We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stumbled over Cringletie looking for dinner !”
Review of Cringletie House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cringletie House
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Peebles
Certificate of Excellence
Ferney-Voltaire, France
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Stumbled over Cringletie looking for dinner !”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We found it ! Having booked into a local hydro, we were extremely disappointed by the hotel, its dining arrangements and the prospect of dinner looked very bleak. We hit the road and not five minutes from Peebles found Cringletie House ! A fabulous discovery which lifted our spirits, and provided a few hours of Scottish warmth, tradition, delicious food in historic surrounds. Plus, they were able to fit us in at the last minute. "If only it could be like this all the time " ...the immortal words of Van Morrison. The perfect place for a hideaway weekend, and excellent value.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Baxter003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

751 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    558
    107
    44
    32
    10
See reviews for
120
478
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We returned to Cringletie after making our first visit in January 2013 for a one night "Tasty Sunday" stay. This includes bed, breakfast and a gourmet tasting dinner with wine. It is incredibly good value if you like good food, well presented, well served and in pleasant surroundings.

The dinner was absolutely excellent, and the wines chosen to accompany the courses were thoughtfully selected and very enjoyable. Once again Cringletie was able to marry the food and the wine into a synergy. Staff are friendly and helpful, indeed having stayed in a number of 5* and 5* PLUS hotels, their attention to detail and concern for the guest matched those institutions (I am thinking for example of Chateau Frontenac in Quebec, Vier Jahreszeiten in Hamburg, La Reine Elisabeth in Montreal).

I must also mention the breakfast - it is almost idyllic to have a freshly prepared breakfast brought to you at the table, rather than the chain hotel buffet with dried up over-cooked food which is great for those who appreciate quantity over quality, but poor for those who seek something tasty but not large. The smoked haddock and poached egg was superb; my wife asked for smoked salmon with scrambled egg not made with cream and got exactly what she asked for.

I really hope that when the hotel re-opens in March 2014 after its projected closure this autumn, it will continue these excellent standards.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tony1046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Snuggled away in the lowlands countryside and a conveniently short drive from Edinburgh, Cringletie House is cosy and modern, yet brimming with traditional Scottish charm making you feel right at home. From the warm and friendly welcome, to the considerate and personal service throughout, our long weekend at Cringletie House was an absolute delight from start to finish.

Whereas many multi-rosette awarded establishments have let the success go to their heads, it couldn't be more the opposite at Cringletie. Service is superb and the food on offer courtesy of Chef Patrick Bardoulet is absolutely excellent, making the most of fresh local produce in all of the carefully thought-out and menus. With a conscientious hotelier service, the dining experience here is second to none, whether it's an exquisite evening meal or opulent hearty breakfast.

Our room was modern, tastefully decorated and very comfortable. We were made to feel like much more than just brief visitors, which is so rare nowadays. Cringletie House really feels like a hidden treasure and is ideal for a special occasion. Despite only just having visited, we're already looking forward to returning!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foodeater78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wooler, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Beautiful. Old house, full of history. Great service and superb restaurant. All the staff are very helpful and friendly. Would highly recommend. We went for a special treat for our pearl wedding anniversary and it really was a treat. Fantastic pillows!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank josiel47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

I loved it from the moment I set eyes on it. From the welcoming staff to the room with its windowseat in a pepperpot turret , super bathroom and sumptuous breakfast I thought I'd arrived in heaven -then there was the walled garden .
-
One error of judgement[mine]. It seemed a good idea to have afternoon tea after driving down from Inverness and it was everything afternoon tea should be . Alas ,there was no way we were going to be able to eat dinner afterwards; [one of the pains of growing old]. We'll have to go back for dinner.

Room Tip: All the rooms look out over lush green countryside but the corner rooms with a turret are particular...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChesterVitalspark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We had lunch in the Dining room and food was disappointing. I had the beef which was a little fatty for my taste. My wife had the pigeon which was too chewy. Prior to eating we were left for quite a long time in a small library type room. Lovely seats but the Hotel wedding albums were slightly off putting with the very old photos which did seem to picture the owners of the hotel rather than the guests. A bit formal for my liking and we did not really feel comfortable. Very well maintained grounds and good service during the meal itself.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dufis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jdvh, General Manager at Cringletie House, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to respond and my sincere apologies that you were disappointed with your lunch at the hotel. We pride ourselves in the standard of our food and i think most of the time we deliver and our reviews reflect this. Your trip coincided with our Head Chef's annual leave, this is not an excuse, as we aim to maintain excellence in his absence, but your feedback is invaluable in identifying issues if we fall short. We also take note about the wedding albums and agree they could do with a refresh - certainly now a winter project! We do hope you'll give us another try one day and that next time we exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

It's only 25 mins from Edinburgh (where we live!) but you could not fault it!! We booked the Selkirk Suite for an anniversary night - it certainly wasn't cheap and they resisted all attempts to negotiate on price!! - but hats off to them, it was well worth it, and what a gorgeous location! From the moment we arrived they were warm, welcoming and eager to help. They had just won AA Scottish Hotel of the Year 2013 - and were very proud of their achievement - deservedly so. The hotel has 13 bedrooms and is extremely well maintained and tastefully decorated, whilst still managing to be homely and comfortable. Dinner in the evening was a delightful eating experience from start to finish. Canapes were served in the bar while we perused the menu - 3 different menus to choose from and something to suit most palates. The standard £35 menu was included in the DBB price but mixing and matching from the a la carte and 'taster' menu actively encouraged for little extra.The staff were, without exception, attentive, knowledgable and genuinely helpful. There are nice grounds to walk in, and a walled garden to enjoy. It is an oasis just outside Peebles, and a stones throw from Edinburgh - at the risk of waxing lyrical this is surely a scottish gem that we can proud of!

Room Tip: We loved the Selkirk Suite with its Jacuzzi bath, all singing/dancing shower and 3 tv's! Lovely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skifamilyScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Peebles
2.8 mi away
Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders
2.9 mi away
Peebles Hydro
Peebles Hydro
#7 of 8 in Peebles
1,961 reviews
1.7 mi away
Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Park
The Park
#6 of 8 in Peebles
426 reviews
2.3 mi away
Castle Venlaw Hotel
Castle Venlaw Hotel
#4 of 8 in Peebles
364 reviews
23.5 mi away
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
#1 of 2 in St. Boswells
928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cringletie House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cringletie House

Property: Cringletie House
Address: Edinburgh Rd, Peebles EH45 8PL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Borders > Peebles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Peebles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cringletie House 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cringletie House is a luxurious Country House Hotel, set in 28 stunning acres, just outside Peebles and 30 minutes south of Edinburgh, in the Scottish Borders.With 4 Red Stars, Cringletie Hotel is the only AA Top Hotel (Inspector's choice) in the Scottish Borders. No other hotel in this location has been awarded 4 Gold Stars by Visit Scotland. The Sutherland Restaurant at Cringletie is considered one of Peebles' top restaurants and our Head Chef ensures his menus reflect the changing seasons with locally sourced produce. The hotel's bedrooms are individually decorated and all have glorious views over the gardens and rolling countryside. All rooms offer FREE WiFi, LCD TV, Bathrobe & Slippers and a range of Molten Brown Toiletries. The hotel has a specially designed accessible room with wheelchair access - and lifts to all floors. For our guests who seek the outdoors the range of opportunities are truly limitless. The region boasts some of the best mountain biking in the UK at Glentress, fishing on the Tweed (Europe's premier salmon fishing river), and some of the best field sports and golf in Scotland. If you are touring Scotland with your best (four-legged) friend we welcome dogs to the Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cringletie House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cringletie House Hotel Peebles
Cringletie Hotel Peebles
Cringletie House Peebles, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing