 I believe, and the architecture and decor of the public areas vey much reflect the grandeur of those times. Our room was modern, fairly freshly decorated and had a large, well equipped bathroom, tea & coffee facilities, tv & all the 'necessities' you expect in hotel rooms nowadays. The leisure centre was large and the pool looked lovely although we didn't take the plunge this trip.
Food I would say is as good as any hotel in this price range that we have stayed at and actually better than some equivalent establishments. Brunch on New Year's day was a particular highlight with an immense range of choices at the buffet. Breakfasts were buffet-style as well and had the usual ingredients plus haggis and potato scones. Evening meals were a varied choice including vegetarian options and particular dietary requirements were accommodated without fuss.
Service throughout the hotel was first-class with any requests dealt with promptly and efficiently and the reception staff and Angus MacLeod in the restaurant deserve particular mention.
Every silver lining must have a cloud, however, and two spring to mind -
Wi-Fi is not really available throughout the hotel and I would still be waiting to connect. The only option is to hang about very close to Reception where a signal can eventually be found. They really need signal boosters throughout the hotel if they are going to provide the service promised
Entertainment on Hogmanay was very much aimed at those whose ceilidh dancing extends no further than a Gay Gordon's or Stripping a Willow! Not unexpected but disappointing for anyone hoping for a night of Scottish reels. This, however, pales into insignificance compared to the disco that followed where the excruciating volume saw the ballroom quickly emptying.
On New Year's Day the entertainment consisted of a keyboard player and guitarist, again with their volume controls turned up to excruciating and we quickly vacated the ballroom as a result.
The conclusion. Go here for a relaxing break with good service, good food and lovely surroundings. If you are looking for a Scottish dancing experience then try somewhere else.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PhilGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

My husband and I went to the Hydro because we just wanted a mini break from home. We only live about an hour away and neither of us had been before. Didn't know what to expect but we had a great time. The staff are very friendly and helpful at reception. We stayed on a dinner, b&b rate for one night. The dinner was great and we had a good laugh when we realized we were the youngest people dining and we are in our 50's!! The breakfast let the whole stay down, although lots of choices, they hot food wasn't very good. The cold choices were much better. One note, the wheat bread used for the toast was really good! Again the staff were very friendly and nice. The rooms are clean and the bed linen fresh. We had a superior room in the front and although it is winter, the view was still nice. I bet it's amazing in the spring and summer. Loved the pool!!!! I hadn't been swimming in ages and it was lots of fun. They have adult only times so if it had been busy with families we could choose what time to go. Lots to do outside but due to the time of year when we went that wasn't possible. Close to town and easy to walk. Peebles is an amazing place to visit.
Spa was closed the day we were there which was a disappointment and we were there on a Wednesday. We really wanted some pampering! I should have called first to make sure spa is opened before booking.
All in all, a fun stay. Great place to take a family during the spring or summer.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DebKenG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We stay at the Peebles Hydro at least 3 times a year and our recent stay was excellent. We have the same rooms each time we stay - they aren't the best but for single occupancy we are pleased with what we have. The staff are always most helpful and the service in the dining room is second to none. The food was very good indeed, especially considering the fact that a lot of people have to be served in quite a short period of time. The public rooms are very good. It is evident that the owners are trying to update the hotel, painting in the corridors and rooms obvious. My room has also been painted - my only real complaint that no hooks are available in either the bedroom or the bathroom. Also, there has not been a coffee table in the room for my last two visits - it would be good to have this back again now the decorating has finished!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BabaLakeDistrict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

I remeber a trip to this hotel some years ago where I was impressed with everything.
This is a poor relation of the hotel I remember.
Whilst it was a party night which in itself was good, the service, accomodation and food were not.
The hotel is unkept. It needs a fair amount of tlc and some basic spit and polish. The staff were a mix of very young and very old. this did not make for great service. Either your order was forgotton or took forever to arrive.
The food was poorly prepared and served. I realise it is a party night but that surely does not provide reason to serve food which would have not made soup kitchen standard.
Sorry the owners either need to invest or move on.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sauzee092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

My wife Caroline and I are just back from a 2 Night stay utilising the McMillan Hotel group 50th Anniversary December Deal. We booked one of the 2 Balcony rooms which included DBB with a free bottle of wine for the 1st night for only £280 in all, around half of the normal cost. You are also permitted full use of the leisure facilities from the day of arrival to the day of departure, even after your checkout. We were allocated room 117 on the first floor, which is enormous, front facing with panoramic views of the hills. The views from the large balcony which is over the front entrance to the hotel are breathtaking.
The reception staff are welcoming, as are all of the dining and bar staff etc. When I read other reviews I sometimes wonder if it's how you respond to the staff that creates a good experience for all concerned.
Our room was spotless throughout our stay and the food was excellent with a good choice of wines. The hot and cold buffet breakfast is amazing and amongst the best we have experienced anywhere.
My wife and I would have no hesitation in returning to Peebles Hydro in the future and congratulate the McMillan family Hotel Group on the standard of their Hotels. We stayed at the Roxburghe in Charlotte Square in Edinburgh in August and enjoyed an equally wonderful experience there.

Room Tip: It's worth paying a little more for a balcony or superior room. Our balcony room 117 was on the...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

every year me and my friends go to a hydro and have to say this was the worst one yet:( Arrived to our room which was very cold and an awful musky smell in it, reported this to reception who says they would send someone up to open the windows(remembering it was minus conditions outside) and to spray air freshner!!(not impressed. could have done this ourselves) Says we would move to our friends room as they had bunk beds, asked if we would be compensated as a good will gesture told no! and could not move us as the hotel was full! party night was ok but certanly will not be back, have e mailed this hotel 2 weeks ago regarding our complaint, still awaiting reply!!!!!

Room Tip: not room 204
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sandra b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Peebles
4.4 mi away
Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel
0.5 mi away
Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders
0.3 mi away
The Park
The Park
#5 of 8 in Peebles
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Cringletie House
Cringletie House
#2 of 8 in Peebles
768 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cross Keys Hotel
Cross Keys Hotel
#6 of 8 in Peebles
229 reviews
0.6 mi away
Castle Venlaw Hotel
Castle Venlaw Hotel
#3 of 8 in Peebles
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peebles Hydro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peebles Hydro

Address: Innerleithen Road, Peebles EH45 8LX, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Borders > Peebles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Peebles
Price Range: $96 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Peebles Hydro 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Peebles Hydro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hydro Peebles
Hydro Hotel Peebles
Peebles Hydro Hotel
Peebles Hydro Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing