We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LUXURY YET WELCOMING AND FRIENDLY”
Review of Cringletie House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cringletie House
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Peebles
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Beautiful quiet location with pretty views from the rooms and also lovely "touches " in the rooms like Molton Brown etc. Close to Peebles and Edinburgh. Restaurant to die for (will do separate review but worth the stay for that alone)

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rickandlyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (786)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

504 - 510 of 786 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2013

We have just returned home from one night at this hotel. We booked DBB and joined friends who were also staying there. I loved it! From the moment we arrived I just wanted to soak in this beautiful building and grounds. We had the Glentress room which was a good size with a turret seating area. On arrival we enjoyed a glass of champagne in the cosy library. The grounds are well looked after were you can also enjoy a game of croquet or chess on a giant board. The staff were excellent. Our evening meal superb and a satisfying breakfast before we had to leave. We shall be back.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hazel m m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

I stayed at Cringletie House during the first weekend of June 2013 as a result of a recommendation of friends who were staying there and invited me to join them. The location is absolutely ideal, set in beautiful countryside with acres and acres of private grounds to explore. My room was on the ground floor and whilst not large spacious enough with a well appointed and well stocked bathroom.

The service overall was impeccable, the staff simply couldn't do enough to make my stay enjoyable. The first floor restaurant serves excellent food and I enjoyed the 7 course tasting menu with matching wines, again no complaints whatsoever.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paulm7067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

My partner and I have stayed in many Luxury Hotels in Scotland and this was not in the same league by a long shot although the price charged made me think that it was going to be far better than it was. When we arrived there was no one at reception and we waited 5 minutes before being greeted. We were then taken to our "suite" which was really a large bedroom and was quite shabby. The white bedlinen was no longer white but more grey in colour and the furniture was antiquated although I expect it was meant to be period furniture. The bed was too soft and I didn't sleep well. However the bathroom was beautiful! Dinner was a big let down. We opted for the Grand Experience 7 course menu but each course was tiny and of only an average standard in quality. Not worth the £110 for us both!
I can see what Cringletie are trying to achieve but they have alot of work to do to get there and the website leads you to believe that it is something that its not. I wish we had gone somewhere else instead.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Christine186534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Well done to the excellent teams both "front of house" and in the kitchens. Sunday lunch yesterday was excellent, both in terms of experience and food. A special thank you to the restaurant staff who made such an effort to help one of our party who has limited mobility but was made to feel so good by her experience. The welcome and table experience were up to previous high standards leaving us feeling cared for and even cosseted. The food was of a very high standard, portion sizes just right for lunchtime, beautifully presented, delicious flavours. Excellent value for money and a good range of choices. The restaurant is stunning with beautiful views and a lovely room. What more can I say - oh yes! We will be back!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

My husband and I visited Cringletie 3 years ago for dinner and had the most exceptional time through exquisite service and food. Further to this my husband had booked one night stay this weekend with dinner for us both as a surprise for my birthday.
Upon arrival we had to wait quite a while for someone to greet us at reception. We were shown to our room which was lovely although a disappointing wet shower room. It was a spacious room however classed as luxury there were twin beds that had been put together so when it came to the evening i was not really feeling like I was sleeping with my husband as we were both dipped into soft holes in each bed!
We then unpacked and thought we'd go to the bar for a celebratory drink. We waited,what felt like an eternity, despite being advised to ring the service bell in the bar for service. A gentleman finally came and served us a drink after apologising as he was checking in other guests. You really need more staff. the evenings service however was not only slow but we had 3 members of staff ask us what we would like to drink! I even commented to the 3rd person '3rd time lucky is it'.
The restaurant - beautiful room and setting. Food was, what we remembered from our previous visit something worth looking forward too however despite loving our fine dining the selection and quality was just a little bit too focused this time on their 3 rosettes. Just a bit too fussy for us. Staff in the restaurant were very good, helpful and friendly although the woman who I believe was the restaurant manager (?) came across as insincere, false and whilst we were having a drink after dinner was loudly instructing staff in the corridor which was extremely unprofessional. If she treats staff like that I imagine there are turnover issues.
To top off what was an okay stay the cleaning staff decided to put the vacuum on just outside our room at 8am, really!! You have no other time to do that?! For a small beautiful set up they really should have everything spot on and it was just below par. We had a lovely weekend despite not being made to feel special and with no gesture for my birthday, we unfortunately will not be returning to Cringletie again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 23cherry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We returned to Cringletie for a short break after celebrating our first wedding anniversary in a junior suite in 2010. This time we stayed in a classic room, Stobo, and, although the classic rooms are in the attic area and are the smallest type of room, we found our spacious, with beautiful views of the hills to the front and Peebles to the side. Being in the attic area the plumbing was a wee bit clunky but that is to be expected.

All meals were excellent and all the staff were very friendly and professional. The views from the bar, lounge and restaurant are stunning and you could easily spend your time just sitting looking out of the window or walking around the scenic grounds.

We enjoyed the experience immensely and left feeling fully relaxed.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeighJ1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Peebles
2.8 mi away
Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders
3 mi away
Peebles Hydro
Peebles Hydro
#7 of 8 in Peebles
2,113 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Park
The Park
#5 of 8 in Peebles
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel
2.4 mi away
Castle Venlaw Hotel
Castle Venlaw Hotel
#4 of 8 in Peebles
374 reviews
2.7 mi away
Cross Keys Hotel
Cross Keys Hotel
#6 of 8 in Peebles
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cringletie House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cringletie House

Address: Edinburgh Rd, Peebles EH45 8PL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Borders > Peebles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Peebles
Price Range: $109 - $422 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cringletie House 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cringletie House is a luxurious Country House Hotel, set in 28 stunning acres, just outside Peebles and 30 minutes south of Edinburgh, in the Scottish Borders.With 4 Red Stars, Cringletie Hotel is the only AA Top Hotel (Inspector's choice) in the Scottish Borders. No other hotel in this location has been awarded 4 Gold Stars by Visit Scotland. The Sutherland Restaurant at Cringletie is considered one of Peebles' top restaurants and our Head Chef ensures his menus reflect the changing seasons with locally sourced produce. The hotel's bedrooms are individually decorated and all have glorious views over the gardens and rolling countryside. All rooms offer FREE WiFi, LCD TV, Bathrobe & Slippers and a range of Molten Brown Toiletries. The hotel has a specially designed accessible room with wheelchair access - and lifts to all floors. For our guests who seek the outdoors the range of opportunities are truly limitless. The region boasts some of the best mountain biking in the UK at Glentress, fishing on the Tweed (Europe's premier salmon fishing river), and some of the best field sports and golf in Scotland. If you are touring Scotland with your best (four-legged) friend we welcome dogs to the Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cringletie House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cringletie House Hotel Peebles
Cringletie Hotel Peebles
Cringletie House Peebles, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing