We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary break”
Review of Cringletie House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cringletie House
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Peebles
Certificate of Excellence
Wooler, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Anniversary break”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Beautiful. Old house, full of history. Great service and superb restaurant. All the staff are very helpful and friendly. Would highly recommend. We went for a special treat for our pearl wedding anniversary and it really was a treat. Fantastic pillows!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank josiel47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

732 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    544
    103
    44
    31
    10
See reviews for
117
463
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chester
Level Contributor
69 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

I loved it from the moment I set eyes on it. From the welcoming staff to the room with its windowseat in a pepperpot turret , super bathroom and sumptuous breakfast I thought I'd arrived in heaven -then there was the walled garden .
-
One error of judgement[mine]. It seemed a good idea to have afternoon tea after driving down from Inverness and it was everything afternoon tea should be . Alas ,there was no way we were going to be able to eat dinner afterwards; [one of the pains of growing old]. We'll have to go back for dinner.

Room Tip: All the rooms look out over lush green countryside but the corner rooms with a turret are particular...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChesterVitalspark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We had lunch in the Dining room and food was disappointing. I had the beef which was a little fatty for my taste. My wife had the pigeon which was too chewy. Prior to eating we were left for quite a long time in a small library type room. Lovely seats but the Hotel wedding albums were slightly off putting with the very old photos which did seem to picture the owners of the hotel rather than the guests. A bit formal for my liking and we did not really feel comfortable. Very well maintained grounds and good service during the meal itself.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dufis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jdvh, General Manager at Cringletie House, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to respond and my sincere apologies that you were disappointed with your lunch at the hotel. We pride ourselves in the standard of our food and i think most of the time we deliver and our reviews reflect this. Your trip coincided with our Head Chef's annual leave, this is not an excuse, as we aim to maintain excellence in his absence, but your feedback is invaluable in identifying issues if we fall short. We also take note about the wedding albums and agree they could do with a refresh - certainly now a winter project! We do hope you'll give us another try one day and that next time we exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

It's only 25 mins from Edinburgh (where we live!) but you could not fault it!! We booked the Selkirk Suite for an anniversary night - it certainly wasn't cheap and they resisted all attempts to negotiate on price!! - but hats off to them, it was well worth it, and what a gorgeous location! From the moment we arrived they were warm, welcoming and eager to help. They had just won AA Scottish Hotel of the Year 2013 - and were very proud of their achievement - deservedly so. The hotel has 13 bedrooms and is extremely well maintained and tastefully decorated, whilst still managing to be homely and comfortable. Dinner in the evening was a delightful eating experience from start to finish. Canapes were served in the bar while we perused the menu - 3 different menus to choose from and something to suit most palates. The standard £35 menu was included in the DBB price but mixing and matching from the a la carte and 'taster' menu actively encouraged for little extra.The staff were, without exception, attentive, knowledgable and genuinely helpful. There are nice grounds to walk in, and a walled garden to enjoy. It is an oasis just outside Peebles, and a stones throw from Edinburgh - at the risk of waxing lyrical this is surely a scottish gem that we can proud of!

Room Tip: We loved the Selkirk Suite with its Jacuzzi bath, all singing/dancing shower and 3 tv's! Lovely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skifamilyScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

Cringletie House is perfect.

The staff, the rooms, the food especially... All perfect. Cannot fault a thing.

Everywhere we travel in the world we compare to Cringletie for the wonderful food and service. I cannot stress this enough, you NEED to eat a meal here, the food is beautiful.

We have been several times and cannot praise the place enough. Will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenniferElizabeth14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We were able to take advantage of a last minute offer and absolutely loved Cringletie House. Where do I start?! The setting is beautiful - we had fantastic views from the cute shuttered windows of our luxury 'attic' bedroom (there is a lift for 3 floors, but there are a few more stairs to climb to this level - no problem for us). The room was spacious and well appointed, with large comfortable bed and pillows. The bathroom was large and we were provided with snowy white, monogrammed towels and bathrobes. The dining room is gorgeous - traditionally furnished, beautiful fire surround and magnificent painted ceiling in the Italian tradition. The lounges also are comfortably furnished and there are lots of interesting and contemporary artworks throughout the hotel to compliment the traditional overall style. Everything has been tastefully accomplished and is immaculately maintained. The staff are trained to a high standard - unobtrusive but friendly, professional in every way.
The food!! Superb! This was truly a fine dining experience from start to finish. The French chef excelled and we enjoyed every morsel. There was a choice of three menu options, explained in an unpretentious and friendly fashion by the maître d'. We were continually surprised as each course arrived. We were served canapés in the lounge bar after giving our order - and this set the tone for what was to come. Everything we had to follow was exquisitely presented, innovative and delicious -from the amuse bouche to the petite fours with coffee we enjoyed in the lounge after our meal (we did go for total indulgence!). For main course I chose the veal cheek topped with a lobster ravioli - my husband had selection of pork cuts prepared in a variety of ways. The starters and deserts were wonderful. These descriptions in no way do the dishes justice - you really must experience the food yourself. The food presentation was delightfully detailed and artful, but in my opinion not pretentiously 'over the top' - we would say this was one of the best meals we've had anywhere in the UK. The kitchen really deserves the awards it has achieved.
Fulsome praise, but genuine - and I'm not so easy to please!
The weather that day was lovely so we took a walk around the hotel's lovely gardens and even enjoyed a game of boules on the finely gravelled pitch. Unexpected and lovely. Indeed, there are so many thoughtful touches at Cringletie House which show an outstanding level of care for the discerning guest. We can't wait to return.

Room Tip: We had a luxury room as part of our package but I feel sure that all the rooms would be good. Proba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CCjC_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penicuik, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Visited with our family a couple of years ago and never thought to leave a review until I was reviewing another hotel and saw Cringletie's name mentioned. Suffice to say that everything was wonderful from the service, meal and location and we would have no hesitation in going back where we were made to feel special. An excellent experience and highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Peebles
2.8 mi away
Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders
2.9 mi away
Peebles Hydro
Peebles Hydro
#7 of 8 in Peebles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,885 reviews
1.7 mi away
Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Park
The Park
#6 of 8 in Peebles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
23.5 mi away
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
#1 of 2 in St. Boswells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 905 reviews
2.7 mi away
Cross Keys Hotel
Cross Keys Hotel
#4 of 8 in Peebles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cringletie House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cringletie House

Property: Cringletie House
Address: Edinburgh Rd, Peebles EH45 8PL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Borders > Peebles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Peebles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cringletie House 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cringletie House is a luxurious Country House Hotel, set in 28 stunning acres, just outside Peebles and 30 minutes south of Edinburgh, in the Scottish Borders.With 4 Red Stars, Cringletie Hotel is the only AA Top Hotel (Inspector's choice) in the Scottish Borders. No other hotel in this location has been awarded 4 Gold Stars by Visit Scotland. The Sutherland Restaurant at Cringletie is considered one of Peebles' top restaurants and our Head Chef ensures his menus reflect the changing seasons with locally sourced produce. The hotel's bedrooms are individually decorated and all have glorious views over the gardens and rolling countryside. All rooms offer FREE WiFi, LCD TV, Bathrobe & Slippers and a range of Molten Brown Toiletries. The hotel has a specially designed accessible room with wheelchair access - and lifts to all floors. For our guests who seek the outdoors the range of opportunities are truly limitless. The region boasts some of the best mountain biking in the UK at Glentress, fishing on the Tweed (Europe's premier salmon fishing river), and some of the best field sports and golf in Scotland. If you are touring Scotland with your best (four-legged) friend we welcome dogs to the Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cringletie House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cringletie House Hotel Peebles
Cringletie Hotel Peebles
Cringletie House Peebles, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing