We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a gem!”
Review of Cringletie House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cringletie House
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Peebles
Certificate of Excellence
SW Scotland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“What a gem!”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

I was lucky enough to accompany my husband on this overnight stay as it was a birthday present for his 50th birthday from our children. I really didn't know whether to post a review as places ike this need to be kept a secret - it was heaven on earth from the moment we arrived to when we left. Our room was at the top of the house and was beautifully furnished, the bathroom was overflowing with molten brown products, fluffy towels and robes. In the evening the room felt a bit cool and when we returned from dinner there was an extra heater in the room and two hot water bottles in the bed. Nothing was a bother to staff and the food was amazing. Drinks from the bar are not overpriced £3 for a Peroni, £4 for a glass of red wine. We will definatley be retruning, hopefully in the summer and we can enjoy the gardens without our big coats and boots on.

Room Tip: I don't know that there are any rooms you wouldn't want to stay in!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JessSWScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

732 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    544
    103
    44
    31
    10
See reviews for
117
463
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wishaw, Scotland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

My partner and I stayed in this lovely former hunting lodge in February and took advantage of their winter offer. Our room was large and well appointed and the staff were charming. We even had the French equivalent of Dean Gaffney waiting on us during our 5-course Temptation Menu dinner, complete with canapes and amuse bouche.

Since it's only 3 & a half miles out of Peebles we had a lovely walk into the quaint little town of Peebles on the sunny Saturday afternoon.

Room Tip: We had a "luxury" room by default as all the standard rooms were taken. We were on the gro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whiskyjill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

The best way to describe a stay at Cringletie house is to say it was perfect. We have just left this morning , the hotel is gorgeous in an idyllic setting.. Lovely room of a very high standard, as were all the public rooms too. Gorgeous foods served by staff who were knowledgable about what they were serving. The most excellent customer service we have experienced. All the staff were kind,caring and courteous making you feel that nothing was too much trouble. Highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pitman5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

We received a M&S fine dining gift voucher as a Christmas present and chose to book Cringletie house with it, we couldn't have chosen better, From booking to leaving the staff were genuinely dedicated to providing the highest level of service, customer care and indulgence they could.

We stayed in the Melrose room which came with a 4 poster bed, loads of room, it was furnished to a really high standard with the most comfortable bed ever! There was even a complimentary small decanter of whiskey in our room.

The evening meal began with a pre-dinner drink in the bar with canapes and just got better with an amuse bouche, lovely starter, main course and sweet and there was a brilliant wine list to choose from, The staff were extremely attentive and knowledgeable but not too in your face.

The standards at this hotel are among the best we have experienced even compared to top 5 star hotels, we would not hesitate to recommend this hotel espceially to couples.

Room Tip: The Melrose room is excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We had a lovely overnight stay at Cringletie House with a group of friends, and could not have found a better place for it. We thoroughly enjoyed the ambience, the excellent food, the really relaxed and homely drawing room with its roaring fire, and very well appointed bedrooms. The staff were really attentive, friendly but unobtrusive, and could not have been more helpful. Our meals were superb, and a large table was served all together without undue delay, even when we confused everyone by all moving places half way through the meal!

The location is beautiful - extra special in the snow, and breakfasting looking out at blue sky, sun and snow was wonderful. I would definitely recommend it, and hope to be back before too long.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrWilbur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

We stayed for a meal and overnight stay - thoroughly enjoyed it - excellent and lovely hotel, helpful, friendly staff and excellent food. Room was nicely laid out with really nice bathroom.

Good views - didn't really use the public rooms etc but they looked nice

Room Tip: Mini suite was nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with clever-hotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank VinceLedge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We really enjoyed our pre-Christmas Lunch at Cringletie, the Sunday before Christmas. Lovely surroundings and delicious festive fare at gourmet level by Patrick Bardoulet...yet a relaxed family atmosphere. Vivienne's personal touch and warm welcome met up to - and exceeded - the standards we used to enjoy when they ran the Horseshoe Inn just up the road. Looking forward to a romantic dinner and overnight there for Valentine's day soon.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrancesParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Peebles
2.8 mi away
Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders
2.9 mi away
Peebles Hydro
Peebles Hydro
#7 of 8 in Peebles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,889 reviews
1.7 mi away
Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Park
The Park
#6 of 8 in Peebles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
23.5 mi away
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
#1 of 2 in St. Boswells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 907 reviews
2.7 mi away
Cross Keys Hotel
Cross Keys Hotel
#4 of 8 in Peebles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cringletie House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cringletie House

Property: Cringletie House
Address: Edinburgh Rd, Peebles EH45 8PL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Borders > Peebles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Peebles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cringletie House 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cringletie House is a luxurious Country House Hotel, set in 28 stunning acres, just outside Peebles and 30 minutes south of Edinburgh, in the Scottish Borders.With 4 Red Stars, Cringletie Hotel is the only AA Top Hotel (Inspector's choice) in the Scottish Borders. No other hotel in this location has been awarded 4 Gold Stars by Visit Scotland. The Sutherland Restaurant at Cringletie is considered one of Peebles' top restaurants and our Head Chef ensures his menus reflect the changing seasons with locally sourced produce. The hotel's bedrooms are individually decorated and all have glorious views over the gardens and rolling countryside. All rooms offer FREE WiFi, LCD TV, Bathrobe & Slippers and a range of Molten Brown Toiletries. The hotel has a specially designed accessible room with wheelchair access - and lifts to all floors. For our guests who seek the outdoors the range of opportunities are truly limitless. The region boasts some of the best mountain biking in the UK at Glentress, fishing on the Tweed (Europe's premier salmon fishing river), and some of the best field sports and golf in Scotland. If you are touring Scotland with your best (four-legged) friend we welcome dogs to the Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cringletie House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cringletie House Hotel Peebles
Cringletie Hotel Peebles
Cringletie House Peebles, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing